We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
Nearby Hotels
US$392
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
US$745
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Villas H2O(Tulum)
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel MangleX(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Posada Del Sol(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piedra Escondida(Tulum)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
124
28
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
28
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaco placetaco barevery morningsimple beachhost fabiomini martbeach shacka lovely staypalm treestea and coffeerestaurants and shoppinghear the wavestulum experienceyour doorstepscreen doortacoshot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We went in 2015 and it was $79.00 a night and that was through booking.com. Fabio told us that it would have been a LOT cheaper if we could have just went there and paid him CASH..(like 59 dollars or negotiable) .BUT being that we went through Booking.com he was obligated to keep what we booked it for. SOOOOO NOW it is at $189.00 a night? Oh Hell no! For a funky place in Mexico? People don't do it, you are being TOTALLY ripped off! And Fabio and his "girlfriend" live there and the place is totally paid off and is owned by the "girlfriends/wife's" Family. Fabio told me so! That place is NOT WORTH $200 a night! Noooo way Jose'!

Room Tip: Very very very hard beds and a funky cheapo breakfast each morning!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IShareCuzICare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend Playa Xcanan! Fabio and his team give you warm, friendly service and make you feel right at home. What I loved best is that it offers a “best of both worlds” combo, in that it’s located right in the heart of the trendiest restaurants and shopping of the Tulum beach strip, while maintaining a very easy-going, authentic, down-to-earth feel. This isn’t easy to find in Tulum! Too many places in the town have a bit of a “trying too hard to be hip and cool” vibe (high price tag included). Xcanan, on the other hand, feels unpretentious and honest. And with all oceanfront cabanas, what’s not to love?

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomás E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Well here I go again...please read Mexislacks previous reviews, they have not changed one bit. From hugs and kisses reception from Fabio, to a swift introduction to our fantastic room, it was just fab to be back at Playa Xcanan. Fabio and family have been building their business at Xcanan, and with that, you have EVERYTHING you need on a daily basis. The store has all the bev,liqour,ice, snacks, and c store stuff you need. A nice boutique store, wish I would have bought the Radio Tulum t-shirt here, after listening when we got home. Working on a fantastic new Habano cigar and tobacoo shop on property were, Ricardo with help from Eban. Good luck guys, the place looks awesome. Thank you to Tresento, Eban, Theresa, and the whole staff at Xcanan for making our stay special and welcoming. We love you guys even if we probably misspelled your names. Your toes in the sand, sunrise on your breakfast, swim for a morning wake up, talk to kite surfer Goonie about the wind, take a 2 hour walk on the beach, fly a kite, have a portabello burger at Raw Love. Now, figure out what you want to do with your day! We REALLY enjoyed our time with Fabio and his team. The beach has been discovered by the world, for a reason, but a few great places like Playa Xcanan still have what we will always think of Tulum to be. Thank you Fabio and family, we love you and your warm hospitality. Best of luck with all in the future.
Your Friends,
Steve and Sheri Slack

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MEXISLACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Best location on Tulum beach - one of the only properties that has preserved its natural landscape with palm trees providing shade on the beach and around your cabana.

Fabio and the rest of the team provide a first class service. Their genuine concern for guests is reflected in their every attention that allow for an exceptional stay.

We rented a car for our two-week vacation and secure parking was available on the property. Good location to drive to-and-from Mayan ruins sites, Sian Ka’an Biosphere, cenotes, lagunas and other places of interest.

A wonderful vacation spot where you can hear the waves breaking and spreading their water on the shore throughout the day.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Johanne707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This tiny, humble place is set between all the fancy-schmancy high dollar places & we couldn't have been happier at Xcanan! Fabio epitomizes hospitality & is incredibly kind & helpful. The rooms have everything we needed...clean, great bed & hot shower. And the beach views are stunning. One of the prettiest beaches anywhere. We shared with Fabio that we don't eat beef, pork or chicken & he made the most amazing breakfasts for us with that in mind. Jorge, at the front desk is incredible too...super nice & so helpful. We can't recommend this place enough & we will definitely stay here on the next trip to Tulum.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jupiterwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews