We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can still make it a good vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
Ranked #76 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You can still make it a good vacation!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Yes, the resort is average in terms of everything: food, entertainment, etc BUT the staff is very friendly and tries very hard.

Tips for a better stay:

- Make dinner reservations for every day (no restrictions). You can even call the reservation desk from your room. All restaurants will have something appealing. You will still be able to go to the buffet dinner if you dislike your choice. Asian cooking show is terrific fun!

- Bring cheap watch, no clock anywhere and you will need to know the time :)

- Sitting in the main plaza/bar after dinner is cool with an 8:30 pm outdoor mini-show (Tuesday fire show is amazing)

- Nightly (9:30pm) shows are pretty blah; Broadway show on Mondays is good

- If you are an early riser, go to the beach and leave some of the personal items (newspaper, flip flops, etc) on the loungers to claim a good spot (same with the pools)

- Yes, the ocean is rocky (bring water shoes) and choppy, but kids have fun because it is very shallow.

- Ignore the vendors on the beach and they will not bother you.

- Sunscreen is expensive in the resort; bring it in your luggage. We brought 4 spray cans for a week for 5 people and barely had enough.

- We always carried water bottles from our fridge. Restaurants have tap water and it tastes icky. You may ask for as many bottles of water to be put in your fridge as you like.

- Bring a book! :)

- Ask front desk/concierge to print your return boarding pass-they were very efficient and helpful

- Try to have a positive outlook and have a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Choose the room in the middle of the resort to be same distance from the beach on one side and resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatushaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,691
    2,727
    1,204
    543
    424
See reviews for
2,584
3,874
116
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks pure relaxation... The hotel was spotless, we were upgraded on arrival free of charge... The al a cartes are a must especially the Italian and the Asian... The staff are very friendly and hardworking... Really cannot find any negatives except the humidity... Be prepared its a killer.... Would definitely return...

Room Tip: Higher floors are better ... Less likely to have visits from little creatures as there are a few sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyns102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The problem is that they make it to be a luxury 5 star resort and for the price paid we did expect that. Therefore we were somewhat disappointed with what we got. The food was no where close to 5 star hotel standard and the staff although polite not particularly warm or efficient. The property is very nice and spacious and the water amazing. The gardens were nice too. Rooms very spacious and nice views. Bar had nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just got back from Mexico Saturday. The trip in general was so fun that my kids did not want to leave. First, let me start off by saying that I was very nervous going to this resort after reading a lot of the reviews. I have to say in life you can make it great or miserable and we went into this with no expectations. This was my kids and husband first trip to MX and we were thrilled with what we paid for. The pros: The grounds are kept clean, the people are friendly, there are so many activities that you really do not need to leave the resort, the activites crew are awesome, the kids club was great, the shows were good and Olympus Tours were very helpful. The Cons: there is a lot of seaweed on the ocean (the resort can not help that so I do not blame them) however I am glad we brought water shoes, the food is so-so but I did not expect a lot when you are trying to feed the masses you have to order food in bulk so...and that forced my kids to try other things other than chicken nuggs, the rooms did smell a little musty but everyday housekeeping had our room cleaned and it was ok, and lastly take mosquito spray. We did and are grateful we did because everyone else was getting eaten we were smiling to ourselves that we were smart and did so. Again, those cons are really not a resort issue. Oh, we were supposed to get a drink upon arrival but we just let it go and will take it up with the people we booked through. The PROS: The pools are amazing, the staff is so friendly and helpful, the entertainment always kept us busy with things to do, the Mexican resturant and the Italian resturants were great, oh and my kids wanted me to add that the ice cream is off the hook :) and they loved the kids mini disco that we have had to incorporate that into our bed time ritual. Like I stated above after reading many of the reviews I just did not know what we were getting ourselves into but this place was great and if people are saying there are other places that are better I would love to see where. If you take water shoes, bug spray, get up early and go lay your towels out to get a place by the pool and keep in touch with your tour company then you will have a terrific time. It is people who do not follow the rules (or think they are above rules) that did not have fun. For instance, they had signs out that say wait to be seated. There were some who did not and they did not get a waiter and got irraitated because the staff did not know they were there. It pays to know a little spainsh before you go. All in all it is up to you to make your trip and not someone else.

Room Tip: I would definitly book a swim up room and a room that overlooks the pool there seemed to be less mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Check in was horrible only 2 guys trying to check in a very delayed sunwing flight from Toronto
At 1am. very large resort! be prepared to walk, 1 bartender trying to serve 20 people at the swim up bar be prepared to wait.
Maintenance people patching and cleaning the pool while your trying to swim. The beach was average very rocky lots of waves. Restaurants where average but definitely better than going to the Buffett. If your looking to buy stuff bring it with you or buy it in playa del Carmen things are much cheaper. Example lip balm 3.50 in town 10 dollars on the resort,beach ball 20 dollars. The sunwing reps try to push buying everything on the resort including day trips way over priced you can get better deals off the resort just be carefull in who your dealing with ask around. If your looking for a snack hot dog hamburger you have to go to the restaurant walk walk walk. Sunwing fight leaving had to be in the lobby at 4pm arrived in Toronto 2am long long day. If your at the airport and your bags are over wait you will pay. All and all the resort is starting to show its age my family still had a decent vacation the price was right defiantly would not pay the price I have seen this place go for.......

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markham, ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I am sorry to say that this was just not the resort that the five star ratings said it should be.
To quickly summarize the good and the bad. I will begin with the hotel and grounds. They hotel itself is stunning very modern and beautiful but disappointed with the fact that we felt we could have been anywhere in the world. When in Mexico I would like some sort of reminder that I am indeed in Mexico-live bands playing Spanish music would have been great in the evening in the main entertainment area instead of people reading the words to english songs.

Rooms -we had a great ocean view room on the Sunset side and it was just perfect. Had a lovely view of the ocean and spent lots of time enjoying the room.

Food and service- sub-par. Do not get me wrong you will not get sick or go hungry but you will also not walk away from any meal going wow that was really fantastic like you do with many other resorts in the Mayan.

The service compliant has more to do with the concierge at the Platinum suites and the front desk and a lot less to do with the people who work tirelessly to get your food and drinks all day long. There was a certain arrogance that just didn't make you feel like it was important for them to make you feel extra special on your holiday again the way many other resorts do. The attention to detail was lacking at this resort which made us just a little unsatisfied.

The beach had many rocks which we knew from reading trip advisor but we took a little walk north of the main beach and found a lovely beach in front of the Grand Velas hotel which we enjoyed.

All in all I can not give this resort a higher rating because service is a huge thing for my husband and myself and the service at this hotel was just not as it should have been.

We had a great time but really needed to overlook things to be able to do that!

Room Tip: Book an oceanview they won't have any left in a couple of years do to the growth of the trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashleia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

we all loved it when we travelled in july 2011
full 5 star resort
great amenities, food, service, and staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abtraveller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
12.4 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,589 reviews
22.7 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,385 reviews
4.8 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
36.9 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
29.5 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort

Property: Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 674
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Sunset Princess Hotel
Grand Sunset Princess Review
Grand Sunset Princess Mexico
Grand Sunset Princess Resort
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing