We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
219
70
22
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
70
22
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rafting trip white water rafting kennebec river hot tub the main lodge game room cozy cabins moxie falls rapids accommodations rafters maine moose lodging snowmobile loft atv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 333 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2020

We recently planned a family get together at Northern Outdoors to see our 11 month old granddaughter from Washington state. We have been there many times over the years and have always enjoyed it. This time was definitely different. When deciding where to stay, I specifically asked if the pool would still be open when we were there and whether there was a washer/dryer in the cabin we were in. I was told that absolutely the pool would be open and all the club cabins had washers and dryers in them. Based on this information we choose Northern Outdoors over the other places we were considering. When we got there the pool was closed and when we checked into our cabin there was no washer and dryer. We went to the desk to explain that we didn't get what we were told we would get when we made our reservations and we weren't very happy about it. The attitude we got was less than impressive. They basically said I don't know why you were told that, nothing we can do about it. No sincere apology at all. Without having any real choice we went back to our cabin, which we were told was the best one since it had just been renovated. We found that the couches in the living room were covered in dog hair. So I went back up to the desk and borrowed a vacuum so I could clean the furniture and the rugs for the baby. Other things we found during our stay in the "newly renovated " cabin was the upstairs shower drain was mostly clogged so you were standing in ankle deep water by the end of a shower. There were 2 mouse traps that we luckily found before the baby did and mouse droppings on the kitchen window sill. To top the week off we went to the restaurant in the main lodge for breakfast on Friday. The waitress never asked us if we wanted drinks. We tried to catch her eye for about 10 minutes but she continually ignored us. Finally my son-in-law went to her and asked for some drinks. She ignored us for another 5 minutes and finally came to take our drink order. Overall a very disappointing experience. In general the whole place is feeling run down. We will certainly never go back.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mikewB8045AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2020

Highly recommend! We had the best time at Northern Outdoors. My husband and I stayed in the Pike Pole cabin, and the cabin was great - super clean, very comfortable, and had a nice kitchen, sitting area, and restroom. The cabin has a spot out front for building campfires and a small grill and porch, really fantastic spot. We could have comfortably stayed there for a long vacation and it was hard to leave our 2 day trip!

The resort has tons of options for things to do - hiking nearby is great, we did the Moxie Falls hike (which is beautiful and easy level, more of a pleasant walk anyone can do including kids), and the Forks Area Scenic Trail (also easy, and really pleasant). If we had a few more days in town would have loved to try more of the long/moderate hikes each day, the area is great.

We booked a rafting trip on the Kennebec river, and it was outstanding!!! Our guide was Parker and he was terrific, taught us all everything we needed to know on the rapids and we all had a blast!! Highly recommend rafting if you stay here, it was so much fun and was a hugely memorable experience!! They provide a lunch midway through that was delicious, and the rafting center even has a photographer take photos at 2 points on the trip so you can still get souvenir photos without worrying about losing a camera/phone in the rapids =)

The resort also has a brewery/restaurant that is delicious - great food, lots of options, and a nice brewery. Great for after a fun day hiking/rafting!

All the staff here are friendly and really hard working, and the COVID protocol was very good. Everything was very clean, people were good about wearing masks, and there was sanitizer always available. The rafting gear was also all cleaned between uses, which made us feel safe about going.

Would absolutely recommend, the Forks were beautiful and Northern Outdoors was an awesome jumping off point for exploring the area and going rafting, can't wait to come back!

Room tip: Cozy cabins offer a nice private/quieter option that the main lodge
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laurenboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2020 via mobile

We were 3 couples staying in the “Bobcat” cabin. Large & spacious cabin with two kitchens, although the lower level kitchen did not have ANY kitchen supplies like the main level kitchen. Second fridge was handy. Be sure to ask for amenities, as didn’t see them listed online and every cabin is different. Washer & Dryer were a plus. On the downside, the cabin is in desperate need of a deep clean. Cobwebs all over the interior light fixtures, dead bugs in the window sills, moldy shower curtain, bathroom fan caked with visible dust. Outside the cabin is covered in spider webs, picnic table, chairs, decking & railings all need power washing and fresh stain. Honestly think nothing has been maintained since they were built. Deck railings loose. Smoke detector went off 2 nights in a row and had trouble lighting the gas fireplace. Repairs to smoke detector & gas fireplace were made promptly. Beds were comfortable. Only ate dinner one evening at the restaurant, and it was good, it was not crowded, as we stayed midweek. Direct ATV trail access, but a bit further south than we thought. Trailered one day to Jackman. We would return, but wish they’d improve maintenance and cleaning.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank snowedinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2020

The cabin was dirty, rundown and reeked of cigar smoke. The WIFi barely worked and there is no cell phone service. We went to the Forks to fish the Kennebec River. Not a place for fisherman who get up early. We were in need of a clean, comfortable place to stay, with a decent place to eat. What we got was a dump, that caters to ATV owners and rafters. The ATV's ran up and down the road at all hours, there was lots of partying/noise/drunks and the food was terrible. Fortunately our guides told us about an Inn up the road that had a good restaurant. We were stuck with Northern Outdoors Lodge, but at least we could get a nice meal. It turned out to be a lovely spot, with a beautiful view of the river and the restaurant was really good. I sure wish I had know about it before I made my reservations at Northern Outdoors. We never expected the Ritz, but for $200 a night, we sure expected clean and comfortable. It was an awful experience.

Room tip: Best tip - find another place to stay!
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jdemery48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2020

I had won a trip to Northern Outdoors through a raffle and due to the chaos of 2020 and some events of my own we were unable to book the trip prior to the expiration date. The gift certificate clearly stated that the trip had to be booked within the time allowed, no exceptions. Doubtful, I called to see if they were able to extend the expiration date as I did not want to pass up this trip. I spoke with Brandi who was more than accommodating and able to help resolve the issue. Not only was this a generous donation for a good cause on behalf of Northern Outdoors, but their kindness and flexibility thereafter is much appreciated. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank kmsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews