We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe-inspiring to be among these gentle giants of the sea”
Review of Baja Discovery

Baja Discovery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Baja Discovery is a leading ecotourism company providing natural history trips and tours in Baja California Mexico, including gray whale watching at San Ignacio Lagoon, sea kayaking, pack trips to visit cave paintings, and custom tours and treks for birding and botany.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

You could tell right away on the 1st day of travel, how seamless and coordinated everything was going to be.
Angie Mulders' love and dedication to protecting this unique lagoon for the whales and why she is sharing this amazing experience with others is obvious...
Right away the staff made you laugh and feel comfortable. It is also evident why they are so committed to coming back year after year, they love sharing this adventure and are the protectors of this land and lagoon.
The local fisherman with their knowledge of the lagoon and respect for the whales is clear as they drive the pongas everyday so we can have this amazing up close experience.
The tent cabins are new, fresh, clean cozy cots with sleeping bags and blankets.. all you need.
"No Expectations" ... but, Our whale experience was amazing every trip out, mother and calves up close, 2 adults playing around the boat, breaching in the distance and we counted 29 spy hops one afternoon.
Can't with to return !

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank lazylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mother whales"
in 3 reviews
"grey whales"
in 6 reviews
"other guests"
in 3 reviews
"these gentle giants"
in 3 reviews
"whale experience"
in 2 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 2 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 3 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"large plastic"
in 2 reviews
"fresh fish"
in 2 reviews
"octopus"
in 2 reviews
"angie"
in 9 reviews
"spy"
in 5 reviews
"cots"
in 8 reviews
"tent"
in 16 reviews
"lagoon"
in 17 reviews
"campsite"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

Baja Discovery has thought of everything! Food delicious, staff knowledgeable & kind, accommodations clean & comfortable! Flight fun & spectacular views of Baja. No camp is closer to the whales. Incredible experience!!!

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2017

Baja Discovery has figured out the perfect formula for visiting the whales, teaching us about whales (and life outdoors), outstanding staff, and setting. How do they make such amazing meals so far from anywhere? The night sky was undiluted by nearby lights. We had lots of laughter and moments of silent awe when the 'friendlies' visited the ponga. Bring kids. I should not have waited so long!

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank EllieBlack2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from San Ignacio Lagoon and 4 nights, 3 full days staying at BajaDiscoveries special Rocky Point camp in the Lagoon. I was travelling with Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), the organization responsible for helping create this biosphere, a regulated habitat for protecting this special birthing grounds for grey whales.

Angie Mulder, owner of Bajadiscovers, has the BEST location in the area, and has created a superb "glamping" experience! First rate tents, outfitted with cots and sleeping bags with sheets and pillows, plastic bins doing double duty as night tables, dustpan & broom to clean the sand which accumulates in the tent, shoe bin adapted to serve as pockets for stuffing clothing & gear, flashlight, and solar light. She has artfully used shells and whale bones to create artistic, meandering pathways throughout the camp.

All of her staff--including Mexican locals and whale experts--are knowledgeable, helpful, and soooooo friendly, truly enthusiastic to be working and living for 3 or so months in this location! Most have been working with Angie for many years! Their love of whales and hospitality are contagious! Even before you get to the "piece de resistance"--2 panga boat 90 minute expeditions per day over 3 days!

It is truly amazing that these grey whales are so friendly toward humans after having been hunted for centuries by man. Yet, mother whales push their baby calves toward the pangas--we were able to touch and play with them--and some of us even lucky enough to kiss them (including me!!).
I used my sonicare toothbrush to attract them--and it worked!

THe dining tent is a central hub of activity day and night. The food was varied and delicious--and Angie and the kitchen staff accommodate dietary restrictions, including gluten free and vegetarian. The buffets are generous, and every time you return from whale watching, there are snacks and beverages put out for us! Special last night margarita party with fresh and bbq oysters for our cocktail hour!

Very good portapotties and solar showers, and the hand washing station has 2 hand-painted Mexican ceramic sinks!

I had a "whale of a good time" and heartily recommend this experience and going with Angie and BajaDiscoveries!

Date of experience: March 2017
7  Thank moongemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Sometimes when you have sky high expectations, the experience can fall a little short. Not so with the gray whales of San Ignacio lagoon. The descriptions and photos are accurate but they simply cannot convey the magic being there -- the sight of seeing the whales approach, the sound and feel of the spray when they breathe and, of course, the indescribable thrill of touching them. Everything about the experience is incredible.

Baja Discovery also met and even exceeded my high expectations. As others have noted, everything is well organized, the food is delicious, the camp site location couldn't be better, the tents and cots are comfortable and the staff goes above and beyond to make everything special. The guides are fascinating people with interesting backgrounds and were a pleasure to meet. We were fortunate to have a great group in camp, but I suspect that this trip tends to attract people with a common interest in wildlife and a little adventure. I should mention that the shower and bathroom situation exceeded my expectations. The bathrooms were fine and shower system worked surprisingly well. There was always plenty of hot water to take a decent shower.

Regarding what to bring, be prepared to layer. We went at the end of March. The temperature was never extreme but it could shift from being warm to cool and vice versa as the wind changed. I had seen the group photos of everyone bundled up which made me think it was cold, but these photos are taken on the last day as the group is headed out. Shorts or light pants with a light windbreaker or pullover were all that was needed around camp while we were there. Also, we never really got wet on the trips to see the whales. When you travel to and from the camp, the boats go faster, so you may get some water spray depending on where you're seated. Sunscreen is a must.
In sum, it is an extraordinary experience. I completely understand why repeat visitors are common. We would love to return.

Date of experience: March 2016
7  Thank Laury B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baja Discovery also viewed

San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
 
San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Baja Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing