We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food and great service!”
Review of Wok Playa

Wok Playa
Ranked #50 of 1,514 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Met our friends here for dinner one Thursday night. Had a couple glasses of wine, Vietnamese spring rolls, Green Curry and a vegan noodle dish (can't remember the name and their menu isn't updated in FB) Met the owner Alex and he was very attentive. We will be back for sure!

Thank cmariejellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

Met up with friends and we decided to come here. The beef and chicken tacos are the best I had in Playa (for real!) and the shrimp/papaya salad was also very good. As I said, it was a very pleasant surprise!

Thank krebiai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

We ordered two dishes, the red curry and one of the noodles and they did not taste anything like the authentic dishes. Reading the reviews I had high expectations, but sadly I was disappointed. The red curry was at least edible, but the noodles lacked flavor and taste. We asked for both dishes to be very spicy, but we didn't get a hint of spiciness. The drinks are little overpriced. The amount of food for price kind of makes sense, but the taste was not good. Avoid if you can.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shorbotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexrojasgaete, Propietario at Wok Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Sorry to hear your comments but let me clarify a couple of points. First we never claimed to be authentic tha. We appreciate your comments but i am sure the other 200 plus comments that gave us 5 stars are not wrong and i am sure you are not the only expert in’ authentic Thai food. We s have loved to solve this problem on the spot but you did not gave us the chance but instead you leave a hateful comment and you dont realize the hard work and passion we put, it’s no coincidence we are always between the number 1 or 2 spot among Asian restaurants in Playa. As far as theprices our most expensive dish it’s about 8 usd and our drinks go between 2 usd and 5 usd not because we are in Mexico you should expect for us to give away our work.

Regards
Alejandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

everything was perfect! The papaya salad to die for. The soup was an explosion of perfume that delighted the mouth. Fun ambiance with great live music. Impeccable service. Great prices. I highly recommend this little hidden gem, We will be back for sure!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra-LeeChampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexrojasgaete, Propietario at Wok Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Thank you so much Sandra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

The chef and owner of the place Wok served us few amazing dishes from the menu that we all shared with my friends. ALL were absolutely delicious, with authentic Asian taste and the perfect portions! As Thai pasta and rice green curry... salad thai, soup... and love particularly the fact they served the wooden plate... I loved it and will come back often because i live in Playa and i recommend 100% lovers of Asian food to stop by and eat in Wok!!!!

Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexrojasgaete, Propietario at Wok Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you Caroline!!! We appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wok Playa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Wok Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing