We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Weird in a not-kool way!”
Review of Maya Tulum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maya Tulum Resort
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Getting Weird in a not-kool way!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

if you are looking for a meditative and peace-learning experience and don't think the raunchy rap music at meals is kool - look elsewhere.

Food is great! Really great - the property is fabulous but it has some new kinky element taking over.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank GEE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    93
    32
    23
    18
See reviews for
34
81
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Gorgeous spot with beautifully landscaped grounds, nice beach, excellent food. Very quiet, serene, peaceful. Not for the party-on set, though just a little way to music venues and interesting restaurants. Security and helpfulness are strong. Yoga is great. Dining room is well designed and very warm and accommodating. Except for the food which includes Mayan specialties and the glowing faces of the staff, you are not sure you are in Mexico, but that can be remedied by a trip into town. Cenotes (fresh water swimming holes) are nearby. Snorkeling is about the only thing I can say isn't great.

Room Tip: I went as part of a yoga group, so I'm not really knowledgeable about the rates. I think all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed at this Yoga retreat with someone who was into Yoga, but I was not myself. I tried a few beginner classes and had a private class, which were thoroughly enjoyable. If you love yoga though, Maya Tulum is a nice choice for those looking for a peaceful, safe, and relaxing environment. We were on a 5 day package, which included a tour excursion (so-so) and a spa treatment (excellent). The quality of the spa services were very good, which was a pleasant surprise! The food and service was generally good as well. Overall, the stay was a bit on the pricy side, but enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digicision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I spent a week at Maya Tulum during a week that was particularly deserted. I was 1 of only 5 people at the resort yet they did not upgrade my room and I was tucked way at the end of the property. This was not a big deal but it would have been nice to be closer. It was still a decent room, comfortable, a bit on the rustic side with an outdoor shower and not fully enclosed. At night, you would go to sleep with the sound of the ocean. I did the all inclusive plan which I recommend and unlike Pura Vida in Costa Rica, which is owned by the same company, you can order off the menu. The food was fresh, healthy and good. There is no red meat on the menu though but they do have chicken and fish options. The yoga is offered twice daily and of good quality. After eating healthy and practicing yoga twice a day, my pants definitely felt loose at the end of the week. I would highly recommend the Mayan yuut keene massage, which is all on the abdomen and releases incredible amounts of tension. The people who worked at the resort were nice but no one goes out of their way to ensure you are comfortable. I thought with 5 people total at a resort that accommodates so many more, that you would get better service. I still had a lovely trip though and would recommend this for a yoga retreat with a group.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception are nicer. The cottages on the far ends of the property are simpler witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MK162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 5 days here just before the Christmas holiday after a particularly difficult year for both of us. Maya Tulum is just what the doctor ordered: peace and quiet, Zen-inspired grounds, a healthy diet offered by the kitchen (a bit of room for improvement there, but still many solid offerings – make sure to eat the fish sandwich), simple well-designed fresh air rooms with ocean views (we had a touch of wind and rain while there and the thatched roofs can shed down some debris, but not a big deal as we were critter free) and all the yoga you could want (though when one of the yoga instructors asked me to feel the expansion in my optic nerve it was tough to suppress the giggle). The constant sound of the ocean was hypnotic and soothing, but beware the undertow on an otherwise near perfect beach.. Another plus for me as a scuba diver was the proximity of the hotel to many of the unique cenotes fresh water dive sites of the Yucatan. There is no dive facility on the hotel grounds, but a short 5 minute walk down the ocean side road into village (where there is amazing coffee shop by the way) got me set up with a professional (if slightly pricey) dive shop. Besides the diving, the only thing we did “off campus” was have a couple of dinners down the beach at Posada Margarita. This came at the recommendation of a travel agent friend. Make plans to do dinner there once at least. The food was top notch, and the walk down the beach at sunset and then back among the starry sky is worth the calories. Also, get up early one day and watch the sunrise (trust me on this).

Make sure to bring a good amount of small bills for tipping (massages and airport drivers for example), though all restaurant tips can be added to the checks and paid for at check-out.

Room Tip: get a room on the beach as the ones not on the beach may annoy you as people walk by and peek in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrKoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolcat659
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I had a phenomenal time and it lived up to my already high expectations! It is so hard to choose what I liked most, but the property was so well kept. Sometimes tropical places can feel a bit grungy but everything was immaculately clean, freshly raked sand, and lovely touches everywhere (flowers floating in little pools to clean your feet after the beach). At the same time, the hotel wasn't overly formal--it was was very laid back, relaxed "eco-luxurious" .
The yoga sessions were very relaxing and the food was DELICIOUS. All very healthfully prepared and homemade, and the staff was very accommodating to any special requests.

My room was spacious, quiet, and well attended to each day--the maids even made cute little figures with the wash towels. Each night I was lulled to sleep by the sound of the crashing waves right outside my window and woken up by the sun rising over the ocean.

The spa treatments were absolutely divine--I got holistic massages both times, among the best in my life.

Finally, overally the staff was extremely friendly and helpful in every respect.

The only super minor issues is that I would have liked a bit more variety in yoga classes offered in terms of speed. Most of the yoga types were all variations on very gentle / slow yoga, and I would have liked a couple more power yoga / ashtanga yoga type classes. Also I would have liked there to be more fish options at meals--sometimes it was only vegetarian and it would have been great to have fish as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolcat659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I went here on a yoga retreat (with Bryan Kest in case you're wondering) in August 2011. I was a little apprehensive since a) it was august and there is no a/c/; b) the beds had mosquito nets over them; c) there is limited electricity because the whole facility runs on a generator. My fears were misplaced. I loved it here and it was not nearly as "basic" as I had expected. Yes, it was hot and sometimes a little hard to sleep because of that but other than that I don't have a single bad thing to say. The view was fabulous, the little palapas that are the rooms (most of them anyway) were nicely appointed, the food was fantastic (especially if you're a vegetarian, which I am). And, perhaps best of all, the massages and treatments were just out of this world. The mosquitoes were not a huge issue for us, but I was told that this issue varies depending on the direction of the wind and the time of year. I guess we were lucky (I loathe bugs of any kind so that would have been a big issue for me). It's a great place for a yoga retreat but if you're a "luxury" traveler you might not be completely happy here. For example, it was very liberating to not be able to dry your hair but, you know, you have to be in a certain place to feel that way (ladies, you know what I mean). Overall, a great spot if you know what to expect and like a more rustic, eco-retreat kind of place. (PS: While we were there, the beautiful actress Heather Graham was there with her boyfriend. I tell you this, not because you might go there and see celebrities, you probably won't but to let you know that the place was good enough for Heather so...)

Room Tip: Request an ocean view or a beach front cabana but ask to be on the side where the spa facilities are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dicooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.4 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
341 reviews
2.7 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
0.3 km away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 96 in Tulum
578 reviews
4.5 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
0.9 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#16 of 96 in Tulum
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Tulum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Tulum Resort

Property: Maya Tulum Resort
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Km 7 | Hotel Zone, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#18 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#27 Family Hotel in Tulum
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Tulum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexico’s Maya Tulum Resort is a destination like no other - a vortex of natural energy and wonder. Located an hour and a half from Cancun on the sparkling waters of the Mexican Riviera, Maya Tulum Resort guests are encouraged to engage in a life-transformational yoga experience, indulge in healthy cuisine, be pampered by gifted healers and spend lazy afternoons basking alongside the azure waters of the Caribbean Sea. Maya Tulum Resort features two fully-equipped yoga halls offering classes twice daily under the skilled and gentle guidance of experienced teachers. Yoga classes are offered in many different styles and variations - including Hatha, Vinyasa, Iyengar and SUP Yoga - plus a variety of special yoga retreats. Maya Tulum Resort also offers outdoor oceanfront yoga, a Meditation Labyrinth and a Temazcal Sweat Lodge for traditional Mayan ceremonies. Maya Tulum Resort offers 49 spectacular thatched-roof guest accommodations, including Villas, Beach Front Cabanas and Ocean View Cabanas. Each secluded bungalow was designed to let in the light, fresh air and the soothing sounds of the ocean. Guests can enjoy immaculate beds with crisp white linens, well-appointed tiled bathrooms and daily maid service. To help guests truly retreat and disconnect, Maya Tulum Resort offers no televisions, phones or clocks in the guest rooms. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and at the Front Desk. Maya Tulum Resort features a seaside restaurant with cool marble floors, white limestone walls and enormous windows offering fantastic views of the turquoise Caribbean Sea. The restaurant serves a variety of fresh dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including proteins, seafood and vegetarian meals, along with Americano coffee, fresh juices and a selection of house teas; a full bar is also offered. Great focus is placed on nutrition and meals are designed to accommodate a wide range of dietary preferences. Maya Tulum Resort features eight individual spa rooms specially designed to help guests find absolute peace of mind within the beauty and elegance of simplicity. Rooted in ancient inspiration, the resort offers a variety of relaxing spa treatments based on ancient Mayan specialties, including the Mayan Honey Xuunan Kab and a traditional Mayan Clay Massage. Additional options include Aromatherapy, Hot Stones Therapy, Reiki, facials, body treatments and exfoliations. Guests are encouraged to explore Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula through a variety of guided half and full day adventure tours. Excursion options include visiting the Tulum Ruins or the Coba Ruins to learn about the ancient Mayan culture, snorkeling trips to a lagoon filled with tropical fish and coral formations or a tour of the Aktun Chen caverns followed by a cool, refreshing dip in the Xunaan-Ha Cenote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maya Tulum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Tulum Retreat And Resort
Maya Tulum Retreat Hotel Tulum
Maya Tulum Retreat Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing