We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viewpoint Nong Khiaw/Ban Sop Houn
Save
The Grand Tribal Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
US$5,190.51
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Viewpoint Nong Khiaw/Ban Sop Houn
from US$5,190.51
More Info
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
257
46
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
257
46
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 308 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Climbing up the way to this viewpoint requires a good condition. But when you are up there on top, all the sweating is forgotten.

We were in Nong Khiaw in February, hence the footpath was dry and in good shape. I can imagine how slippery it will be in rainy season!

On top the view is magnificent!!
We were up there in the late afternoon and spend some time there alone. But later it got crowded with the people climbing up here for the sunset.

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank JSEZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

I went up both of the popular viewpoints in Nong Khiaw on the same day. I first did the new one (Nang None) which is 15000 entry and I hiked up to what they call "viewpoint two", which is somewhat higher than viewpoint one on that same mountain. The path is extremely rocky, and given that it had rained, the steep muddy parts were very slippery and involved holding onto a lot of trees and rocks. Especially during the descent me and my friend fell a few times. The view in the hut up there (god knows how they built it) was beautiful though!

Nonetheless, when we walked up the second original viewpoint (Phadeng Peak on the Sophoun side of the bridge, 20000) we realized that it was a lot easier to walk and had a (quite a lot) better view. Climbing it takes longer because the path is not so steep but rather a continuous path of small steps in the sand. The view up there is incredible being higher and with a much wider and better angle than the new one. Note that I would strongly discourage walking either of the viewpoint paths in the dark when it has been raining!

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

The view from this viewpoint is simply stunning. Do not miss it if you are in Nong Khiaw.
If you walk up late, keep in mind that it might be already dark when you walk down from the hill. Make sure you have a flashlight/torch (e.g. on your phone) with you, otherwise in dark it's almost impossible to come down through the jungle.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Tlovetotravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

Must not missed...

It took me 75 minutes to reach the Peak & 45 minutes when coming down...

Do wear a good shoe as the trek can be very slippery esp after the rain & sharp stones at the peak...

Paid $20k for Entrance but no water given even I asked for it...

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank alantan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

The other reviews have already pointed out that it's a muddy, steep walk that requires strong shoes and a decent level of fitness. A stick was available from a hollowed out bomb where you pay your 20,000kip pp entrance fee. Don't go if it's rained very recently, is raining or is about to rain. Insect repellent and lots of water will both be useful.

The views at the top make the effort worthwhile. We went late afternoon so had the top to ourselves before the sunset seekers arrived.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 50600ejea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews