We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beyond Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casapapaya B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casapapaya B&B
Cleveland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

From my first contact with the owners prior to my visit to an early morning (5am) departure after my ten day visit, I felt like I had a top notch and caring travel experience at a fantastic price. Right away, I felt completely at home and safe and comfortable in their home which is so important when you’re a woman traveling solo. On my first morning they provided a great orientation to the city and its sights, restaurants, tours and events so I was comfortable wandering around the town on my own right away. Throughout my visit they made suggestions and helped me out by assisting with arrangements. And their recommendations for restaurants, services and events all turned out to be perfect. They really know their city well and go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful and memorable visit.

My room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and the breakfasts were fantastic - delicious and abundant. I stayed in the king room and there is a lovely sitting area outside the room which was great for reading or relaxing too. In addition there is a beautiful flower filled patio area just outside the rooms where you can relax or even have your breakfast or a drink later in the day. They are located in a very safe neighborhood and I felt comfortable day and night coming and going there. I was also able to do some laundry there which meant I didn’t have to bring a larger suitcase. You’ll love the dogs – Butch and Boo – they’re always happy to see you.

Stan and Julie create such a fun, relaxed, laid back atmosphere that you’ll want to stay even longer. I can’t recommend them highly enough. Trip Advisor needs to create a higher category than excellent just for them.

Room Tip: The rooms all looked lovely and spacious to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
29
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is the 4th time qwe stay with Stan and Julie. This time we brought our two grown kids and girl friends for a week.
It was like staying in our own home except better.
The morning walks with the dogs, excursions to the hot springs, drinks on the roof watching the sunsets and dinners with our hosts. It was perfect.
We even did our wash before moving to our next destination

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jppz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Casapapaya was our last stop on our 2 week tour thru Mexico's western highlands/Colonial Towns. I had reserved in advance with Julia after research on trip advisor. Before even leaving Canada Julia provided a bunch of really helpful info. in order to assist us to navigate our way from Mexico City by bus to the bus station in San Miguel De Allende and then by taxi to Casapapaya (taxi directions in Spanish). On arrival we were warmly greeted by Julia who welcomed us into her beautiful oasis and from the get-go we were treated like family! We were served a cool drink, met her 2 lovely dogs (Butch and Boo, the latter still a pup) and once settled into our comfy room were provided with orientation info., like local bus transportation, places to eat, sites to see, etc. During all of this Julia's partner, Stan (an expat Brit from London), arrived and what a gregarious, warm and helpful guy he turned out to be! With both Julia and Stan we enjoyed many a lively discussion over the 5 days we were in their home . . . it really was as if we had always known them.
We were served wonderful breakfasts in the beautiful courtyard (or in the kitchen if the weather was too cool for outside) of just about anything we wanted with Stan doing most of the cooking while Julia made sure all the bits went properly together. Loads of fresh fruit, breads, cereal, coffee/tea, juice and anything hot requested!! The walk to and from downtown, which we did most of the time, was essential to burn off the great food.
Stan and Julia gave us tons of advice on what to do and see and even drove us or walked with us to some of the places suggested, like the Tuesday Market or the Botanical Garden (what a gem this is!) . . . we would have not seen these if not for Stan/Julia. Stan even took us shopping one day and to the bus when we left...what a guy!
When our stay came to an end it was soooo difficult to say goodbye to our SMA "family"! We would return to Casapapaya in a heartbeat and would HIGHLY recommend a stay here for anyone who enjoys a casual, caring, family atmosphere...Unbeatable!!
THANKS Julia and Stan. We will stay in touch.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbw2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you are looking for a welcoming, laid back atmosphere with clean, comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast look no further! Stan and Julie (and Butch) welcomed us with warmth and even hugs. Although they never planned on opening a B&B, they are the perfect couple to own such a place. We only stayed 2 night but left feeling as if we had made new friends. We all went for a walk towards the botanical gardens one morning and later Stan cheerfully dropped us off at the bus station. Certainly this is going above and beyond what was expected. That is what makes them such great hosts!

PS....Butch (the dog) is not allowed into the area of the house where guests stay so do not worry about allergies. My husband is allergic and he had no problems.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzkaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I spent a week with Stan and Julie in July. We had such a great time we came back for our Christmas vacation! We feel so comfortable there, like we're staying with good friends. Stan and Julie are so accomodating and helpful. They really want to make your stay in San Miguel an unforgettable experience. We highly recommend this laid-back B & B!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynJacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our staff at Casapapya. Julie, Stan and their dog Butch were all very friendly, full of local information and great tips for events, activities and attractions. The room we stayed in had its own bathroom and a very comfortable Queen sized bed. The decor at their B&B was very colorful and we greatly enjoyed the outdoor courtyard for relaxing and getting some sun. Each morning and evening we got together with our hosts to talk over the days events and plan the next days activities. Stan got up each morning to prepare our breakfasts and they were very accomodating for our individual tastes.

It is the personal touches that Stan and Julie add to the experience that truly make the trip unforgetable. We highly recommend Casapapya for couples, small families or for those that just want to get away and forget about life's troubles for a little while.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojaicoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

As previous reviewers wrote repeatedly, Casa Papaya itself is an unforgettable experience. The hospitality of the hosts, Julie and Stan makes the place so special and unique that any traveler will leave SMA with an unforgettable memory in his or her heart. Honestly I enjoyed their company much more than SMA itself.

Casa Papaya is located in a quiet and relaxing residential area, so that you don’t have to worry about street noise. It takes about 10 minutes on foot to the center of the town, which was quite a pleasant walk through narrow winding streets. Coming back from the center may be difficult for some people, since the house is up in a steep heel, but you can take easily a taxi, which costs only 30 Mexican pesos or so.

They have two rooms: the King and the Queen. Both rooms are great, spacious, well equipped and exquisitely decorated. The house has a small patio filled with bugambilias, and other plants, a huge kitchen, which they allow you to use, a dining area in front of the kitchen where you can lounge around.

Breakfast is also great. They serve you freshly brewed coffee, orange juice, bread, fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, eggs of your choice, bacons and sausages.

They allow you to use their garage free of charge, so it is very convenient for those who travel by car.

I totally agree with the reviewer who wrote: Casa Papaya is a wonderful experience created by two great hosts.

Room Tip: They have two rooms and both are great. The Queen room has a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humble_drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#21 of 66 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 km away
Mision San Miguel de Allende
Mision San Miguel de Allende
#19 of 66 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 km away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#9 of 66 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 66 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 km away
Shangrila Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Shangrila Boutique Bed & Breakfa...
#29 of 131 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.2 km away
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
#8 of 131 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casapapaya B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casapapaya B&B

Property: Casapapaya B&B
Address: Callejon de Alcocer # 11, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely B&Bs working together in quiet Mexican neighborhood close to movies, Tuesday market, and Botanical Gardens. Great beds. Quiet rooms. Wifi, full breakfasts, beautiful gardens, help with tours, spa services, and transportation needs. Can accommodate children. Three rooms in Casa Papaya and two in Casa Papaya Secreta. Friendly dogs. Breakfast separately or together as you choose. Easy walk to Centro down hill. Come and join us Julie & Stan, with new partner, Laura. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing