We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff, food and atmosphere is first class all the way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altamar Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Altamar Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kamloops
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the staff, food and atmosphere is first class all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had the opportunity to also take a cooking class with Eric, the chef, at Altamar - it was lots of fun and entertaining and not to mention delicious food. We took home recipes, tips and a tortilla maker. Let me tell you, they are harder to make than it looks. (And if you are in Tulum, there are lots of places that sell fresh tortillas so you can "cheat" a little).

Try their Spicy Margerita, Ceviche and Fish Tacos.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia50Kamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    25
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“In Tulum? Who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We found Altamar on our anniversary, the winter solstice, as we hunted for a place to eat before enjoying the evening festivities in the town plaza. The food at Altamar is exceptionally good; the atmosphere, serene; and the service, excellent. We love Tulum for its simplicity and eco-sensitivity, but this restaurant we would have to say we loved for its quiet sophistication and delicious seafood.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katytudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cooking class with Eric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

After dining in altarmar, I decide take the culinary class the next day. (so u see how much we like the food :p)

Eric, the chef, is very knowledgeable. Also he has a good sense of humor and always keeps us entertained. The class size is small (3 people when I went), allowing a very personalised experience. Eric has taught us a lot in the four hour class, from making drinks, different kinds of cieviche, a wide variety of Mexican sauces (and he also told the interesting stories behind them which makes the experience extra fun!), different kinds of pastries evolved from the tortilla paste (and we get to make and cook!), battered shrimps, food presentation...at the end, we also get to dine with Eric and ate all the amazing food we made :)

The four hours I spent with eric was v. fun and filling :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sys_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuni, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exhilarating Mexican Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This restaurant is fairly new to Tulum but will become very popular. The food is fresh and innovative - especially the ceviche! Great value for delicious food - this was our best meal in Tulum. Try the cooking class - the chef Eric is charismatic and passionate about food!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asb1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Known Activity!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Altamar restaurant is not only good, using only fresh ingredients in their cooking, but also offers a cooking class! It was a lot of fun... personal with only a few students at any one time. We prepared several dishes and after the class ate what we had prepared along with some home-made margaritas! If you like to cook, well worth your time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laurnene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altamar Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing