We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
living room  with owners artwork
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room  with owners artwork
11 ft. clay/wood beam ceilings with handcrafted icapalli chairs Dining room with glass table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
living room  with owners artwork
11 ft. clay/wood beam ceilings with handcrafted icapalli chairs
Dining room with glass table
gas stove/oven with handmade iron stove hood
Breakfast counter looking towards dining room from kitchen
San Pasqual - the kitchen saint painting in kitchen
Laundry patio off of kitchen
Central patio with table and chairs
Patio view
Patio wall detail
Dining Room
View from kitchen towards front of house
Counter seating in open kitchen
Angel doors (TV cabinet) and fireplace
Master bedroom queen size bed
Master bedroom doors open to patio
Master bedroom brick boveda ceiling w/fan
Master bathroom decorative talavera sink
Master bathroom shower
Front bedroom patio entrance
Stone detail of interior front wall
Detail of front door with handcrafted light
Front bedroom twin beds (beds can made into a king).
Corner fireplace in front bedroom
Colonial chandelier and wall tapestry in front bathroom
Large soaking tub and shower in front bathroom
Cobalt blue decorative sink and talavera tiles in front bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Raul L
Escondido, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
4
people found this review helpful

House owner is a renown artist, you can see her hand in all the furnishings taste; some of her art is on display at the house as well.
The house has an open floor plan, tall ceilings, and excellent lighting, we found the property to be very clean and well kept.
The area where the house is located is not quite the center of San Miguel, but well worth the walk for a quiet, peaceful sleep. The biggest supermarket in town is within walking distance, also, there is town transportation to the center if you rather not walk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thank you Raul! You and your lovely wife, Ana, are welcome anytime and we look forward to your return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thanks for choosing our home! I look forward to your return visit in October!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura M
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Quiet Home Away”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

#38 is a lovely, open plan, colonial home on the outskirts of San Miguel - terrazzo floors, colourful furniture, white walls, beamed ceilings. The pictures on the website are very accurate. Surrounded by high walls on all sides, the house feels very private and secure but the sun streams in from three courtyards, two small ones in front and back, a larger garden at the side. We often left the courtyard doors open to enjoy the warm breeze. Although the style is traditional Mexican, the conveniences are all modern and in good condition - dishwasher, large gas stove, washer and dryer. Kitchen is very well provisioned. Gas heaters warm the main living area and the bedrooms on the occasional cold night. Lots of hot water - each bathroom has a separate heater, a bonus if you want to use the soaker tub. A note about the water in SMA - it's filtered not purified. In this house, as in many here, drinking water is supplied in huge bottles delivered by a company several times a week. My 70 year old husband was able to lift each bottle into place but it does require some strength. Although the house is not close to the centro, a local bus stops a block away every 15 -20 minutes and taxis are very inexpensive ($3-4 US). Because SMA traffic is terrible, the taxi ride into the center will take 15-20 minutes. However, the La Lejona area has certain advantages. The main one is the proximity to La Comer, the Costco style grocery store. After our first big shop, we popped in most days to pick up a few items. Across a busy road which we learned to navigate, are numerous restaurants. The area is also flat, no small advantage for us older folk and the sidewalks are concrete, much less treacherous than the narrow stone ones in town.The surrounding streets are an odd blend of nice homes, derelict empty lots and small businesses, on the edge of an upscale newer area. However, it all feels very safe and, except for dogs barking now and then, exceptionally quiet. A small sandwich shop, a pharmacy and a convenience store are within the next block. The owner responds quickly by email and she is represented in town by a wonderful housekeeper. If you want a quiet respite, away from the action downtown, but accessible to everything, we recommend this rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Laura- So happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return next February. You were an excellent guest! Thanks! Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
207don
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The home was as advertised. Clean, neat, good beds, nicely furnished, well taken care of, It was out at the edge of town, a 50 minute walk to Jardin. Good cheap (5 peso) bus transportation close and easy, and cabs could be found a few blocks away at the huge Costco like store called "Mega" (30-40 pesos). Perfect for you and a set of friends as the bedrooms were separated and had separate bathrooms, one with a shower and the other with a tub/shower. Gas fired small fireplace warmed bedroom nicely as our weather was much cooler than normal. Lots of windows, Patio narrow and long but pleasant place to share wine and cheese . . . . or gin and vodka, for that matter. No surprises and manager was available when needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kun-2002
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it, for the house's design and well equipped rooms, the professional booking/service, and lastly, the great value at attr”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Excellent. House is very clean. Layout of the rooms and patio are great. The whole house feels like a sun room with beautifully potted flowers in 3 patios. There is a yellow follower tree in the front if the house, attracting many song birds that wake you up in the morning. That was a wonderful experience. The owner left 2 cell phones so renter can use them after buying credits from local store. Kitchen is fully equipped too. This place is in a quiet neighborhood so one can have peaceful time for the night until singing bird and sun shine wake one up. Owner Diane is very professional and responsive, which made the booking easy. The maid kept the house spotless. A A+++ place to stay for San Miguel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hikinchic...
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful, quiet house on the edge of lovely San Miguel”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
9
people found this review helpful

Recently my parents, two friends, and I, stayed here, and had a wonderful time. It was very cute, very clean, and my bed was comfortable. I loved being able to leave the windows open at night and sleep in the cool air! We used the gourmet kitchen to cook breakfast almost every morning, and one night to cook one of the sauces I had learned earlier that day at a cooking class in town.

It's not within easy walking distance of most of what people tend to do in SMA, but it's also not far. We took taxis most of the time (especially to places like the hot springs - but they're a good distance outside of town), and once we figured out the bus, took it into town a few times. Calling the taxi was easy, even with our limited Spanish. Most everyone in SMA in the tourist industry speaks at least passing English. I'm afraid we overpaid for the taxi a few times, but we eventually figured that out.

What IS within walking distance, however, is the Mega - - a large grocery store with just about everything you could ever possibly need in it. They had beer and wine, the usual groceries, and a very large section of ready-to-eat foods you could load up on. There were some restaurants and a couple of bars; and some torta stands and the like, all within easy walking distance. Since we were there for not quite a full week, however, we never did get a chance to try any of them. If I were to go back, though! Brazilian meat-on-a-stick catty-corner from the Mega; a chicken place that was busy, busy on Sundays that looked pretty tasty (a chain of some sort); and a couple of little cantinas.

I would definitely stay here again - what a bargain for the money! If you're traveling as a small group (we had 5 adults), this is perfect. Two full bathrooms, two bedrooms (our 5th person slept on a futon in the "office" area), a large living room/dining room/kitchen, and the patio. I spent less than $20 a night for my share! I can't remember the last time I could say that about anywhere I went that had electricity!

San Miguel is of course wonderful. If you're looking for a place that's quiet and private; like to do your own cooking (at least some of the time); need two bedrooms; and are willing to spend a few pesos to take the bus (or more to take a taxi), this is your spot. Especially if you'll be in town for more than a few days. If I were staying two weeks are more? This place would have been even better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the house was cute and roomy!
Liked least: That I couldn't walk home from dinner in central
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing