We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage in lovely countryside”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage, from our neighbour's rose garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage, from our neighbour's rose garden
The house faces south and overlooks the village Snow on the Wold
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Rose Cottage, from our neighbour's rose garden
The house faces south and overlooks the village
Snow on the Wold
Sun on the Wold
Come in!
Living room, downstairs
The 'blue' bedroom
The 'purple' bedroom
The bathroom
The kitchen
Arriving from London, into Back Lane
Arriving from London, our north-facing wall at sunset
Our neighbours – Old Mill Farm
Our neighbours – The Rosewalk
The Horse and Groom – Our local, around the corner
St Nicholas – Oddington's beautiful 11C church
St Nicholas – Famous medieval Doomsday painting
The public footpath to Stow-on-the-Wold, across the street from our entrance door
Stow-on-the-Wold – The highest town in the Cotswolds
Stow – A town of many pleasures
Stow's long history – Site of a decisive battle in the English Civil War
Around Stow – Lords of the Manor, our favourite place for tea time
Around Stow, cycling at sunset
Around Stow, cycling at sunset – Stow's church tower is visible from miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Oddington, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
H M
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in lovely countryside”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My mother and I were looking for an autumn holiday at short notice and we wanted somewhere warm with comfortable chairs and good reading lights in case the weather wasn't good. Rose Cottage was highly recommended in internet reviews on these counts and lived up to the expectations these reviews had raised. It was clean, comfortable and well-equipped, and Wallace and Betty were as friendly, helpful and welcoming as other guests had said. We found the instructions for the equipment comprehensive and the guides to the Cotswolds very useful. Our only disappointment was that the weather was unseasonably mild and so we didn't need to use the woodburning stove! One thing that should be highlighted before people book, though, is that the staircase is steep and narrow - there's a rope hand 'rail' and using that my mother (a spry 85-year-old) had no problems with the stairs, but very young children or people with mobility problems might.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable chairs and beds and good reading lights
Liked least: Banging head on low doorways!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cosyteapo...
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming, well equipped”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Lovely cottage in typical Cotswold village. Very well equipped with obviously a lot of thought to the needs of clients. Great wood burner too and dog friendly. Will be visiting again

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudia w
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Perfect fairy tale cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is my second stay at Rose Cottage, and I hope to continue to stay there in the years to come. It is so charming—18th century, beams, wood stove in the original stone fireplace, decorated most tastefully in furniture and art—exactly what I want in a country cottage.
The location could not be better; there is so much beautiful countryside around and attractions to see. It is set in a tiny village with basically no traffic except for the people who live there, so it is QUIET. All you hear is birdsong. Sometimes mooing.
The owners have successfully tried to think of everything the renter might need. I never needed something, that I didn't open a drawer and find just the thing. Cold? They have extra heaters. Hot? They have a fan. Lots of extra blankets and duvets on very comfortable beds and pillows. (I do miss that pillow......) With the cool air, the quiet, and the pillows and bed, I slept like I haven't slept in months.
There are two bedrooms WITH GOOD READING LIGHTS. So rare! One European king (U.S. queen) bed, and the other has a double.
There is a lovely garden with a table and chairs (sun umbrella if you need it) The garden has birds and lovely flowering plants.
The house has WiFI that works like a charm. There's large flat screen TV in the living room.
Everything was extremely clean upon arrival.
In other words, I'm in love with the place.
Claudia Williams

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere
Liked least: Can't think of a thing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances11...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely lovely cottage, perfect Cotswold retreat.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here for a week in a May. It was a last minute decision and we only booked a few days before. Emmanuel was very helpful and the price was very reasonable given what a lovely cottage Rose is. I would recommend Rose cottage to everyone. It's beautiful looking cottage in an absolutely lovely location. We did have trouble gaining access to the key box but Wallace and Betty were very helpful and this was the only little problem we encountered during our stay. Rose cottage is very well equipped, it has everything you could possibly need. We found the fast wi-fi particularly useful. The beds are very comfortable as are the furnishings downstairs. The decor throughout the cottage is charming and it looks much much better in person than in the pictures we saw. The village of upper oddington is very sweet with lots of lovely cotswoldy houses. There are lots of good pubs in the area, we particularly liked the Plough at Kingham. There are also lots of good walks nearby including a footpath directly opposite the house that our Labrador enjoyed. It's a great place to explore the Cotswold's from or you can stay in and enjoy a cosy evening in front of the very beautiful fire. We had a really lovely time at Rose cottage and would thoroughly recommend it to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor of the cottage and lovely location.
Liked least: Key box - had to ask Wallace and Betty for help!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELT932
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous and authentic country retreat in a beautiful village”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Rose Cottage in Upper Oddington is a wonderful retreat for those seeking an authentic, peaceful setting for their holiday. My husband and I travelled via train with our 18 month old son. We were very fortunate that a long weekend booking was available as we inquired only one day in advance. Rather than emailing and potentially holding things up, the owner called us right away to provide details, confirm costs, and secure the booking. This was so helpful and we appreciated his forward thinking. The process was so smooth and easy that you would have thought we planned months in advance. The owner provided us with tremendously helpful advice on bicycle hire, grocery delivery to the cottage, taxi hire, and the baby kit available, which included a travel cot, small stool, and a few cute books (there are also board games for older children and adults). We did not take a car to the Cotswolds, instead we hired bicycles equipped with a child seat. The bicycles were delivered to the cottage within 30 minutes of our arrival, as were our groceries (note the town is so beautifully small, that there isn't a shop - only a gorgeous country pub with amazing food and equally good service). The cottage is located on a quiet turning within minutes of the Horse and Groom Pub. The cottage has a lovely location, and is very well looked after inside and out. The kind cleaner left us with a welcome pack of bread, butter and eggs freshly laid from her hens along with a welcome note. The fireplace had been freshly cleaned and was ready for use with cut logs and gorgeous smelling kindling. There were many kinds of tea (it's the little things)! Quilts for coziness, amenities for comfort, books for pleasure and for planning (miles of guidebooks for every taste), both an indoor and outdoor dining table to share meals by the fire or in the garden. Everything was so clean and comfortable, we felt at home immediately. All I could think of was "when are we coming back here?" We loved the country walks - the fresh air, the kind villagers, the delightful animals. We loved cycling (stretch after taking on the hills!). You can certainly drive and see more of the Cotswolds, but we loved living the slow life and delighted in our immediate surroundings. a refreshing mini break that we will certainly come back to again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAWizard
Up in Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Right at home from the first minute, and sad to leave 3 weeks later.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had three marvelous weeks at Rose Cottage and would recommend it enthusiastically to anyone. The The owners have furnished it for their own use, so it is very well equipped -- especially the kitchen, which we appreciated no end because we are serious about our food. We felt right at home from the moment we arrived, as the housekeeper, Coral, had laid in starter supplies of bread, eggs, milk and butter. Wallace Hedges, the jack-of-all-trades neighbor who looks after the property, had a rick of firewood and kindling on hand for us and a fire fully laid and ready to light on the hearth. During our stay they made us feel wonderfully looked after. The cottage was amply stocked with housekeeping necessities -- detergents, cleansers, paper goods, linens, flatware, glassware, and dishes. The bedrooms are cozy, and the bath compact but efficiently modern (and warm!). The owners have organized a fine library (fiction and non), and a very thorough collection of guides and maps. The cottage also has ALL the amenities of the wired life: phone with voicemail; stereo with an eclectic array of CDs; HDTV; high-speed wifi and (rare in a rental) a USB printer-scanner-fax. The owners are delightful to deal with and helpful in all respects; they made settling in quick and seamless with an amazingly thorough and thoughtful set of instructions, tips and explanations that amount to a complete “operator’s manual” for all the systems and utilities -- from how to coax extra hot water out of the shower to the time and manner of rubbish collection. The cottage's only drawback is a rather tight parking space that made us glad we'd rented a compact model! England was plagued during our stay by unseasonable cold, rain and snow, but Oddington is so nicely located that we could get out for adventure whenever a dry or sunny interval presented itself, then return to tuck in by the fire when weather closed back in. We managed to tramp almost 100 miles of footpaths, byways and lanes and visit a few of the Cotswolds' outstanding pubs and cafes. We also spent two days exploring Oxford, thanks to swift and frequent rail service from Kingham, only 3 miles from the cottage. Rose Cottage is also right around the corner from the best pub we found in the Cotswolds -- the Horse and Groom, whose proprietors' food and hospitality were such that we never needed to travel far afield at night. Bottom line: We have stayed in owner-rented holiday lets on four continents, and none compares to this adorable gem. Lord, we hated to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfortable sense of being at home
Liked least: Minuscule parking spot!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing