We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know how to cook!”
Review of La Providencia

La Providencia
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Zipolite
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located at the west end of Zipolite, close to Alquimista beach, it's a small restaurant full of surprises, great food, excellent ambiance, beautiful decor, and the best quality in all the ingredients, always trying to make our costumers have a memorable dining experience.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

This is an excellent restaurant!!! The cocoanut shrimps are not to be miss!!!!

We also had a fish in Tamarind sauce that was really really good

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 22NettaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 239 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018

Full disclosure, I've known Javier and Paco long before moved to Zipolite and opened the place, but even then I found Javier to be a warm host and Paco a thoughtful master chef. To the great pleasure of many, they translated that energy directly into La Providencia, bringing it to life with rare charm and impeccable cuisine.
Surrounded by the moonlit jungle, the space is an oasis in the night built upon comfort and cuisine, working first to make patrons feel at home, only to ease them into a flawless dining experience, where the open heart and carefree mind can freely absorb every moment of the meal.
The decor is meticulously appointed without being pretentious, highlighted by Javier's paintings, which only enhance the sense that you are walking into someone's home, somewhere that your hosts are eager to share their life's work with you.
The menu is varied and forces a cruel array of options, so it is probably best to go with your gut, make a decision and be comforted in knowing you won't be disappointed.
The fish and seafood is same-day fresh, so if I had to recommend anything, I'd go with that. Over the years, I've never gone wrong or been disappointed. Flavors and textures are balanced and work together without stepping on each other.
The steady sound of laughter and lively conversation is punctuated by the sound of clinking plates and sensual murmurs of approval, a complement to the visual artistry and awesome flavors on one's plate.
The love just shows and shows and shows. Hyperbole, you say? I can't say I don't have some bias here.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jimmymex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is now housed on a yard on the road to Zipolite beach. It looks similar to the roadside familyrestaurants in Mexico with a big corrugated roof over a plantfilled courtyard. However, the decor is eclectic, oaxacan angels, papel picado and huge, slightly provocative paintings.
The menu is heavy on the seafood, but their is meat dishes, salads and appetizers. All dishes have a regional flavour, but a distinct creative modern touch. The food looks pretty and tastes great!
Try the goatcheeseempanadas, subtle flavour in crispy filopastry. It doesn’t get better!
There is a nice predinnercocktail list, dessertlist is short but sweet and my only wish would be the addition of a few artisanal beers!

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Hampm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Because the last message is more than a yeur old i wilt gave a new judgement.
First time in Zipolite and of course alsof the frist visit to the restaurant.
Nice interieur, very friendly staff, good dishes. So, all the ingredients for a well tasting, pleasant diner allthough i asume that the menu didn't change very much in the last 5 or 6 years (after reading the comments.of years ago)
But overall: go there and you will have a wonderfull experience

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank pboumeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018

The fresh catch is what you need to order. We had the Tuna and it was the best freshest Tuna I have ever had.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank seascapeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Providencia also viewed

 
Zipolite, Oaxaca
San Agustinillo, Oaxaca
 

Been to La Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing