We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious well equipped property a bit out of the...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Ribchester, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hicksfrom...
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Spacious well equipped property a bit out of the way.”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Not too far from village but quite a walk and uphill on the way back without footpaths so not that close to village. Car really needed. Ribchester arms in village great. Shop ok for emergencies but don’t rely on it for anything out of ordinary. Turning to check in they are strict with check in times and there isn’t a lot nearby to fill in time. Lovely girl checked us in though. The place is vast. Almost too big. There is a lot that could be done with such a large space particularly in basement. Very well equipped though. Some of furnishings such as sofas in need of replacement worn torn not comfy. Some ok. Hot tub nice and table tennis fun. Didn’t use sauna or snooker but looked ok. Our grumbles were limited to mouldy showers heads that were blocked and the stalagtights of mound were very visible, insufficient if at times no hot water (they came twice to fix it) and no outside lighting to hot tub which was away from house down slippy icy slope. Also beware the amazing welcome hamper. We loved it until at the last minute we read small print. There are unrealistically high charges for failing to return bottles (£5) egg box (£1) etc. We nearly threw it all out and had to rescue it all. They take i5 from the high deposit to its more of a conditional gift of delicious things that could turn out to be massively expensive. Nice touch but the terms should be made clearer. All in all was ok but overly expensive in our view. We stay in lots of these places. For the money you would want hot water, clean showers and outside lighting. Maybe a better summer destination. Would book directly too and avoid Sykes who were quite objectionable over a few matters.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue_Rabb...
Loughborough
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I (party of 13) have just returned home after a week at this property. A really fantastic break.
Situated in the Ribble Valley, this place has it all. Gorgeous setting; loads of space in and around the property; great features including tennis court, sauna, jacuzzi, bbq area with fire pit, full size snooker table, cinema room, table tennis table!!!
We had five kids with us, aged 4 to 14 and they had a great time. You're in walkable distance from Ribchester village for pubs/shops and a maximum of 10 min drive from the beautiful Forest of Bowland but to be honest you could have a supermarket delivery and easily not move for a week!!!
Would recommend and would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful House for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful house in a great location and has been finished to a high standard.

I do have a few small quibbles though:

With so many people moving about in the house there was a lot of unintentional door slamming and the sound carried straight up the stair well meaning that anyone in bed was disturbed by the noise. Some sort of dampers on the doors would alleviate this.

The gas bottle on the (rather small) barbecue ran out half way through a barbecue and there was no spare gas bottle.

Although there was a good selection of kitchen utensils they were generally of a fairly cheap nature and there was not a single properly sharp knife.

We were happy to smoke outdoors but a covered area (possibly with a heat lamp) would have been nice to save us from the rain and cold.

It would have been nice to have had logs already there for the fire pit rather than having to go out searching for somewhere to buy them.

The wi-fi definitely needs a booster, or the router needs moving to a more central location.

These few things aside I would have no hesitation in recommending Somerwood to anyone and will almost certainly be making a return trip.

Ian Russell (guest)

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here at the beginning of June for our twin sons 30th birthday. It was a mixed bag of quests of varying ages of friends and family. The house can sleep 16 people but the twin room off the kitchen has no facilities and would have to use the downstairs loo and shower upstairs in the family bathroom. This is a pity as the room is very large and would have room for an en- suite. That said all the bedrooms are lovely and fresh with good quality towels and two white dressing gowns per room which is a nice touch as they were all used for the hot tub and sauna.
The kitchen is very large and enough room for everyone to sit and eat. The only downside is the fridge freezer , the freezer is very small and we could not get any of the frozen items we ordered into it. If this house is meant to house 16 people then a separate freezer is needed. The other issue is bins for rubbish the bins are very small and only one of each the main rubbish bin was already full from the previous people and only emptied every other week. Having had a big party we had a lot of food waste in four bin liners in the house which had to be the warmest week of the year. We managed to get these collected on the Wednesday but the bottles and cans of which we had many we're not collected so the next occupants would have the same problem. So,two bins of each colour would really make a difference.
The downstairs cinema room was great with a full size snooker table and table tennis so if the weather is not so good there is something to do. The biggest hit was the hot tub and sauna everyone enjoyed those.
The outside space is quiet large and my two year old grandson loved the cows in the the field at the back especially when they would come down to the fence near the kitchen it made his day. There is a fire pit near the hot tub with seating around and two picnic tables but it would have been nice just to have a few more comfortable chairs so you could seat nearer the house and be able to move in or out of the sun.
The house has beautiful views and many good restaurants and pubs in the area we did a couple of good walks from the house which took in some of those views.
Would we go again yes we would it does have a few niggles but this house is great for a large group of people and we all had a great time.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing