We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Low key relaxation in paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MandiB75
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low key relaxation in paradise”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The management company was extremely helpful, from our initial inquiry, to questions during booking and preparing for our trip, to the property manager who visited us at the house when we arrived. The on-site caretakers, Francisco and Alicia, were marvelous. We took advantage of the chef service, and meals were great. It was so nice to spend the day as we wanted, knowing we could get cleaned up just in time to have a home-cooked meal by candlelight on the balcony. We loved the beach. It was a bit rocky, but great for exploring, nice snorkeling, and fantastic view. The pool was a huge hit - kids loved it (ages 5, 9, and 11), and we could relax while they played. A/C in the bedrooms was definitely a necessity, even during October when we traveled. I can't imagine how we would have slept without it. House is just a few minutes drive from other beaches if you want a different vibe. Akumal was fantastic (snorkeling with sea turtles), and we loved the small beach at Zamas (in the Tulum beach zone). Punta Laguna is a must-see, as well as the Tulum ruins (take your swimsuit so you can swim in the sea beneath the ruins). We drove to Chichen Itza (staying in Valladolid to break up the trip). It was awe-inspiring (be sure to get there early to beat the crowds and heat). Anywhere you go (ruins, turtle snorkeling, Punta Laguna), the local guides are 100% worth it. Not expensive, and the information they give is priceless. We found that there was always a local guide who spoke enough English for us to communicate, but brushing up on your basic Spanish will be very helpful if you're staying in this area. Everyone is so kind and accommodating if you're willing to try. The management company provides you a link to an app that gives you local info and directions to the house (including a pin that links directly to your phone GPS). This was really helpful. The only caution would be that there are stairs between each level, and they don't have railings. So if you have trouble getting up and down stairs, this house would be problematic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, rooftop terrace
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, TX, United States
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben317
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful week with my family.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Villa Luminosa. The house is perfect. The rooms are big and there is plenty of room to spread out and relax. We were here with our 2 kids my parents and my brother & sister in law and their baby. The pool is beautiful and refreshing. Being able to just walk out into the bay and snorkel is awesome. The house is far enough away from tulum to be secluded but close enough to be there within 15 minutes.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma725
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunny Christmas! Instead of snow, sand!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
7
people found this review helpful

PROs
-The distribution of the rooms is very comfortable
- The rooms are big
-The bathrooms are spacious
-There is cleaning service everyday
-Beachfront
-Caretaker full time (the swimming pool was always clean, for example)
-The decoration and atmosphere is really nice, very beach-style

It is a very nice house and we had a great time :)

CONs
-you need a car, there is nothing walking distance - well there is only one restaurant
-no beach umbrellas and there is no shadow at all (important if traveling with kids)
-no beach toys (again important if traveling with kids)
-rocky beach, you will need shoes

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM, United States
Reviewed December 1, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
, WA, United States
Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christina...
Fort St. John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

The house felt like home right away, it was spotlessly clean every day, bright and breezy, great views from all the rooms. The rooms were very big and the airconditioning worked well and quietly. The sunsets and star gazing from the very comfortable roof top were an evening treat. The area is quiet but feels safe, there is a security guard 24 hours manning the road access to Tankah bay. We let our teenagers go for walks in the evening by themselves and never worried. (there is not much there to get into trouble with) The house is ideal for people that want to be together, but want a little space too. The beds were very comfortable, all the plumbing worked, there was plenty of hot water for showering. The deck chairs, hamocks, pool and other furnishings were all in new condition. The house is constructed with local tile and wood, giving it a mexican feel. Alicia does a great job of cleaning daily and we enjoyed every meal Francisco made for us. It is a simple 10 minute drive to the big grocery store in Tulum. Bring a small set of binoculars for watching the beautiful variety of colorful birds from the balcony. Tankah Bay is a bit rocky and perfect for snorkling, we saw lots of amazing fish. If you drive to Tulum and find Playa Paraisio you will find a perfect sandy beach for little kids to build sandcastles and play in the waves. I would recommend this home to everyone, except those that have difficulty with stairs. It is peaceful and relaxing and a bit out of the way of all the hubub. We were two families of four adults, three teenagers and two eight year olds. It was ideal for all of us. Was very sorry to leave, and we had been there two weeks! BC, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the meals on the deck, the star gazing on the roof top, the lack of people
Liked least: leaving...
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing