We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
161
63
6
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
63
6
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiled pool nice pool off the beaten path bad wifi dirt road tulum town beautiful boutique hotel south end air condition close to town the penthouse stayed here for nights amazing hotel the main drag rental car h2o taxi
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 241 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Considering the raving reviews and the price we paid I was pretty much shocked.
Javier at reception was pleasant and helpful but the place isn't maintained well. There are stains on the walls and linen and the hotel is surrounded by dirt roads in a poorly lit area that is pretty scary at night.
The breakfast was sub-par. It consisted of a few cut fruits and a slice of toast (we were not even asked if we eat bread or fruit - just served).
Seriously? how much does it cost to but some juice and cereal?

No TV in room either.

Not impressed.

Room Tip: This is a jungle - so maybe higher floors have less bugs
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

I travelled with my husband and 6 month old baby and ended up staying at Villas H2O after leaving another hotel that we were not happy with (Hotel Posada 06 Tulum). Villas H2O was very accommodating, booking the same day we checked in. Front desk was very friendly and efficient. Our room was awesome on the top floor, a one bedroom with a small kitchenette, living room, and modern bathroom with lots of light. Breakfast was delicious and a nice setting down by the pool in the morning. Breakfast staff were amazing, very friendly and super nice to us and our baby. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to some good restaurants and only a short car ride to the main little strip of restaurants and of course, the beach. The hotel even hooked us up with a babysitting company so we had a nice young girl come to our room and babysit our daughter while we went to explore and swim in some of the caves in the area with a couple from New York that we met at the hotel. Great vibe here, you won't be disappointed staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Peanut30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas_H2O_Staff, Gerente at Villas H2O, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Thanks a lot for sharing your story!
It's very nice to us to know that you were happy at our hotel and we were a part of your nice stay in Tulum!
Your story will motivate future guests to visit our beautiful town and we really appreciate it.
We hope that you can come back soon to enjoy and relax the Caribbean! We will be so honoured to be a part of it again.
Best wishes for you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Tulum seems to be in the middle of the transformation from a not so touristic alone-on-the-beach resort to a new Playa del Carmen. Don’t buy the adds that Tulum is a peaceful alternative to Playa del Carem where everyone does yoga and mindfulness and eats eco vegan food. Of course it’s much smaller and less noisy but you don’t have to walk far to find tourstic overpriced restaurants and resorts. If you are looking for a quiet place you should maybe look into Holbox or some other Island in Cancun.

However! Villas H20 is a great contrast to all this - peaceful and quiet together with amazing and friendly help from the staff made this the perfect spot for us.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas_H2O_Staff, Gerente at Villas H2O, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear Martin,

Thanks a lot for your comments and reviews. We appreciate your opinions about Tulum and our Hotel, they will be very useful for our future guests!
We feel so glad to know that you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you soon again!
Warm regards to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Charming hotel with a great staff
Room is large, clean with a confortable bed .
Beautiful garden and amazing swimming pool
Very quiet in city center
Breakfast is good but 5 times the same thing is too much ... should be different a bit every day

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank flojo2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas_H2O_Staff, Gerente at Villas H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Thanks a lot for your comments and rates!
We are glad to know that our hotel pleased you and made you feel comfortable. We'll take your advices in the matter of our breakfast, meanwhile we are working on it as a complementary courtesy breakfast, but we are improving to have more options in the future.
Come back soon to have you at Villas H2O Tulum.
Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

This was mine and my friends first visit to Tulum. Before arriving we were feeling some regret that we didn't book a hotel on the beach, however, upon arrival to Villas H20 we felt immediately happy about our choice. The rooms were simple, very clean, and styled perfectly. The pool is beautiful, the complementary breakfast is divine (marmalade toast I miss you already), but perhaps what made this place the shining Gem of our visit was the exceptional service provided by Israel and Javier. They made us feel so well cared for and in all my traveling I have never experienced such sincere graciousness. We were only a cheap taxi ride away from the beach and Javier or Israel would arrange our ride, communicate with our driver, make sure a price was established and provided great recommendations. We enjoyed every part of our stay and will forever think of Villas H20 with fondness.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas_H2O_Staff, Gerente at Villas H2O, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Dear Rise,

We are so glad to know about the good experience you girls had at Villas H2O.
Thanks a lot for your comments and reviews.
It was a pleassure for our staff to assist you. Come back soon!

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews