We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time share sharks ruin the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Z
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Time share sharks ruin the experience”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We bought a few years ago and nothing is as we were told. Wish I had read this article before I purchased.

http://www.bestresortsintheworld.com/villa-del-palmar-timeshare-fraud/

When we purchased a membership in the villa group we were told by a salesperson named Christina that as a member we could use the pool at both the Arco and del palmar. And for a few years we did. Yesterday we were asked to leave the pool. Today, a timeshare salesperson named Bill told us that some sales people are over zealous when trying to sell and stretch it a bit...we were advised to read the fine print...But for only 10,000 we could upgrade our membership and then we could use the pool!! I don't think so Bill!

Room Tip: Stay away from the timeshare sharks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZZZAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,115
    1,704
    611
    325
    186
See reviews for
1,655
1,828
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed a week at this resort. The staff are all very friendly and the whole resort is very clean. It's a very tropical setting with lots of palm trees. It's only a 15 minute walk to downtown Cabo. We did not do the all-inclusive so only ate one breakfast and one dinner at the hotel. The food was OK. It's a good hotel for families and is nice that it's on the beach. Timeshare people are very aggressive but you find that all over. Our room was very comfortable and nice to have the kitchenette. We kept our patio doors open every night and could hear the ocean. We made our own drinks and took beer in plastic cups down to the beach/pool area. The downside is having to pay for Internet on a daily basis and it's not for your room. Each person has to pay for their own Internet. It was our first trip to Cabo so it was a good starting point. Next time we will stay at a more private rental though.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better ocean view. Ours was partially blocked by palm trees on the fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsky931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Berenice is the most efficient and excellent person for solving any problems and keeping things in excellent condition at this hotel. Daniela the mesera (food server) is most excellent in every field. Highly recommend and happy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The villa del palmar was a good place to stay overall! The rooms were clean and nice, service was great! The food was not super but good price if you do an all inclusive. The breakfast buffet is great! Lots of variety! The lunch at the pizza bar is awesome! Skip the dinner buffet, go out downtown or to the medano beach club for dinner! Yummy! It was a great place because they have a nice super market, an ice cream parlour, and deli across the parking lot. If you do the time share package deal presentation, be prepared to spend 2 to 3 hours, not 90 minutes! We met our presenter at 8:45 a.m and were done at 12 noon and we did not buy the deal. They take you to a nice buffet breakfast and talk to you while you eat, then take youover to the del arco resort to tour. After that, you will be asked if you are interested and they will then proceed to show you the deal of the day. In my opinion I am glad I went through the presentation. It was a pretty great deal, but not good timing for me and my husband. I learned a lot and they were not that pushy, just persistent. Lay on the beach! Go to lovers beach for only 12 dollars! They take dollars and pesos in most of cabo!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tavtigtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We spent 6 nights at this resort in February 2012. I had found a package online for an amazing price and of course we had to sit through the 90 minute timeshare presentation. Which, by the way, is NEVER only 90 minutes even when you tell them you have another committment. Too much high pressure. We really liked the resort, the food, the barstaff etc. Didn't like the fact that you must sign for everything even though we were all inclusive and had our bracelets on. No cash at all....just like on a cruise ship. On our last night, we had the bill slipped under our door to review and had the option of filling out the paperwork and it would automatically get charged to our credit card. We chose not to do that because we wanted to pay cash. The next morning upon checkout, we had the correct amount of cash in hand and the desk clerk prints off another bill with a larger amount. Try to get them to explain why the amount went up from about 8 hours before (which by the way we never left our room or charged any additonal charges to it) was nearly impossible. They just kept saying, this is your new bill.....that bill is wrong. But to this day we don't know why it changed. As a result we did end up putting it on our credit card and now that we are home, trying to dispute it with the card company. Just be very careful.....they will try and scam you if they can.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed at the Villa del Palmar for 4 days in February 2012. Some noteworthy points:
- not very close to town: about 20-25 minutes walk to town which is doable during the day but taxis are advisable at night ($7-8 each way)
- Older hotel: The studio rooms we stayed at were adequately sized but older. American voltage so adaptors are unnecessary. Only one phone per room with no cordless/speaker and that too on the kitchen counter. Wi-Fi is 150 pesos per 24 hours and is terrible - could barely connect to the internet on Iphone/Ipad but managed to log on computer and then internet promptly crashed repeatedly.
- Ocean Views are great: we initially had a garden view on the 2nd floor but were upgraded to an ocean view which was actually quite nice.
- Service is hit or miss: Not upto American hotel standards. Initially was connected to a technician when internet was not working and he spoke poor English and not helpful at all. Then, on the 3rd day, we found a lizard in our room and so the front desk sent up one guy who spent an hour looking behind the furniture and removing every drawer in the room but couldnt catch the lizard. At that point, we asked for another room and it took them an hour to find another room and provide us with room keys. We were very upset because we had to repack/unpack our stuff and with the 2 hour commotion, we were unable to meet our friends at the pool bar to watch the sunset. Compensation was the room upgrade and 2 breakfast tickets
Restaurants: we only ate breakfast at the Bella California. We paid one day and had a coupon for the other day. Don't think it is worth paying $20/person for the breakfast buffet.

All in all, I don't think I will stay at the VDP again. There is too much hotel competition in Cabo for me to stay at an older hotel with questionable service again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rumesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It is a very nice resort.Well kept,and clean.the pool and beach are beautiful.Even the bar food was good.there is a secret gaym and health spa too.
Its on the beach,but about a 25 minute walk into town.The timeshare is high pressure, and a prescence all the time.If you do go,negotiate your freebies.There are few regulkar bookings.Most of the people own the places.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
903 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,124 reviews
2.3 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,757 reviews
1.6 km away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing