We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delightful - looking forward to the next time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horse & Groom Village Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse & Groom Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Oddington B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful - looking forward to the next time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

We first called in here for lunch on the way back home in July 2009, having found the pub listed in our Michelin guide. It has its own web site with photographs, together with sample menus and lots of other information. See http://www.horseandgroom.uk.com/

The place is clearly popular for lunch (in this case Sunday) and we were lucky on a glorious summer day to obtain the last available table outside. The welcome was warm, courteous and attentive, without being overbearing or stuffy - a fine balance that not everyone gets right. Drinks came quickly along with the menus, and our meal was served in nice time afterwards. My pint of Hereford Pale Ale was one of the best and most enjoyable beers in recent memory; too bad I was driving!

Our food was uniformly excellent, from starters through to dessert and coffee; all was well and freshly prepared using obviously fresh ingredients of good quality. A thoroughly enjoyable meal, helped out along the way by the wonderful setting, fresh air, sunshine and far-reaching views from the dining terrace.

We didn't stay overnight on our first visit, but based on our positive lunchtime experience, we did return in September 2009 to dine and stay overnight. On this occasion we were en route home from a week's holiday in Devon, accompanied by my partner's 80-year-old mother. As before, we received a very warm and friendly welcome from the owner, Simon, who showed us to our rooms and helped carry bags.

As others have noted, our bedrooms were quite small and whilst perfectly comfortable, it has to be said -- if any fault is to be found here -- that they are not the "star feature" of the place. Each was equipped with a tiny en-suite bathroom and shower, with barely room to turn around: but then you must remember that this is an historic Cotswold hostelry, and not the Holiday Inn! The rooms have lots of charm and character, and are in fairness of a size that the old building permits. The only valid minor criticisms, in my opinion, are that they could perhaps do with a bit of "refreshing" or updating; and a little more attention to maintenance and detail wouldn't come amiss. (I recall one or two small things like a wildly flickering table lamp on the landing, and a dead bulb in a bedside lamp which although cheerfully and immediately replaced on being mentioned, could've been avoided by a bit of preventative care). Also, as others have said, a few extra small in-room comforts like coffee/tea facilities would be nice.

But the main reason for visiting the Horse & Groom is to enjoy the superb food and drink in homely and welcoming surroundings: on our second visit, we sat by a roaring fire enjoying once more the wonderfully fresh local produce, cooked and served with obvious enthusiasm by Simon and his team. He has long experience in the catering & hospitality business, and it shows. This was one of the most enjoyable meals in a long time for all of us, and was accompanied by excellent local beer to start, and a decent, individually-selected wine list (none of your pub-chain one-size-fits-all pap here). Simon unstintingly helped us choose courses, proffered several samples to help me choose a whisky after dinner, and generally made us all feel appreciated and welcome.

Breakfast was every bit as good as dinner, and was served at the time of our choice -- no barrack room law about coming down before nine here. Our lie-in was much appreciated after a long drive the previous day, and we left late morning feeling relaxed, refreshed and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Majkic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    13
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

The location is perfect, very peaceful with great views. Just 30 Min from Oxford. The hosts where very friendly and relaxed. The bars where warm and welcoming, with a massive log burning fire on the go. Flag stone flooring and tastfully furnished.
The food was amazing. The evening menu a little limited but excillient, however a lilltle pricey. The price wasnt reflected when it came to the table lay out. Paper napkins!!.. A excillient range of wines, again rather pricey . The accomadation was a big let down. Came across as an after thought. The room was bearly furnished and the facilitys where very poor. The television was wall mounted 3ft off the ground so you couldnt watch. No tea or coffee making facilitys. The bed was basic and had very old blanket and sheets on it. The bathroom was up stairs and the stairs where a challange, even for us able folk. The bathroom had no shower, just a bath with a shower head that didnt work, the toilet leaked when flushed. The house keeping was a disgrace, the sink needed a clean, the bath needed a wash out before use, and the cobb webbs had cobb webbs on them!!. The towels could easily remove a layer of skin... Such a shame.. a bit closer eye to detail and this would be shore fire winner.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

My wife and I have never stayed at the Inn, but we have had many wonderful meals there. Simon the owner and his wife make you welcome as soon as you enter the bar area. We think that the food and service is fantastic. Looking forward to our next stay in the Cotswolds and dinner at the Horse and Groom.
Jim and Frances Wyllie
Brampton, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed here for one night and we were allocated a room in the 'cottage'. It was clean and the bed was ok but the room was a little short on finishing touches. No hairdryer, no tea/coffee tray, and the shower (we knew there wasn't a bath) was of the 1970's variety where only 25% of you is ever wet at the same time! We were also woken at 7.30am by a delivery van 1 metre from our window.

Having said that the pub itself was warm and welcoming, succeeding in broaching the divide between village boozer and restaurant. The host was charming and although we are both foodies it became a little tiring hearing which field the egg was laid in and the name of the farmer who reared the pig that produced our (delicious) breakfast sausage. We are all for local produce (it's our own living) however this was already written on the menu which sufficed. Our dinner was good, though not exceptional and the wine was well selected (how many pubs sell Gruner Veltliner by the glass?!)

We would stay again but hope that some of these little short comings might be attended to first. Hopefully the management will take them as constructive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laughtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

For a birthday lunch two of us decided to venture to the Horse and Groome in Upper Oddington. In the 10 minutes for which we were there:
My mother was shoved from a doorway by a waiter
Owners' wife was so eager to get away from our table i didn't eve have the chance to ask for the specials
There was one special which was not special as it duplicated a course already on the main menu
We decided to pay for our drinks and leave for elsewhere. A minium spend of £10 is recquired in order to use a card. We had no cash and the drinks came to £5.50 for two small soft drinks.
We were called stupid by the manager for not having carried around cash
We were also told that we had an "attitude" the moment we walked in the pub
ABSOLUTELY SHOCKING. This is an average pub with an unpleasant ambience ran my amateurs. They are out of their league both professionally and socially.
I strongly recommend going elsewhere. There is of course the Fox just down the road as an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pubofyearinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

A last minute night away turned to out to be a delightful long weekend.
Set in the heart of the Cotswold and is therefore conveinent to all those lovely Cotswold town and villages.
Wonderful food attentive service and a good selection of traditional and local ales.
The host also knows a thing or two about excellent wines which have been reasonably priced.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazurka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed here 2 nights over the Aug Bank Holiday 2008.
We had a standard room with shower above the bar area (some of the rooms are in a separate cottage next door).

This was our first time staying in the Cotwolds and we would definitely return to the area, although we thought the H&G itself was an average inn - perfectly acceptable, but nothing to write home about.
The manager and staff are very friendly/helpful and the inn is clean, but we didn't find it a room/inn you would want to lounge around in - definitely more of a base for sightseeing and walks. Inevitably, the nature of these character buildings mean they won't have all the comforts you would find in a purpose-built small hotel.
We ate dinner on 1 night here - service and our main courses were good; starters and desserts were nothing special and overall we felt the meal was overpriced (many 'pubs' in the Cotwolds are essentially restaurants behind a pub facade and charge accordingly)

Likes
* Friendly staff
* Location: Oddington itself is peaceful and pretty - do visit the church with unusual medieval wall paintings. You can walk to alternative inn The Fox. You are in easy reach by car of most key Cotswold sights
* Excellent local eggs, bacon and sausages (but if you're not a cooked breakfast fan, your cold or veggie options are very limited)

Dislikes
* Our room was small, but in particular, there seemed nowhere to put anything down so we felt we were tripping over our stuff. You couldn't close the curtains and watch TV at the same time, poor bedside lighting, no tea/coffee making facilities, no hairdryer. NB. As with most inns, there is no lounge beyond the bar downstairs - given the bar and our room were quite cramped, we felt there was nowhere we could really relax
* Evening menu over-fancy for our tastes (although The Fox is also a gastro-pub, we thought the food and atmosphere there was better for the same price)
* Overpriced accommodation vs. country inns in other scenic parts of the country (but this is a Cotswolds issue, as H&G prices were similar to other inns/B&Bs in same area)

Cotswolds overall
* We loved Hidcote gardens
* Batford Arboretum and Falconery centre well-worth visiting
* Several quaint high streets with that gorgeous Cotswold stone
* Pretty, fairly easy walking country
* The area is a tourist honey-pot, so you have to recognise that and enjoy the Olde Tea Shoppe experience.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Cramped accommodation
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWindsorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oddington
4.1 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
4.6 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
7.0 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
7.6 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
4.0 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Groom Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Groom Village Inn

Property: The Horse & Groom Village Inn
Address: Upper Oddington, Oddington GL56 OXH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Oddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To avoid confusion, please note there are two "Horse & Groom" accommodations in the Moreton-in-Marsh area. This one is in Upper Oddington, not Burton on the Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Horse & Groom Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Groom Village Inn
The Horse & Groom Village Hotel Oddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing