We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel... Nearly perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Ranked #97 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel... Nearly perfect!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Food was nice but a bit repetitive but over all very nice. The rooms were ok and during a heavy down pour a slight leak appeared in our ground floor room presumebly from the balcony above flooding not a major issue though.
the a la carte restraunts were top quality and regret not visiting them more often.
Our room was probably as far away from the beach as you could get but enjoyed the walk and resisted the seemingly north american type urge to jump on the resort train at every opportunity for even the smallest journey #LAZYNESS!

we had our own pool area at the top of the resort and restraunt/bar but all the life and partying seem to take place at the beach bar and bigger pool area but not a problem as we went there for 'a chilled 1' and it was just that... apart from the louud north americans(very loud and pot calling kettle black being english) and the very annoying plastic trolly/tubs the staff wheeled down the corridors at all hours rattling like mad on the concrete floors!!

The staff werre all very nice though they struggled to understand my northern english accent :(

Geat holiday great hotel just a few niggles but a top time was had!!

Room Tip: Get a rom Near the Beach for fun... room at top of resort frr chilling!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RobHslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,898
    3,403
    1,591
    761
    638
See reviews for
2,424
4,299
174
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,993)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I just got back 2 days ago from Blue Bay and we loved everything! Everyone was so nice, friendly, funny, if there was a problem it was handled right away. The food was good, not the best we have had but very good always something different and we stayed 7 nights. The pools were always cleaned, the rooms were always cleaned and the fridge stocked. The beaches were great, and the swing bar was always the place to be all the time. The live entertainment every night was always different and very fun and exciting to watch. We would definitely visit the resort again.. Very happy with are stay at the bluebay Grand Esmeralda!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

went baginning of may, it was lovely, walter are concierge was funny he was great so was the others, all the staff was friendly and helpful, franseco who brought are cases was lovely always smiling and happy cheeky chappie, all the staff who we delt with was brilliant the waiters and waitresses, room was very clean food was nice no problems. it was lovely just to relax at the beach bar which was not to far away from are block 5. didnt try the spa so cannot comment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireTrier
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We just returned from the BlueBay Grand Esmerelda, and we found things to be average at best. Some things were outstanding, others were atrocious. When we arrived, we were greeted and the front desk staff worked extra hard to make sure a few unique requests we had were met. Upon arrival at our room, things looked great - from a distance. The buildings, pools, and pretty much everything really seemed to be run down. From about fifty feet, things seemed alright, but a lack of attention to detail throughout the property really brought it down. The rooms were clean and well appointed. However, the plumbing was a joke. Our shower head didn't work and we were forced to bathe with the hand sprayer. It was like taking a shower in the kitchen sink. The toilet was equally bad and it flushed about half the time. There was no bathtub in our room, although others may be different.

Some things were outstanding - the Kids club and specifically, Carlos at the Kids club, were great for our boys. They had so much fun, that they wanted to go there and spend a large part of the day. Additionally, the shallow kids' pool was outstanding and our boys really enjoyed it. The pool itself was good, but not great. The layout and comfort around the pool was ideal. However the pool maintenance was terrible. Missing grout between the tiles and cracked or missing tiles led to more than one injury. Any repairs were poor actually detracted from the pool. Again - beautiful, from fifty feet.

The food was average. Lots of variety at the buffets and something for everyone. The steak a la carte restaurant was great and I wish we would have enjoyed more than one meal there. We frequented the buffets and the theme was definitely quantity rather than quality. It was ok, not great.

The staff was generally helpful and very polite. With only one exception, we were quite happy with the staff. And to that one employee at the entrance who thought us gringos didn't understand what you were saying - we did!

If you're planning on coming here, here's my opinion - expect a comfortable average stay. The resort is very family/kid friendly. The food was average. And don't look too closely - the place looks good (again, from fifty feet). And oh yeah, bring your mosquito repellent!!!! You will definitely need it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FireTrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a wonderful place! I will get down to all the nitty gritty! This is the real deal review!

Ok from the time we got to the airport we were bum rushed by sales people trying to get us to talk to them about timeshares, we just kept walking and said no at every instance, no real bother just keep on through. We got a prepaid shuttle that we arranged when booking our trip and it was about a 35 to 40 minute ride to Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda. When we got to the hotel, we were greeted by 3 people right away and handed cold drinks (orange, pineapple and strawberry mix) yummm... we checked in with Jorge (I believe) who was very nice and got us on our way. Now when we booked originally we booked through Vacation Store Miami and then called the hotel directly and paid for an upgrade to an Oceanfront king room. We were then taken to our room on a golf cart by the nicest guy in the world and for life of me I cannot remember his name. (so upset about that) he was so nice. We get to our room which was in building 1 (Tulum) and it was a double double without and ocean view! The bellman so graciously drove us back up to the lobby to talk to the front desk. Jorge then explained to me that no rooms in the entire hotel we Oceanfront! Of course I was upset because we paid an additional $210.00 to the hotel for the upgrade. Jorge then mentioned that the person that helped me originally was new and gave me the wrong information. He upgraded us to a suite in building 2 (Coba) and when we walked in we almost collapsed because the room was huge and beautiful! It had a living room, two bathrooms with showers in each... a private bedroom with a king bed... a jacuzzi on the balcony! jUST BEAUTIFUL!

We went to lunch right away at the Jaal ha which is right next to the pool... it was great very tasty food! We ate all our breakfasts and lunches in this restaurant, partly because it was closest to our building and more because this restaurant possesses a true GEM and her name is Rupuerta! She was so loving and sweet and friendly and fun, we fell in love with her.... SHE IS A KEEPER!

The pool is pretty big and spacious so it is never too packed. Waiters and waitresses came all the time to take your drink order! The beach was nice, not sure why people said it was not! It was great! I did hear the beach was nicer at Playa Del Carmen and there wasa shuttle you could take to get there but we did not go!

We walked to the lagoon which was a 10 minute walk and it was crystal clear but freezing cold. Once you got in it was perfect! We stayed in for 2 hours, that's how beautiful it was.

The sports bar was cool, there were different shows each night, alot of kids shows too... if you have kids that would be a bonus. It was party central at night fun, fun fun!

There was a beach party every night that went from 11pm to 1am that was fun as well. It never disturbed the guests bc it was far enough from the guest suites.

The animals were not a bother. I did get creeped out when I saw racoons but they did not bother anyone!

My husband jet skied and said it was alot of fun! Everyone was great from start to finish and I will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank janelleandjamescash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

the resort is absolutely beautiful. the "native" staff, people actually born and raised in the region were amazing and attentive to my boyfriend and me. The buffet style food was perfect for vacationers, there was a bit of everything for us to enjoy and try! We loved the people we met there. The pools, the rooms, and the eating areas were always spotless! The only downfall was the CONSTANT pressure to attend the "CIRCLE ONE" presentation. Its a "vacation club" deal/timeshare, unfortunately the representatives were way TOO PUSHY and a complete drag to try to avoid them...we later found out that the representatives for this company are not natives to the area. These individuals are there to work and get as many people to join there company. Aside from these individuals, we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the smaller pool are excellent and close to all activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at Blue Bay in May 2012 for 6 days and had a blast. We aren't drinkers, so we can't speak to the bars, but the amenities were excellent. Our room was comfortable and clean, the minibar stocked, and staff always very kind. The food was excellent. All of this during the monsoon season. Would definitely recommend this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
8.4 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#57 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
10.9 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,685 reviews
33.0 km away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,430 reviews
29.2 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,554 reviews
31.0 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Grand Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Property: BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#78 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Grand Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 979
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in an area of 445 acres in a prime position on the beach on the Riviera Maya, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda combines elegant Mayan features with contemporary design and a wide range of service to suit the most discerning traveller. BlueBay Grand Esmeralda provides a relaxed atmosphere for holiday makers. The hotel features 979 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites with the option of a sea or garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your BlueBay Grand Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Esmeralda
Bluebay Grand Esmeralda Hotel
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Mayan Riviera
Grand Esmeralda
Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Resort
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Beach Resort Spa
Blue Bay Esmerelda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing