We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
255
50
39
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
50
39
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel infinity pool enrique olvera wine pairing malin and goetz sliding glass air conditioning and heat upstairs bar amazing artwork hotel is fantastic nespresso machine in the room architectural design deep tissue massage called the front desk restaurant staff continental breakfast lovely boutique
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 381 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

We spent Christmas 2017 in this beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. First class service from check in until check out. Well appointed, cozy and quiet rooms, some with gorgeous views of the landscape. The on-site restaurant 'Moxi' is just fabulous and serves a first class continental breakfast with option for a full breakfast should you choose. Atmosphere at Moxi for breakfast, lunch or dinner is fantastic...when weather is warm the sliding glass doors are opened and it becomes indoor/outdoor dining. The restaurant staff is superb! The location can't be beat...less than 5 minute walk to many other great restaurants, shops and art galleries. Bring good walking shoes as the streets are old cobblestone (which adds to the character of this beautiful city!)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

The holidays are truly a special time in San Miguel, and we’re so pleased you spent them with us. I shared your kind remarks with our staff, who work so hard to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. Please come back again next Christmas – or sooner!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

I flew into Leon drove to San Miguel and arrived at a really lovely peaceful hotel in the middle of the central of this ancient city. The city is really charming with it’s colonial architecture. It’s quite hilly which adds to it’s beauty. The hotel is modern, with unique art in the common areas. The room was very clean it had air conditioning and heat which is not always found in the older hotels. There is a bar which serves very nice drinks and a lovely restaurant, which we had dinner at. They have a small outdoor pool which is not heated but probably doesn’t need it most of the year. I used the spa as well and it was wonderful. A great location and very lovely hotel

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lambs4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

San Miguel makes for an excellent weekend escape! We’re pleased you enjoyed our boutique hotel and made such good use of our amenities – from Moxi restaurant and Spa Matilda to Mui bar. We hope you’ll plan another visit soon.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018

Stunning room with a working fire place, a cosy nook overlooking the garden, the pool, and the city, and then small luxuries like Netflix on the TV and a nespresso machine in the room. Loved staying here!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anterthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

We created Hotel Matilda with guests like you in mind – sophisticated travelers seeking a true boutique experience in the heart of colonial San Miguel. And you’re absolutely right: it’s the “small luxuries” that add up to a perfect stay! Please come again.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 week at Hotel Matilda. Had a lovely room with a great view of the pool. Service was outstanding, especially at the Front desk to housekeeping. Particularly Gustavo, Maria Jose and Javier were exceptionally helpful throughout our stay.
Meals were had at Moxi where the food was delicious but service was very variable. One day we would be served quickly, the next day, one hour later. I found it odd that in a hotel that stresses customer service, that frequently during meals the waiters would be carrying heavy boxes across the dining room, or moving the couches to get items hidden behind them needed for meals or lastly dusting the counters with a rag while we are eating??? The restaurant service can make/break whether you stay in a hotel...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ajltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Thank you so much for celebrating your daughter’s birthday with us. Your review and comments are very important to us, and we will be sure to share them with our staff. We hope you’ll join us in the future for another celebration.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

The entrance is underwhelming until you step into the lobby from a big door in the street , they greet you by name usher you into rooms designed by some Mexican Da Vinci with lush bedding, spacious ensuite and a bath fir for royalty. the restaurant is like stepping into Architectural Digest and the catch of the day waters the mouth, sets the diner's juices flowing accompanied by one of their fine local wines. Coffee is superlative, a must for a road warrior and the sheets are sublime. The staff were so kind to my injured girl friend showing rich empathy and concern

Room Tip: every room is unique and the pool, spa are all amazing
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

We are absolutely thrilled that you discovered our hotel – and comparing us to the Italian masters is high praise, indeed!! Matilda was designed and created to satisfy the demands of experienced travelers who recognize and appreciate the attention to detail that we present, from design to service and cuisine. Many thanks for your wonderful review!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews