We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fireworks view”
Review of Cocina del Mar

Cocina del Mar
Ranked #79 of 709 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Cocina del Mar is known for its exquisite variety of fresh fish and seafood specialties. It utilizes only the freshest possible ingredients offered by La Baja, offering a light, simple, casual and progressive menu. We would call Baja, coastal, seafood restaurant concept. Is the best place for guests, owners and local visitors to celebrate life, love and friendship in a unique seating that maximizes views of the Sea of Cortez. Cocina del Mar embodies the simplicity and elegance of natural & fresh dining, the restaurant focuses on the pure essence of taste, with a genuine passion for providing an opportunity to slow down and indulge in a dining experience carefully crafted for the mind, body, and soul. Featuring local fare presented in a vibrant ─ bare style, such as tuna crudo ─ jicama taquitos or perfectly ripe heirloom tomatoes with tomatillo salsa. Along the menu a selection of local, seasonal, sustainable and organic ingredients; such as simple grilled grouper with a ripe-raw tomato sauce or small progressive bites offered directly at the table, create a freshly and wholesome concept. CDM cuisine is based on the product of the coast of Baja California, where Cortez Sea local ingredients are the stars along with seasonal fresh organic vegetables from Cabo’s near small towns. This Cuisine is highly inspired by Mexican flavors. A menu inspired in seasonal and locally grown ingredients full of Mexican flavors with some Mediterranean hints. A selection of appetizers from an Abalone with green tomatillo sauce, to fresh oysters with passion fruit ─ light spicy cocktail sauce. The Chef highlights the wide selection of La Baja ingredients, resulting dishes such as roasted octopus with peppers, avocado and toasted white corn or al pastor totoaba with annatto seed sauce and grilled pineapple. Cocina del Mar is already known for showing a real empathy with those vegetarian trend healthy eaters who can enjoy an oven beet salad with hibiscus vinaigrette or a pan roasted eggplant with pico de gallo and cilantro.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Great food and the best part is every Wednesday evenings, there are fireworks! One minute show and its gorgeous! Beautiful backdrop as well of the ocean. Food was excellent!

Date of visit: August 2018
5  Thank SADror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocina Del Mar A, Manager at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear SADror,

Muchas gracias! We are thrilled that you had such an amazing experience at Cocina del Mar!

I agree it's the perfect setting to enjoy Chef's delicious new dishes while enjoying the crashing waves in the background.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 615 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2018

Can't say enough good things about Cocina del Mar, my favorite in Cabo! Food is amazing, everything fresh. We had breakfast and dinner few times and every time was perfection, including my favorite martini recipe that they made for us. Thank you for giving us the best time!

Date of visit: August 2018
5  Thank EMPalomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocina Del Mar A, Manager at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear EMPalomas,

Thanks for sharing your great feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and support.

We look forward to wowing you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

A perfect place for a romantic dinner overlooking the ocean. The terrace is on a cliff and it is a very intimate spot.

Date of visit: August 2018
5  Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocina Del Mar A, Manager at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Muchas gracias, Eddy D!

Thanks for taking a moment to share. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018

My new fav restaurant in Cabo! This restaurant is located at Esperanza hotel, closest to Cabo San Lucas, and about a 15 minute drive for us from the Hilton. On beautiful grounds that hold residences and the hotel, we were seated at the best view in the house at one of six tables literally on top of the normal restaurant. The service was of course outstanding, but the food was among the most inventive we've had here.The fish preparation was so cool-- they wrapped it in plantain leaves, seasoned it, then baked it in packed rock salt (like you might do with a prime rib). We weren't leading toward ordering it but the waiter recommended it and I'm so glad he did! The flavor was to die for, along with my home-made red pepper flavor linguini with lobster. The wine list had a better variety of less than $100 bottles than we've seen here in Cabo, and the wine we chose was excellent for $70. Kudos to the chef, the sommelier, our waiter Antoniel, and food director Matias Martinez. We had a friend who recommended us to go, and the team made us feel very special.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Staci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocina Del Mar A, Manager at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear Staci V,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your excellent comments. We're thrilled that Cocina del Mar is your new favorite restaurant in Cabo!

Our team enjoyed taking exceptional care of you throughout the evening.

Thanks for posting and we can't wait to see you again on your next visit to Cabo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Incredible experience of mediterranean cuisine with spice of latin America. Very fine dinning, highly recommend buratto with avocado, mouth melting scallops, sea-bass.

Date of visit: July 2018
5  Thank Vahe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, Manager at Cocina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Muchas gracias, Vahe M.
We appreciate your excellent feedback. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocina del Mar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Cocina del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing