We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Palmas Maya
Nearby Hotels
US$254
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$162
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Azulik(Tulum)
US$510
US$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$376/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Posada Del Sol(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zamas(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piedra Escondida(Tulum)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
345
52
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
52
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchentreetop suiteom hotelmanager tombeach roadhour powerother guestscook your own mealsbeach accesssolar powerbiking distancejuan carloseach morningmosquito netgreat recommendationscar rentalwater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 412 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent our spring break here, a week later and we (or at least I) still haven't adjusted back to my normal life. It was THAT wonderful. I never wanted to leave! Such a great value for an amazing hotel. The communal (outdoor) kitchen was one of our favorite aspects of las palmas maya, because it helped us to meet and make friends with all the cool people staying there the same time as we were. Coffee was made every morning for us, it was nice to gather around the table and talk to everyone about what their plans were for the day. The location could not have been better. It's seriously a few steps away from the beach! (I included a picture to show the path to the beach) it's BASICALLY beachfront- without ALL the sand! It being across the street from Om was super convenient because we were able to use their lounge chairs our whole stay (i was also really surprised with how uncrowded the beach was, there were chairs for us every morning) So we'd use the chairs at Om and just make sure to order food or a few drinks in exchange for the chairs. The service at Om was great as well. Anyways, we were able to meet Frank and Cheryl and they were wonderful! You can tell they genuinely care about their travelers. Tom, the on-site manager was an excellent host as well. He treated us to his famous "Co-Co Coladas" and we sat around the kitchen with all the other travelers talking and laughing until around midnight, he really makes you feel at home and is SUPER funny. We even went out with him one night! He had great food and activity recommendations as well.

I noticed the bugs weren't bad late at night but definitely wear bug spray during dinner time (5-7) or they'll really get you. Also be prepared to have early mornings, the birds woke us up at around 6:30 everyday, but we didn't mind a bit because we were always so excited to start our days. The electricity is only on from 5pm-5am, didn't bother me a bit. if you open your shades you'll have enough light. Our shower was great, water pressure was just fine and it was always as hot or cold as we wanted.

Ask Tom to recommend his favorite cenotes, definitely a highlight of our trip.

I could seriously go on forever about this trip... but words can't really describe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Comfortable & clean this hotel is right across from the Om hotel. Great value, run by Americans, everything is as it should be. Our host Tom made us feel at home, was a wealth of information and arranged a tour of the bio-sphere for us. The communal kitchen is a fun place to meet fellow travelers. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms were pretty much the same, but the second floor has a nice balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldhippysnorkelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

What can I say except that Cheryl and Frank have worked hard, and with obvious care, love, and attention, to make this lovely hotelita match it's great location! Las Palmas Maya had all the amenities we needed, was very clean, very reasonably priced...and the fully-equipped outdoor communal kitchen was a real bonus. As was Tomas, the on-site Manager who was very welcoming, friendly, knowledgable, helpful, fun...and who a couple of times kindly treated us to some of his homemade kick-a#* "coco-colodas"! 8-) (...and he probably thought he could drink these Canadian gals under the table, eh?! lol! )

Travelling with me was my 12 yr.old daughter, and a female friend, and the three of us stayed together for ten fabulous nights in the Treetop Suite. The bathroom was spacious and lovely, and the showers were great with plenty of water pressure, and, if you wanted, were hot too. We never minded that we only had power from 5pm to 5am, and learned very quickly to just plan around that time if we needed to use electricity. But really, during the days we were either swimming or lazing at the beach (which is incredibly beautiful and only seconds away, walking), biking into Tulum town (with two days of free rentals from LPM), checking out all the different restaurants, day-tripping to Coba and Tulum Ruinas, and then, once thoroughly pooped from all that, hanging out in the kitchen for a bit...or more often than not, on our own private balcony that overlooked the Boca Paila road. As we all three love "people-watching", it was so much fun to hang out there and just watch all the interesting comings and goings. Maybe some people might find that a bit noisy, but we LOVED it! ... and as the traffic died down considerably at night, it never kept us awake. But then again, after our very full days of trying to fit in all the fabulous things to do in that absolutely beautiful slice of tropical paradise, we would have slept like logs anyway!

All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend LPM and the Treetop Suite to anyone. We can't wait to go back, and even if I win the lottery and can afford something really swanky and right on the beach next time, we would still drop in there to say hello, and sit for a spell. That's just the kind of wonderful place it is...a lovely shaded private oasis amidst tall and leafy jungle palms and foliage, with exotic singing birds, a multitude of funny and cute little geckos, and other charming tropical jungle critters...and above all, with very welcoming and approachable owners and manager. :-)

Room Tip: If you like to watch all varied sorts and types of traffic and people...you can't beat the view from the front balcony of the Treetop Suite!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolAnne1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

If you're looking for something well priced, right across the beach, near pretty much everything and just wanna feel like home, then Las Palmas Maya is for you!

I was lodging in the Gecko section on 2nd floor. Very comfortable, no mosquitos, very clean. Each morning, I was slowly awakened by the sound of birds and morning sun. Outdoor kitchen is very welcoming and allows you to cook and refrigerate goods. Free coffee offered each morning and was prepared by Tom the Manager. Great guy who will make you feel at ease and share with you his specialty drink called the Coco Colada! You just can't turn down that drink, it's a must try! Owner Cheryl and Frank are delightful people, attentive to your needs and open to suggestions.

For those who like biking, you can rent a bike for the day, enjoy discovering the surroundings and even go to the ruins which will take you about 20 min. Dont' forget your camera..!

Beach is right across the street and can access it via the Ohm hotel.

Overall, Las Palmas is a great safe place and you won't regret your choice! I have already suggested this place to friends and won't hesitate going back there on my next visit to Tulum!!

Gaby

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabriela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We happened on this wonderful find because a friend who spends a lot of time in Tulum suggested it. We were looking for something right on the beach, but we saw the Las Palmas Maya website and it is right on the beach road. You can hear and feel the ocean from your room window and the walk to the beach is just paces away. The resort is reasonably priced and has a very homey feel. We stayed in the Gecko room on the 2nd floor with a balcony - comfortable, roomy, breezy and although a shared balcony, very private. The accommodations are clean, housekeeping is excellent and unobtrusive. There is an outdoor kitchen that is big, well-organized and perfect for anyone who doesn't want to eat out every night. Free coffee every morning made for guests. You can bring your groceries and store them. Drinks available for purchase if you run out of your own. The owners Cheryl and Frank are very attentive. Tom the manager does everything in his power to assure you a pleasant stay. Their water is good and hot - great pressure and nice showers. There are a few hours in the day there is no electric - but within a very short time, you get used to the rhythm and plan ahead. They have Wifi - and plenty of places to charge batteries, laptops, etc. They rent bikes on the premises which is an added plus. We stayed 7 nights and would highly recommend this resort to any travelers who would like to experience Tulum the way it should be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KRtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews