We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfhostlers for a wonderful place!”
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 88 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Wonderfhostlers for a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at LSM from 24/02 to 01/03/2012. It was the most beautiful hotel that we had ever stay! Rooms are clean, well decorated, the open air shower is a good idea, and the breakfast was very very good (fresh muffins, fresh fruits, every morning an excellent meal homemade by Moe or Lou)! Moe and Lou are great hosts, very friendly and care about you. They are also great cooks (if you can, reserve a dinner, it is delicious)
Thank you for all your help, your councils and recommendations we appreciated that! We enjoyed sleeping in this place and having breakfast with the others guests.
The situation of LSM is great: on the road for Coba and Chichen itza and on the other side we have tulum ruins and Sian ka'an (which is a beautiful place to go) and beaches.
Thank you Moe and Lou for a such beautiful place!! (Sorry for our English, we are French people!)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CariNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
We have had many visitors from France this season and we truly appreciate the effort it takes to write a review in a second language. When we write or speak in Spanish, even after living here for 8 years, it is a bit of a challenge, so for that we thank you very much. Mil gracias. You were delightful, adventurous guests who courageously explored this country with a language that was foreign to you. We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    31
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
89
355
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Moe and Lou make you feel very welcome and will help your stress disappear with a B&B that has quiet garden paths, flowing water in a waterfall and founains, comfortable cabanas and tasty breakfasts . It's conveniently close to cenotes and both Tulum and the ruins at Coba and there is a good restaurant and a convenience store about 100 meters away. The cabanas were comfortable and were decorated with regional items. The sound of the waterfall helped put us to sleep each night -- although we had napped in the hammocks on the verandas. There was plenty of space and comfortable chairs for quiet reading and the spa looks well set up. They have lots of special touches, such as sunscreen and insect repellent, umbrellas, and guidebooks for local sights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for the review and for mentioning the proximity to restaurants etc. We are off the beaten path and that is what most of our guests are looking for. We hope you will return and see more of what the Riviera Maya has to offer. It is truly a paradise of nature and historical sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

La Selva Mariposa is a labor of love for owners Moe and Lou. Plantings and water features abound throughout the property. The cabanas are beautifully decorated and contained many thoughtful items for us to use during our stay, including an umbrella and a flashlight. A full and satisfying breakfast was included and was served in an outdoor dining area where we met and chatted with other guests. We stayed in cabana #3 that had a unique roofless shower. I had read a review about critters getting into the room from the shower at night. We kept the door shut and never encountered anything in the room or when I made potty visits during the night. There is a lot of truck traffic at night on the Coba Road and you can hear trucks shifting gears as they go over the topa (speed bump). Lou has built a water feature that provides white noise throughout the day and night. We heard the trucks while reading in bed, but they never woke us up or kept us awake. Restaurant choices in Macario Gomez are within an easy walk but are very limited. We stayed 3 nights and ate dinner twice at the restaurant across the highway from LSM. There is no English spoken, but it is family run and they are so sweet and eager to please. The food is not fancy but it is tasty, plentiful and inexpensive.

A negative for us was a lack of usable light in the cabanas. The cabana has a palapa roof which makes it dark. The main light fixtures in the high ceiling cast light from high center but if you are looking for something, your own shadow blocks that light. There were 11 light fixtures in the room, but most were not directed as usable. There was a lowered section of ceiling over the bed that was painted a light color and excellent reading lights on the wall above both sides of the bed. The other negative was that our sheets and pillows felt damp and has a musty smell to them when we crawled into bed. This could be from the shade and water features but the bed did not feel or smell fresh.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Changitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for the detailed review. We are always trying to make things better for ourselves and our guests at LSM. We agree that a palapa roof makes a room dark, but it is typical of the area and we like to have our rooms reflect a variety of building styles. We added the 11 lights for accent and when we switched over to LED light bulbs for energy efficiency we realized we were sacrificing brightness for helping the environment. We have used the flashlights to check for missing items, etc. but realize that may not be enough. Today we are installing one, 100- watt bulb in the center of the room with a separate switch that can be used at times when you want a well lighted space.
As far as the bed not feeling fresh, we use high quality sheets from the US and prepare the bed the day of, and in this case, the day before because we did not know the arrival time. We use the AC when cleaning the rooms now, so hopefully this will eliminate the dampness. It was a very rainy month. Thanks. We take each of our reviews to heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at LSM in Room # 3 which was absolutely fabulous! Moe & Lou were wonderful and gracious hosts who prepared wonderful meals for us each day and even took into consideration my dietary restrictions (I am lactose intolerant). The rooms are well appointed (with such amenities as air conditioning, a CD player and basket filled with CDs and a flashlight to use during the evening hours) and are spacious. Moe even created extremely helpful guide books of local restaurants to try and the best beaches in Tulum which you are welcome to take with you for the day. The property is stunning - Moe & Lou built it from the ground up and have every right to be proud of the serene environments they've created for their guests. LSM is close to everything if you have a car, from the beaches & ruins of Tulum to the Cenotes of Coba. Definitely check it out - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaNessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry Sound
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just recently stayed at LSM. Fantastic place, clean, well appointed, comfortable, private, great gardens, great breakfasts, great hammocks, great water falls, great central location to the beaches in Tulum & the ruins of Coba. Cenotes near by, great restaurant at the end of the road (Cachimba) beer store close by, plenty of taxis buses and colectivos going by if you don't rent a vehicle. This is the real Mexico and I'll be back if they will have me!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
The review was "perfect" Thanks for mentioning the restaurant and beer store in Macario Gomez. Glad you were able to get around with public transportation, this is not easy for all guests. You had a great attitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for the final 4 nights of our trip, and we definitely saved the best for last. Yummy food, incredibly helpful and engaged hosts, beautiful grounds with wildlife (we saw everything from parrots to a spider monkey). We splurged a bit and rented Room #4, complete with open air shower and a private cenote-style plunge pool with landscaping, waterfall, and even a hammock right outside our bedroom. Most people come to Tulum for the beach, but if you're into other attractions (like Coba and Sian Ka'an, this is one fantastic option (you can still hang out at the beach at one of dozens of beach clubs).

Room Tip: Each suite has its own features--we REALLY loved room #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. I see you are experienced at reviewing the hotels you travel to and I for one appreciate the effort it takes to do this upon your return home. You have said it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I recently went to Mexico on a "girls trip" with my mom. We travled to La Selva Mariposa in Tulum, a delightful bed and breakfast. The owners Mari and Lou and thoughtful and generous hosts. Each room is uniqe, designed to provide you with the comforts you want when traveling and they stayed true to it's Mexican roots. Each morning breakfast is served in the Comedor...fruit, muffins, omeltes, cereals, yogurt, coffee....yum! It's nice to meet other travelers over breakfast while still having enough privacy to do as you please. Each room has a pool to cool off in and waterfalls all around it. They will also arrange for a massage if you feel so inclinced. There are Myan ruins, beaches and the Tulum city center a short distance away. You can find shops with unique handmade items to bring home a memory of your stay as well. Everything at LSM was done with purpose. The designs of the rooms, hammocks, waterfalls, sauna, eco friendly features, and natural landscaping were all customized to ensure you have a fantastic vacation. Oh! And I can't forget Zoe, Rosie and Molly....their adorable dogs. They walk the grounds, but know not to go into guest areas or dining areas. They are the welcoming comitee! Mari and Lou's hard work and dedication has paid off. They offer their guests a unique experience you cannot get anywhere else. LSM is a must!

Room Tip: Suite #4 I believe has a king size bed on one side and two singles on another. And either #2 or #3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thanks for the kind words. You were staying in #4 for 3 nights and your last night was in #2 . This suite has a shared pool. Glad you like the accommodations. We are looking forward for your return trip with your Mom or bring your husband next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
19.1 km away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 96 in Tulum
929 reviews
25.5 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
26.1 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
274 reviews
22.3 km away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
25.7 km away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 96 in Tulum
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Property: La Selva Mariposa
Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our six beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms, one family suite w/kitchen, and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing