We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$127
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$115
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Posada de Creel(Creel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
223
178
49
24
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
178
49
24
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslunch and dinnercable carposada barrancaszip linetour groupsoupspectacular viewsstayed two nightstrain stationrooms are basicrooms overlookwalking tourpaid pesosplenty of hot watertwo double bedsadventure parkwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 502 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Beautiful rooms with each having a stunning balcony view of the canyon. Close to train station, isolated and therefore, your meals are at the hotel. Food was average and drinks are expensive. The views are fabulous. The Tarahumara native people in the area are artisans with impressive basket making skills and historic culture. Hiking opportunities and adventure activities are available.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dekalbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

We had 15 people in our group travelling together through the Copper Canyon. All of us loved our experience at this hotel. The rooms are basic, but very comfortable and enough heat and blankets to keep us warm. I will never forget watching the sun rise over the canyons! Breathtaking views. And watching the early morning routines of the family living in the canyon was also very interesting. Great hikes in the area!
The food served to the many people staying at the hotel was outstanding given the need to serve so many at once. The waiters were so friendly, working very hard to meet our every request!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Noreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Mirador Hotel

The hotel is located a short distance from the train station and sits on the edge of the Copper Canyon offering spectacular views from all rooms. Because of its location guests stay on a full board basis. Rooms are spacious each with a pair of double beds. Rooms have an electric wall heater sufficient to take the chill of the February air. At an altitude approaching 8000 feet temperatures are lower than the sunshine might suggest; evenings are especially chilly.

All rooms have balconies overlooking the canyon. Sunrises are a joy to see. There are many steps especially to the higher floors. If mobility is an issue it would be advisable to request a room on the same level as the bar / restaurant.

Staff were invariably friendly and helpful. We found the staff here better informed than those at the Mirador's sister hotel, Mision in Cerocahui.

Meals which are to a set menu are of reasonable standard. No choice is offered but may be available on request. Drinks, especially wine is relatively expensive. Limited wifi is available at an additional charge suitable for sending and accessing emails. A courtesy bus meets El Chepe trains and takes guests the short journey to the hotel.

A number of tours are offered by the hotel including to the nearby adventure park and the town of Creel.

The Adventure park offers zip wires crossing the Canyon and a cable car which was not in service during our stay.

The Creel trip which we took includes a visit to the cave home of a Tarahumari family, a mission church dating from the 1700s, a waterfall and the town of Creel with its museum documenting the culture and history of the Tarahumara tribe.

This was one of the most expensive hotels in which we stayed on our visit to Mexico. The remoteness and location overlooking the canyon most likely go some way to explaining this.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies. There are no lifts. Guests with limited mobility should ask for a room on the same level as reception.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

You are a captive audience at this hotel and the owner knows it.

Positive: The location and expansive views are unsurpassed.

The first evening we thought we'd arrive later to the scheduled dinner hour. That was not a good idea. They had already served all of the hotel's guests. So, our food came out cold.

We need the internet for business; the reception was extremely poor and the cost felt like highway robbery.

It was about $300 USD per person, per night, definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: Every room has its own balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhonda123itsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Let me get this out of the way immediately: you are paying for the view! The view from each and every room and the hotel lobby is absolutely breathtaking. There is no denying it. However, the hotel itself leaves quite a bit to be desired.

Our check in process was abysmal! I mad the reservation on line through the hotel’s website, and received an e-mail confirmation directly from the hotel, however when we arrived, we were told that they did not have our reservation and that the hotel was completely booked. This was absolutely unacceptable! Especially because we took the El Chepe train and this place is in the middle of nowhere. We ended up getting into a rather heated argument with the hotel manager who insisted we booked through an agency, until we showed her the printed-out e-mail directly from them. Eventually, they accommodated us with a double room (we had booked a king but had to settle for two double beds). After speaking with some of the other staff at the hotel, this is not an uncommon problem. It seems that the hotel caters to large groups, so if you have a single reservation, it is not out of the ordinary for them to conveniently “lose” your reservation so they can accommodate the larger group. It really could be the only logical explanation, as we had a confirmation number generated directly from the hotel, yet they still somehow “lost” it? Anyway, after we allowed the extremely sour taste from the check in argument/process to subside we tried to enjoy our stay as best as possible.
There is really no town to speak of, so you are going to be eating your meals at the hotel (which were included in the room rate). The lunch we had was quite good (grilled fish with a chipotle cream sauce), but dinner was awful (overcooked, cold fajitas). Dinner was so bad, my wife picked out the meat to feed to the local street dogs. Breakfast was a pretty simple buffet. Not great, but not too bad.

The room itself was fine. A bit dated and in need of some general maintenance. The view from the room was SPECTACULAR! And this is what you are really paying for.

All in all, if you are going to take El Chepe through the Copper Canyon, then this isn’t a bad choice to stay, but we can’t really comment on any of the other handful of hotels. But if you book this place, definitely confirm and re-confirm your reservation before you arrive.

Room Tip: Make sure to confirm and RE-CONFIRM your reservation.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2kornsontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews