We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
452
37
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
37
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspousada dasao miguelplace to stayvillagebrazilcomfortseabeachinfluencemammalssnorkelingcoastalagoas
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 493 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2015

What a spectacular vacation. Tsachi and Jessy are just the type of people you are happy to support, and in return they provide you with a beautiful, easy, peaceful experience that you'll carry with you forever. The room was gorgeous, the food so abundant and delicious, and everyone working there is gracious, funny and lovely. I love their dedication to improving the lives of the people who work for them and the community in general. The natural beauty of the area is breathtaking, and swimming in that warm water is my new happy place. The ideal vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clementine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2015

Off the beaten tourist track, but only a two hour drive from Maceió through sugar cane fields and vast carefully planted forests of eucalyptus trees on the eastern coast of Brazil, Pousada de Amendoeira is a treasure of quality and tranquility.

Set right on the endless Praia de Toque, with nine extremely comfortable bungalows, it is the perfect place to unwind. The owners, Trachi and Jessy Greenhut have created a totally unpretentious oasis, at one with the beautiful surrounding nature. And way above what we expect from pousada cuisine, Jessy's love of cooking can be tasted in the wide variety of surprising and exciting dishes, served almost anywhere, at tables in various parts of the pousada or even on the beach.

The only negative is that it is such a magical place it is extremely hard to leave.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Peterosenwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for two weeks in early December. Tsachi and Jessie were fantastic hosts and all of the staff were lovely. From the moment we arrived we were made feel at home. Our airy and bright room looked across the garden at one of the most beautiful and unspoilt beaches you could imagine. It was absolute heaven and so relaxing.

Swimming is possible during low or high tide. You just have to walk a bit further out at low tide which is itself really enjoyable. You will probably be the only one around except at weekends when a few locals arrive (there are a few holiday houses along the beach).

You can walk to the local village in 15 minutes along the beach or use one of the Pousadas free bicycles.

There is no pool which is a good thing. Believe me. Before arriving in this paradise we were in Trancoso and witnessed the young rich brat pool culture imported from Sao Paolo.

The food is very good but a little heavy in the hot climate. They have a very big menu but there is not that much variety. We ate dinner there every night. Would have preferred more fresh fish and lighter dishes. There are other restaurants within walking distance but we didn't try any of them.

My wife got ill with a virus and Tsachi was very kind in taking us to the Doctor and translating for her. She soon got over it and was able to enjoy the rest of our stay. The house cats helped and of course the monkeys who regularly swung through the trees in the garden.

One if the pluses of staying here is that you are helping to contribute to the local charity - Yande Foundation which Tsachi and Jessie set up and which is involved in local education and employment initiatives.

We will be back someday.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank honestly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2015

Tsachi & Jessy, owners of Pousada da Amendoeira are a SUPER couple.

The first thing that comes to mind in the case of this special place, and this couple and wonderful staff is freedom, kittens playing in the late afternoon in site plants, on the beach with small crabs ....

The room is a simple and deliciously warm and clean luxury, good taste in decor (all about the place, relax and cool), nothing exaggerated, all done with crafts from the region, local residents and the mold of it all is the magnificent and unique view of Praia do Toque, they chose a specific place in very special beach ..... nothing artificial, you know when you feel that the staff really exudes vocation, talent, hospitality.

Everything flows naturally, walking babies, young couples, couples with many years of love, little babies. We have no children, but in Pousada Amendoeira everyone shares the space (a great feeling of spaciousness!!!) in great harmony ... is a delightful, relaxing atmosphere, where you feel independent and, at the same time, welcomed (Larissa, Wescley, Talles - sweet, friendly, intelligent, talented ..... they all come from the region, the small villages nearby, which is VERY cool).
The food is creative and delicious, have more specific Mediterranean influences and delicious fish, shrimp, chicken as creative tabules, couscouz, and they have also options for vegetarians. The environment is very warm, you're free to date, take a time for yourself, be naturally and naturally sooo well treated.

I've done courses in Hospitality Administration, never seen, in the world, in any accommodation, from simple to more luxurious, green technology been applied as they do there (almost goes unnoticed by the guests), and magnificent projects are taking place in the Pousada and out too (if you want to change something...well, you should stard doing it yourself - that's what they're doing, as I said, not only in the Pousada, but with communion and commitment to the local villages).

It has, in addition, the Iandê Institute, initiated by Jessy and Tsachi and the local people, which generates income for local communities, and, much more important, create environmental consciousness to everybody involved.
They actually do EVERYTHING to cause minimal environmental impact (waste goes to composting, natural energy... it's amazing what they managed to make (and maintain), with the community, with great effort and dedication.
You do not even realize that they do all this, if you want to be alone enjoying the room is quite beautiful, the beach, have a few drinks, be well treated naturally, you do not see what's happening behind the scenes.

Room Tip: Todos quartos são incríveis, o com o ofurô é incrível e uma vista linda, e o com a piscina privativa (não ficamos) também parece excelente!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2015

We spent some very relaxing days at Pousada da Amendoeira, which is right to be proud of its personalized service, delicious food, and privileged location on one of Brazil's most beautiful beaches. Would definitely come back for another vacation in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mardm926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews