We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in a magical place”
Review of Las Palmas Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Palmas Maya
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in a magical place”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Las Palmas Maya is a top pick for Tulum--well-priced, great location (literally across from the beach–beach access with chairs and umbrellas are provided by the neighbouring hotel OM). We stayed for 6 nights. The site manager, Tom, made us feel very welcome, made sure that we were happy with the lodging and offered helpful advice about attractions and dining. Our room had everything that we needed, including hot water, and was swept out each day by the staff. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor area which includes a large community kitchen. Cooking for ourselves saved some money, as the restaurants in the hotel area are quite expensive. Las Palmas provided filtered water for drinking (bring a water bottle and take it to go).

Las Palmas felt safe and relaxing, and was generally quiet (without power in the area, they run a generator on a schedule in the evening). Each room has its own lock – we felt safe leaving our belongings there during the day. A rope or line to dry wet beach wear would have been a welcome addition in the room. In the future, we would hope to see some earth-friendly additions such as solar power, composting, recycling, etc. Coming from Vancouver, B.C., we were surprised at all the plastic on surrounding beaches, and the volume (and smell) of garbage from all of the hotels in the area.

Rent a bike and head to the ruins or to town (a solid half-hour ride to either location), or hop in a taxi for 70-90 pesos (they come by the hotel about every two minutes). If you're looking to escape the "pre-packaged" tourist setup and experience a magical place with real people this hotel and area are for you.

Things we suggest you bring on your trip:
Beach towel or blanket, bug spray, sunscreen, shades, reusable water bottle, pesos (the ATMs in the area are not very reliable), a good book, a backpack

Tyler & Jolie

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Onelove583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    43
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
151
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

After traveling around Mexico for a month, like many others, we found Tulum a little on the pricey side, and it was something of a challenge to find affordable accommodation on the beach. Whilst LPM isn't 'on' the beach, it's literally just across the street and is around half the price of similar places on the beach side (which unless you're paying for ocean views, just isn't worth it).

As others have said, Frank and Cheryl have done a great job of renovating the property, and Tom the manager has a real talent for keeping everything running smoothly and keeping everyone happy.

The rooms are comfy and clean and, unlike many other places in tulum, have constant hot water and power throughout the night. (You will appreciate the latter when it's hot and you need a fan).

Another big plus is the communal outdoor (under cover) kitchen. Food in tulum is expensive (especially near the beach) so having the option to shop and the supermarket and prepare your own meals is a major plus. Tom has fresh coffee ready every morning and there's also an honor fridge for beer and wine. (and if you twist his arm, Tom may also share with you the secret to the perfect 'coca colada.'

The location is perfect for easy beach access and everything else is accessible by bike (which LPM rent for 150 pesos per day). Taxis are also easy to get hold of.

We loved our five nights at LPM and will definitely stay there again next time we are in Tulum.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissJudeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I flew from Dallas, Texas to Cancun along with my large dog Rocky. After the extremely stressful arrival and going through customs and immigration with an animal, I was sto stressed out that I was almost in tears. After getting my rent car, Rocky and I headed to Tulum and our room at Las Palmas Maya. It was such a relief to be welcomed and made comfortable by the manager Tom. I got settled into my lovely simple room and felt at home for the next 2 nights before continuing to our new home in Mahahual. I will definately stay here whenever I happen to be in the area. Thank you Cheryl, Frank and Tom for having such a welcoming place.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MeredithFtWorth_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

You know, the Tulum beach is probably the most beautiful beach in the whole world but, after a day of sun and sand and pounding surf, it's kind of nice to get away to a place that's quiet, tranquil, and gives you that "coming home" (in the best sense of the phrase) feeling. Owners Cheryl and Frank, and hotel manager Tom, have managed to create a warm, cozy, and welcoming atmosphere in this quaint abode that gives the best of all worlds. The easy proximity to that perfect beach gives one all that can be desired about a stay in Tulum, but adds the bonus of not having to deal with the fine sand that finds its way into every crack and crevice of a beachfront property and a sometimes overwhelming sea breeze. The beach is just a moment away, but the drawbacks of staying right on the sand are eliminated. Las Palmas Maya is sparkling clean, comfortable, thoroughly and creatively outfitted, and provides the perfect resting place after enjoying Tulum's sunshine, surf, nightlife, or just its simple beauty. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking a delightful off-the-beaten path experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank csf_in_pdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I can't say enough about the service at Las Palmas Maya. The best way to describe it: imagine some of your good friends opened up a small place by the beach. Tomas, Cheryl and Frank truly have a passion for running the place and it shows, and they really treat you like family.

I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. You could stay at another place with a "garden view", pay more, and not be as comfortable as we were here. Compared to many of the other eco-hotels in the area, they have awesome showers, and they keep the power on all night long (a lot of eco-hotels turn their generators off at 10).

Tomas, the manager was extremely helpful and entertaining. Ask him for advice on day excursions - he knows all the best trips. Aside from that, he really went out of his way to make sure we had an unforgettable experience - letting us snag rides with him into town(in the las palmas bug), streaming the NFL playoff game in the jungle, and just sitting and chatting with the guests. I was unfortunate enough to have to do some work on the trip, and Tomas ran an extension cord outside so I could work via wifi in the Jungle!

The only downside we noticed is that the rooms were a little dark during the day. But we really weren't in the room too much during the day anyway, so it wasn't a big deal.

I would definitely stay here again. It's definitely one of the places to be in Tulum!

Andre & Emily

Room Tip: Second Floor Rooms are better as to not bring dirt/sand into your room from your shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJGagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl d, Owner at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you so very much for your thoughtful and honest review. We (Cheryl, Frank, and Tomas) loved having you both as our guests and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Tulum. Just wanted to give you a quick update: as of last week, we now have gravel pathways throughout the property and are beginning the plantings of lush vegetation. Most importantly, the gravel is in front of the downstairs guestrooms, and this has helped tremendously with tracking in sand! Come back soon so that you can see our latest improvements!! Thanks again, A!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Where do i even start? If i didnt have real world responsibilities i would have never left. The vibe at this place is immediately welcoming and Tom is as fun as he is helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are really cool and clean, the atmosphere is on point, and the help is stellar. I was mainly on a relaxation and fishing mission here in Tulum and i accomplished both goals with flying colors. Frank, one of the owners was kind enough to give me some tips for fishing the local waters and i ended up with a nice barracuda in the Sien Khan. Nestled in the middle of Beach Rd in Tulum, I found the location of Las Palmas Maya to be close enough to Nightlife and far enough from any hustle and bustle that whatever my mood was i could be accomodated. Its an easy hitchhike or bike ride into town and a hop skip and a jump from the beach (aka across the one lane road) The people i met were amazing. One new found local friend i made even brought Tom and i a fresh lobster and snapper dish he had made, Delicious! I had an unforgettable experience here in Tulum and I feel its safe to say I will be frequenting Las Palmas Maya in the years to come and look forward to seeing Tom and the pups again.

Dustin H.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, NV
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We live in the Playa Del Carmen area for 3-4 months every year but we love to "get away" to Tulum for it's special atmosphere, beautiful beach and good restaurants. We had reservations at another hotel on the beach but their system (or people) goofed and they had us down for only one night and not the two that we requested. So we remembered that a new hotel had recently opened and might have some availability. Las Palmas Maya is not on the beach but it hardly matters with one of the nicest parts of the long Tulum stretch of sand just across the road. We know some people must be right on the beach and for those another choice should be made. But for the significant price differential Las Palmas Maya is close enough to the sand for us. The manager, Tom, could not be more welcoming and helpful. The rooms (only four) are comfortable with large king size beds and the very few recommendations we made are already in progress as we write this. One of the real pluses for those staying a few days or more is the community kitchen. It is fully stocked and allows guests to do a little home cooking and avoid having to eat every meal out in a pricey tourist environment. There is a new and large Chedraui market just a few miles away for all the items you could need. We found the restaurants within walking distance of Las Palmas to be very good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highly recommended little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PlayaWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
7.3 km away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 96 in Tulum
921 reviews
0.4 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#10 of 96 in Tulum
696 reviews
14.6 km away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
4.5 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Property: Las Palmas Maya
Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing