We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience

The cooking class in a rural quiet area, very beautiful and calming. It is a hands on experience... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2018
JujusPW
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing experience

We can definately recommend the cooking class with Green Kitchen. You will be picked up at your... read more

Reviewed September 26, 2018
GreDa
,
Ubud, Indonesia
via mobile
Read all 163 reviews
  
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
124
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class coconut milk rice paddies balinese food curry bali experience family house family business black rice pudding vegetarian class wood fire vegetarian cooking food market urab ingredients classes field
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The cooking class in a rural quiet area, very beautiful and calming. It is a hands on experience and food produced was the best we had in Bali. The dishes are simple but super fresh and full of flavour and can be easily adapted to meat eaters.

Thank JujusPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

We can definately recommend the cooking class with Green Kitchen.
You will be picked up at your accommodation and visit the Klungkung market firstly. Afterwards you prepare some fresh dishes together. Some ingredients will be picked in the garden.
You will learn a lot about the basic spices, balinese recipes in general and how to use the local kitchen techniques.
It was the best curry we ever had and we will try to cook it again back in Germany :-)

Thank GreDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

The whole day was so well-organised but the kitchen experience is the highlight of course. Set on the edge of a large expanse of rice paddy the simple facilities were comfortable and functional but still very traditional. The grass roofs withstood the heavy down pours of rain very well - impressive! Jeru our host took us through all the types of food and had good knowledge as a farmer as well as a cook. We were especially interested in tempe production (we didn't make it, but we could handle some very fresh blocks) and some of the spices that we had never seen before. He got everyone involved in a very relaxed way and before we knew it our feast was ready.

Of course the drive to and from Sideman is kind of slow (we came from Ubud, about 1.5. there and maybe 2 hrs back) but get Jeru talking and you will learn a lot as you travel together. Note that a different driver did the pick up for the group who joined us from Sanur but he was a local guy too, who stayed for the food (why wouldn't you, it was good food!) and also very friendly.

Thank JohnK9182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

One of the highlights of my trip to Bali. There was nothing more authentic as this. The cooking class is not your typical cooking class as it is under a shed in a garden, with wood fire instead of a normal gas stove. The experience was unforgetful. We even went for a walk through the paddy field to take some of the vegetables needed for cooking our lunch. The price of the package is reasonable. What I love the most is the tranquility of Sidemen, compared to the hustle of Ubud.

Thank Elle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We loved our authentic day in the open kitchen learning about Balinese cuisine, ingredients and spice combinations. We started at the markets to buy the ingredients, then to his beautiful outdoor kitchen in his garden with a beautiful outlook of the rice paddies. We made chicken green curry, urab, corn fritters and black rice pudding among others. Definitely a must!

Thank Annabelle200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We had no idea how our day would unfold when we were collected from our hotel this morning. We were first taken to the Klungkung markets which were very interesting and given explanations by our guide as to what the many different foods were and the significance of these to Balinese culture.
Then the short scenic drive to the village and family home in magnificent eco gardens with many exotic plants including vanilla bean, cocoa, jack fruit, passion fruit, lemon grass to bake a few. All with views across the rice paddies to Mt Agung.
The cooking class uses traditional techniques and Balinese ingredients. Food was varied and delicious.
I would highly recommend as a family activity or for anyone with an interest in food and tradition.

1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

We decided to go to the Green Kitchen after reading TA reviews and it didn’t disappoint.
Pick up for us was bang on time in Ubud, where we stopped off via one of the largest markets in Bali. Then onwards to Sideman to a family house, then to pick vegetables in the beautiful countryside. It was amazing to learn about family life, culture and food.
They have one day veggie (actually it’s vegan) and one meat, you can’t do both on the same day. It was very well run, we made about 6 different dishes..I never knew you could make such delicious food with veggie food! We left feeling full and satisfied. Will recommend to others.

Thank ChocoClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

We were picked up from our stay in Ubud and taken into the mountains in Sideman - just 13kms from Mt Agung. The family were excellent hosts and teachers. We did the vegetarian class and they made it look so simple starting from scratch with all the ingredients coming from the farm. Then we got to eat it - what a feast for the tastebuds!

Thank Halle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic day in the beautiful village of Sidemen. Right from our hotel pickup to the food market tour to Jeru's lovely farm and cooking in the open wood fire kitchens , it was a truly memorable experience. Jeru couldn't have been more patient with all our questions and treated and helped us learn about the wonderful way to cook and eat traditional Balinese food. The banana stalk soup was just lovely and every other item we made was just as beautiful with the use of the freshest of ingredients, straight from his farm. Will recommend Green Kitchen to anyone who is looking to do a cooking class in Bali. The experience along with the incredible views is surely not to be missed :)

Thank Somvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

Woooooowwwww.

What an amazing day.

Firstly, the food was hands down the best I’ve ever had. Literally everything you see comes from the garden which is incredibly wholesome and SO FRESH. Even the bowls you eat out of are made from coconuts. My favourite dish was the banana stalk soup. Closely followed by the gado gado and the tempeh curry.

I loved cooking with the wood fire ovens and preparing the spice mix with the giant mortar and pestle. Such simple ingredients deliver such delicious results. I have no idea how I’m going to eat food in Australia now that I’ve experienced the freshest food on the planet. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to come back here every chance I get

Green kitchen was the highlight of our trip to Bali... Suksma! Thank you very, very much!

Ps: bring mosquito repellent in wet season as I got eaten alive! However Jeru was amazing and provided me with a home remedy (clove & coconut oil) which kept them at bay.

Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews