We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Location”

Review of Castle Lachlan

Castle Lachlan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle Lachlan
The Great Hall The Formal dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Castle Lachlan
The Great Hall
The Formal dining Room
The Rose Double Room
The Red Room Twin
The Green Double Room
Twin Room
Castle Lachlan Kitchen
Castle Lachlan Drawing Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Strachur, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jen L
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Location ”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We got married at Castle Lachlan last year, the location was amazing!

All of our family stayed for a long weekend in the castle and it was brilliant, so many different rooms for all us to relax in and catch up. It is the perfect rental for family gatherings! Even though it's an old building, it stayed warm and was in great condition.

We had a tipi in the grounds for our wedding with ceremony on the lawn, the castle made the perfect backdrop. Charlie and his dad were a great help when we had trouble setting up some the tipi.

I would highly recommend people to have their wedding here or come for a family gathering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
"Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Castle Lachlan and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charli-ro...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I got married here last year and it was simply the BEST!! gorgeous setting and wonderfully relaxed. The castle itself has the perfect balance of feeling really special but also comfortable! All the rooms were beautiful! it was hard to choose which one we wanted and once you have experienced the Aga, you might want to just stay in the kitchen!

Charlie was great to deal with and left us to it, to create our perfect day.

We can't recommend it enough!, and must also thank The Inver restaurant just along the road who not only served us one of the most amazing and eye opening meals we have ever had but saved us when we had a seating disaster! =)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the Aga
Liked least: loved it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenGall...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The perfect place to relax !”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here with a large group of friends and had a great time,

The perfect location (with no mobile phone coverage), excellent facilities made this feel like a home from home. We were very lucky that the weather was simply stunning but this is definitely a place to come to simply switch off from the hurly burly of life.

Only comment would be that there are no signposts and most of us had to ask local dogwalkers for the last couple of miles but that's splitting hairs.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were super comfy and it was lovely and warm.
Liked least: There is a tree in front of the house which just feels in the wrong place ;)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Castle Lachlan and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing