We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back & Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laid Back & Friendly”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel from the outside looks nothing very special at all, BUT when you walk through the doors everything is revealed. It is quaint authentic and quite special. You must must remember to book a Junior Colonial Suite as some of the rooms are a little difficult to get to. At night the area is cold but in the morning it soon warms up. The town can only be described as boutique like, loads & loads of small shops – the food is excellent virtually everywhere you go, the tequila is fabulous; the people everywhere are so friendly and very helpful – highly recommend the town & hotel

Room Tip: Junior Colonial Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear David J,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are grateful to know that you liked our Junior Colonial Suites, and the overall quaint ambiance of Casa de Sierra Nevada and San Miguel de Allende. We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    82
    27
    24
    7
See reviews for
97
318
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad de México, México
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Last time I was in San Miguel de Allende was... too long ago and driving back to the city made me realize I have to go back...again & again. Loved the Hotel, it was described to me "with a sense of place" and that is what you take back.... . Having experienced the culture, the local flavours, the people.... I am Mexican and absolutely loved this place. Great service, attention to detail and beautiful rooms!

Room Tip: The rooms with your private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Kcm69,

Thank you for let us be your hosts at San Miguel de Allende! We are glad to know that you enjoyed the charm of our Hotel, and that you discovered what this beautiful destination offer to its visitors! We are honored to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed at Casa de Sierra Nevada for 5 nights last week. It is truly a magical place located within easy walking distance of everything you'll want to see during your visit. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I'd strongly recommend taking a class at the Sazon cooking school and definitely try out the Andanza restaurant, both part of the hotel. There are many other great places to eat throughout San Miguel and lots to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear javerick,

We were delighted to welcome you both last week! As you said, Casa de Sierra Nevada has a privileged location in San Miguel, it’s also good to hear that you enjoyed our cooking classes and Andanza. Thank you for your kind comments, we will share them with our staff. There is no better motivation for our team than that of a job well done.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Beautiful Hacienda Style Hotel in fabulous location in centre of town. An easy walk to huge variety of attractions, restaurants,shops and galleries. We stayed three nights over our 20th Wedding Anniversary and the staff decorated our room in rose petals! Our room was accessed through a private courtyard, it didn't feel like a hotel at all, more like a private apartment. A quiet oasis....but be prepared for those church bells. All the staff were great but special mention to Israel who makes an awesome margarita, and really knows his Tequilas. Breakfast was fabulous, Try the Huevos Rancheros! Number one must do in town is to go to Rancho Xotolar, don't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Lisa J,

We are grateful to know that you liked our Colonial Style “Casas”; most of our rooms are distributed in a way that gives this feeling of intimacy. We will pass on your kind comments to Israel. Thank you for choosing Casa de Sierra Nevada to celebrate your 20th Anniversary, and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

LOCATION: In the middle of beautiful San Miguel's downtown. Two blocks from the Jardin in one of the most beautiful streets in town, surrounded by great restaurants, galleries and all the attractions. Rooms are located in different beautiful colonial houses.

SERVICE: Hotel's reception is in a small office in the street's corner. Front desk-concierge staff (Guest Relations) is efficient and well trained. We arrived before check-in time and our asigned room was not ready, so instead of making us wait, they gave us an upgrade! After checking in they give you a tour of the property and take you to your room. The special mention is for housekeeping department: What an amazing job with the daily cleaning and the impecable turndown service. Housekeeping ladies have always an smile for you and their attitude and commitment to service is the best i've ever experienced around the world!

FOOD: At the time of our visit, only the main restaurant was in function as the one in ¨Casa del Parque¨ was being remodeled. We booked a package which included breakfast. I didn't like that we were told which dishes we could order from the menu, just 2 kinds of eggs or chilaquiles or pancakes, so if you stay for several days it could get boring. The food was not as spectacular as we expected in terms of flavor and presentation, although sweet rolls, coffee and the green juice were great. Service from waiters is efficient and discrete.

ROOMS: All of the rooms are quite different in size, location and decoration. We got a superior room with a terrace overlooking the Parroquia. Decoration is tasteful and linens and towels are of the best quality. Amenities are not luxurious like Hermés or Bvlgari, instead they chose organic products from local producers, which is a nice touch. There are a lot of great details as a fireplace, Nespresso machine, Bose sound system and DVD player. Maybe they shouldn't charge for the movies in the catalogue to watch in your room. Overall, our room was really comfortable, impecable and spaceful.

COMMON AREAS: There's not really a lobby, but different living areas around the houses, all tastefully set up. Business center is small but functional. Swimming pool is a beautiful place to spend some relaxing time, the only complaint is that the first day water temperature was perfect but next day it was much colder and not so enjoyable.

OVERALL: This is one of the most tasteful and comfortable hotels we've ever been in Mexico and the world, located in the beautiful and magical town of San Miguel de Allende, so the whole experience of being here is trully magnificient. You won't regret going there and experiencing a slice of the good life.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear voyagean78,

Greetings from Casa de Sierra Nevada! Thank you for your detailed comments about the properties, we are sure your opinion will be truly helpful for many other visitors.
Regarding your comments about the food, we are able to accommodate any special requests particularly when our guests are staying for a long time. About the amenities in the rooms, we have a strong commitment to help our communities; at the Spa we also have local organic products. It is a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed the stay with us and look forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Casa de Sierra Nevada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Exactly what you would expect of 5 Star colonial accommodation.
Many original decorations, perfect balance of tasteful Mexican design and modern comfort.
The hotel has various buildings within the town. All are well located.
Breakfast in the courtyard by the pool was exceptionally memorable, best 'huevos rancheros' ever!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have these fantastic looking copper bathtubs. Recommend ;D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexic0Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Mexic0Max,
Greetings from beautiful San Miguel de Allende! Thank you for sharing your complimentary comments. We are very happy to hear you had a memorable experience! We look forward to welcome you again in your home away home.

Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed at the Casa Limo (Suite 441) for 3 nights. What a magical place!! Plenty of space, comfortable bed, great bathroom, Bose iPod stereo, Nespresso coffee maker, private patio all make this a relaxing place from which to explore San Miguel. And it is two (long) blocks from the Cathedral and the Jardin.

The staff is great and very responsive. The restaurant (across the street in our case) is wonderful, whether you choose the courtyard or to eat inside.

Oh, and the pool in the inner courtyard is also great if you choose to use it.

I cannot over-recommend this property. It is a gem.

Room Tip: Our junior suite was perfectly adequate. If you want something "out of this old" look into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnTraveller2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear CdnTraveller2Go,
Thank you for your kind comments. We feel honored to know you really enjoyed your stay in your “home away home” in the beautiful town of San Miguel de Allende. We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 km away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
145 reviews
0.3 km away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
243 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
206 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
555 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Property: Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada is a mixture of 16th to 18th century Spanish colonial buildings, located one and one-half blocks from the cathedral and main city square of San Miguel de Allende. Its 37 rooms and suites are spread amongst six colonial mansions.Each casona, or mansion, which features five to seven guest rooms or suites, is unique. Many feature outdoor courtyards with fountains, small gardens and al fresco corridors. Guests do not have the feeling of being in a hotel at all. Rather, they are integrated into the town itself, making for a true cultural immersion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing