We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, good house, great service”
Aerial view of beach and pool.  Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of beach and pool.  Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay Swimming Pool, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Aerial view of beach and pool.  Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Swimming Pool, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu beachfront pool, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu outdoor living area, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu outdoor living, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu beachside view, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu and beach at Tankah Bay
View of Tankah Bay looking South
Exterior Casa Cavu
Exterior Casa Cavu
Casa Cavu
Casa Cavu
Exterior Casa Cavu
Casa Cavu Pool Area.
Upper ocean view terrace, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
View from the upper balcony of Tankah bay beach.
Azul waters and soft white sand in front of Casa Cavu,Tankah Bay
View of Tankah Bay looking north
Green sea turtle
Sunrise Tankah Bay S. Mollin Photography
Casa Cavu
Dining and Kitchen area
Great ocean views from dining area. Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Breakfast bar, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Fully equipped kitchen at Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Dining area at Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Sitting area with sliders out to the poolside.  Casa Cavu
Master Bedroom, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Master Bedroom with sliders out to the upper terrace. Casa Cavu.
Master ensuite bathroom, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Main level guest bedroom.
Main level guest bedroom.  Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Guest Bathroom, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Second guest bedroom with ocean view. Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Second guest bedroom with ocean view. Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Isidro and Rocio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lfcjaz
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Casa Cavu - In need of a Makeover”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Cavu is located in Tankah Tres, where the beach is coarse sand and beach shoes are required to enter the water as there are lots of rocks, sea urchins etc. It is not a fine, wide sandy beach such as that at Tulum.
The Casa itself has a few issues, at present, which need to be addressed by the management team. For example, some electrical switches are broken and have been taped up (obviously, not safe for young children) Bathrooms and bedrooms look quite tired, kitchen is adequate. However, it is kept very clean by the caretaker and his wife. Overall, I would say that the Casa is adequate for somewhere to sleep etc. but has no wow factor. Tulum is within easy reach and that is where we spent most of our time, nice beach, restaurants etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to Tulum
Liked least: Tired property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2013
Thank you for your thoughts about Tankah Tres beach and Casa Cavu. Each beach along the Riviera Maya is unique. Tankah Tres beach has an incredible barrier and inshore coral reef for people who enjoy snorkeling. When entering the water one does have to naviagte the coral in the shallows however there are plenty of sandy spots for water entry. Aqua shoes are recommended. Tulum beach is completely differnt, the barrier reef is further off shore so there is no inshore coral reef. This is why Tulum beach is completely sandy water entry.

Please know that Casa Cavu is inspected by the staff and management team to ensure good repair and maintenance of the house. During your visit the house was waiting on an electrician to repair the item you mentioned. We apologize for your inconvenience. We feel Casa Cavu is a very nice and casual beach home. We have many happy repeat clients who visit the home. Recently the bedrooms have been updated, new art has been installed all over the house warming the atmosphere. During your visit the art was removed from the walls for updates. We are very proud of our staff who maintain the house extremely clean. We are sorry the house did not meet your WOW factor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, good house, great service”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Casa Cavu is located on a perfectly quiet and isolated part of Tankah Bay, with reef-protected beaches and great off-shore snorkeling. If you like to get away from the hotels and resorts of Cancun, this is a great choice. In the neighborhood is a great snorkel/dive/fishing charter shop at Casa Cenote, and also Tankah Inn for great breakfasts.

The house is right on the beach, pool is good for kids just splashing around, and Isidro and Rosio were great helps. What's missing is furniture. The couch is built-in and the entertainment center was across the open floor plan behind the dining room table. It might have seemed like a good idea, but the concrete couch is not terribly comfortable or convenient.

Don't miss the short drive to the Tulum ruins, and also the 45 minute drive inland to Coba to climb a crumbling Mayan pyramid. It's the kind of thing you couldn't do in the US without a having a trial attorney waiting at the bottom for you to tumble down. Our 12 year olds made it up, but the 10 year old bailed out. All in all, a good rental for the price.

One other ding. The wifi was expired when we arrived and even when finally connected two days later was very slow - 256k. Very limited and worthless for video streaming of any kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Isidro and Rosio taking care of us!
Liked least: Furniture and 20th century wifi speeds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2013
Thank you very much for posting your thoughts about your stay at Casa Cavu. We apprecaite your comments about our wonderful staff. Thank you for choosing Casa Cavu for vacation. It is typical for couch or chairs to be built in due to the fact that a free standing couch has springs that would rust and break down quickly due to exposure to salt air. We apologize for the WIFI glitch. The house was in the process of switiching internet providers. WIFI in this area is not guaranteed 100% connectivity unfortunately. Thank you for providing advice to future visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Casa Cavu. Yes, Tankah Tres beach located 10 minutes north of Tulum is a perfect place to relax and escape the action of Tulum beach. We appreciate you staying nice things about Icidro's cooking. We feel it is one of the nicest amenties that the house offers. We apprecaite you choosing Casa Cavu for vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OR
Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay at Casa Cavu. Thank you also for posting your beautiful photos of the house and the cooked seafood! We do hope that you will return to Casa Cavu when vacation permits. We appreciate you choosing Casa Cavu for your vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Near Perfection”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Absolutely loved our stay at Casa Cavu. The manager never showed up like he was supposed to, but it didn't matter cause Isidro the caretaker and his wife Rosio were the absolute best and took care of our every need. It was quite and comfortable with plenty of space for the 7 adults (30+) that stayed.

Between the great snorkeling right off our beach, swimming in our pool or the nearby casa cenote, and kayaking, we had more than enough to do without leaving the house, but it's also wonderfully located for day trips anywhere in the Riviera Maya. You definitely need a car here, but driving to Chitchen Itza was about 2 hours, 40 min to Playa and a little over an hour to Cancun.

Isidro's cooking was some of the best food we had on our vacation, and I would definitely recommend that guests take advantage of that. Rosio kept the place immaculate as well. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlbeme
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxation and fun.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Casa Cavu. The house was perfect for our party of 5 adults.
Care and assistance from Isidro is there if you need and not in your way if you need nothing. Rocia comes in to clean daily and is extremely thorough. The house is perfectly out of they way. No tourists crowding the beach. and easily accessible by car to all the Riviera Maya and Yucatan has to offer. Its an hour and a half drive from the Cancun Airport. A rental car is a must to get around.

If you need entertainment there is TV and WiFi but why would one want to do that when you have the beautiful Caribbean just feet from the door. Having the pool is another major plus for cooling off and relaxing.

If you need to be surrounded by fancy resort style fluff, this is not the place for you.

We did not have Isidro cook for us this trip, but the house journal writings from previous guests rave about it. We went to Casa Cenote Restaurant, just North down the beach, daily and some times twice daily. It's a little hole in the wall beach place. Nothing fancy. We found the food good, the drinks strong, and the prices cheap. Perfect! There is also a mini mart on the Road next to Casa Cenote for last minute needs.

For fun Tankah bay activities within walking distance of the house: the Manati Cenote (across the road from Casa Cenote), The Cenote Outlet (in front of Casa Cenote), Kayaking and Snorkeling in the bay (wear life jackets!!), Swimming in the Cenote outlet near the southern point of the bay (past the shuttered Freedom Paradise Resort)

We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to the beach and the pool.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing