We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property
Beachfront
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beachfront
Beach side patio View from bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Beachfront
Beach side patio
View from bedroom
View from Terrace 1
Hammocks, beach chairs, palapa and peace...
Beach
Beach palapa and hammocks
Living room from open first floor
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Open living room with lots of cushions
Living Room
Living room opens to patio and beach
Living Room
Large sofa in living room
Kitchen bar and dining room AND the Caribbean
Fully equipped kitchen with tropical garden view and Carribean view
Open Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Master Bedroom 2
Ground floor blue master bedroom 2, French doors to patio and beach
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Ground floor blue master bedroom 2 - large closet
Blue master bedroom 2
Outside the blue master bedroom
The Room 2
Blue bathroom in blue master bedroom 2
Blue Bathroom, Master Bedroom 2
Half Bathroom first floor
Living Room
Stairs
Main entrance and stairs to second level
Second level
TV Room
Stairs to roof
Upstairs hang out corner
Green Master bedroom with deck overlooking the Carribean
en suite tropical bathroom
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1- Private deck over the beach, a glimpse of the tropical shower
Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
Tropical shower in Green room
Tropical shower in green room
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
Master Bedroom 1 Tropical Shower
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
From your room, serenity...
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Canopy twin beds upstairs bedroom
Tropical shower Twin Bedroom
Tropical shower Twin Bedroom
Tropical shower
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Outdoor Kitchen / patio
outdoor kitchen
Outdoor kitchen /Patio
BBQ -outdoor kitchen
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach
Steps to the tanning roof
Beach
Roof with private sunbathing and sunset Margaritas
From the roof, a very quiet and private beach
Roof Top
Roof Top
Beach
Beach
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rekrab201...
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week with some friends and were all blown away by the property and the area. It has it all, beautiful house, sea, cenotes, restaurants, places to visit so much to do and see we are going back. Friendly staff who lived next door. The men folk did diving with the Tankah group just up from the house. Tulum was the nearest town and provided everything that we needed. We would highly recommend you visit. As it states in all the info you are on the beach and you do have dense trees behind you so do expect the odd flying, crawling, slithering beastie which in our opinion was exactly as it should be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mommacass...
Gillett
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exquisite home”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This house is absolutely beautiful and decorated perfectly. If ambiance is as important to you as it is to me, I would highly recommend Villa Mariposa. We ended up saving money because it was such a beautiful spot that we didn't need to venture out every day. Nettie and Louis, the caretakers, were great. They made 2 delicious meals for us and kept the house and grounds spotless.

We did rent a car and found is very easy to travel to Tulum, Akumel, and Playa Del Carmen. And the restaurants down the road were easy to walk to for a meal or drink. We felt safe having a guard at the end of the private road.

There was no air conditioning in the bedrooms and at times it was uncomfortable but when there was a breeze, this wasn't an issue. Also, please note there is a reef so there are no waves on this beach. In some spots there are rocks and weeds, making it difficult for swimming. However, it was nice for wading, snorkeling and kayaking. The water is clear and warm.

All in all, this was a wonderful place for our family to vacation and we would highly recommend it! Hoping to come back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad you had the "perfect" vacation. Summer nights may get hot and the fans work hard all night if there is no breeze. Thankfully we have the ocean breeze on most days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
METALawye...
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full Sized Villa Delivers Spectacular Views and Totaly Relaxation”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week-plus stay and I write this review to confirm it is everything described in the listing and so much more. The Villa is certainly clean, well-maintained and the Veronique, the owner, provides guests with all the information needed to make this not only a stress free rental but offered us specific advice that allowed us to tailor our stay to our preferences.

Our party was two adults and two teenagers with a preference to relax and hang out in a comfortable place. Once we stocked up on groceries at the local supermarket we found little reason to run around the Yucatan, we were already enjoying a huge property with 3 beds, 4 baths, very solid wifi, multiple hammocks, a private Palapa, a massive common area with tons of seating and loungers only steps from the white sand beach and calm waters protected by the world's second largest barrier reef.

So many things are just right about this place, a few examples: the beds all face the ocean (small but important detail), massive windows for views to no end, outdoor shower for fast transitions, two sea kayaks for your unlimited and private use, outdoor gas BBQ to grill pungent food, windows in showers, tons of natural woods and stones which make the property feel tranquil and moderate the temps, lovely landscaping...the list goes on.

I would recommend this property because the fact is we got excellent value and the property and effort put forth by the owner and the caretakers merit a thriving business. Just don't book it when I want to return, deal?

Obviously when you book something like this from the states you naturally worry to varying degrees that something might go wrong or that you must investigate the rental in due diligence to make sure you don't arrive to find an empty lot or a locked door. The main thing I can offer you in this review is that will not happen, the place is legitimate, well-managed and its everything we wanted to enjoy a large comfortable Villa in a really interesting area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thanks! It was my pleasure to help you figure out your stay. I hope you come back with your own bike someday!! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginie...
Puebla, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in beautiful beach house”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house was even nicer than on the photos. Everything is perfectly organised for a convenient stay (kitchen, kayaks, hamacs, barbecue,...) and the house is well-maintained (daily).
The bathroom of the main bedroom is excellent ! It makes you feel you are in a cascade in the forest :-)
The view on the lagoon and on the forest on the other side (which seems a green sea) are amazing. You can't miss it at sunrise and sunset !
The location is perfect to visit a lot of places: Tanka Bay itself is nice for snorkling (lots of coloured fishes), a cenote at 5 minutes walk distance, beaches with turtles and other coloured fishes (Akumal,...), beaches for kite surfing, archeological sites...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty of the house and the lagoon just in front
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hammocks on the beach right in front of the house and the lovely breeze.
Liked least: That we had to travel by car to get to most restaurants.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 May 2014
Amelia, Thanks for the nice comments about the house!! I am glad you mentioned the taxi. Not all taxis will gauge tourists but it is a lot easier to rent a car while you're staying at Villa Mariposa. Driving in the Yucatan is lot easier than it was, roads have improved greatly and the police is a lot more reasonable than just a few years ago.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
We are so glad to hear the house surpassed your expectations!
It sounds like you truly took advantage of what the area has to offer and managed to relax at the house. I know it's hard to leave the house sometimes, it's just soooo relaxing there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
France
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you!
Nice photos! Love the one from the round window!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$280
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing