We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just returned from a fantastic vacation at the Villa Del Palmar. This is a time share resort so be prepared for the sales pitch. We simply said no thanks and that was the end of it so there is no need to be concerned with that. The view from this hotel is stunning. You couldn't ask for a better location. It is a short 15 minute walk to town or Walmart or a quick bus ride. 9.5 pesos.

The food and drinks at this resort are fantastic. Go for the all inclusive, it is a small price to pay for the convenience of not having to worry about the huge prices they charge for things at this resort. Keep in mind this is a condo type resort so all the food and drinks are top notch and pricey. No watered down drinks here. They require you to sign off on your bill which I must admit is a bit of a pain but you get used to it. Even if you wanted to go into town and eat it is worth getting the upgrade to all inclusive. For breakfast your main choice is at a fantastic restaurant right on the beach. You have your choice of the buffet or the menu. For lunch you can go to the main lobby bar or the beach bar which serves great pizzas. They also have waiters go around the resort and the beach catering to your every whim. For dinner you have your choice of the main resort which at night has a buffet (with theme nights) as well as the al a carte menu which I stated earlier is available for lunch, or you can enjoy the resort on the beach which has a Itailian style menu.

If I had to down grade the resort for anything I would say in my opinion the entertainment was lacking. It was no fault of the staff I have just been to other resorts with way more options and better shows.

Don't hesitate to go to this hotel and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WildWildWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,067
    1,673
    594
    317
    184
See reviews for
1,607
1,793
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lawn, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our family just got back from Villa del Palmar, Cabo, Mexico yesterday. It was my husband, my daughter, my son, and myself that traveled. We had a blast at this resort!!! What made it special...first and foremost the entertainment crew, they were amazing and really involved the audience at all times. My kids attached to them and didn't want to leave because of all the fun they were having. They actually knew each and every entertainer by name. We will treasure the memories of the whale slide pool, going snorkeling at Lover's Beach, parasailing, whale watching, and swimming with the dolphins. The two wonderful restaurants: Bella California which has you eating right on a balcony viewing the Sea, and La Tortugas which has beautiful decor and delicious foods everynight had us gaining 10 pounds!! Try the all natural smoothies at Bella California. Our room was a junior suite and it was very spacious for the four of us. We didn't need the kitchen because we had an all inclusive package, which is a great way to go!!! The staff and waitors were all top of the line and very very friendly; we LOVED Jose; the one waitor at Tortugas. This was our first time in Mexico and we definitely want to go back. I almost cried walking out of the resort doors. Til we visit again...Adios Cabo, you will be missed but never forgotten!!! Love, Emilia, Gaspare, Nadia, and Matteo!! Ciao!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at this resort last year and although we had a good time, I didn't think we would go back. My mom, who went with us last year and this year, really liked it and wanted to go back. Honestly, I was really surprised that we had an even better time than last year!

Knowing exactly what to expect (and not expect) made it really easy to enjoy. We did the All Inclusive again. I really recommend this if you're traveling with children (mine range from mid-teen to nine years old). It's so easy to let everyone eat what and when they want, and the margaritas just kept coming to my beach chair!

I can't give the resort 5 stars just because a couple of things are lacking: 1) the beds are too small 2) I really hate the theme nights 3) little things here and there where the hotel misses the boat. I wish instead of stupid (and pretty tacky) entertainment, they would just serve the various buffets. The food is surprisingly good, and especially when it's fresh off the grill.

However, I also realize that this resort is a TREMENDOUS deal for what you get and that I'm not paying 5 star resort prices. I think it's a great deal and certainly for families. I still feel that I wouldn't stay here if I were on vacation with my husband or with another couple. But for families with kids, you can't beat it.

Also, they've really upgraded the extras at the Towel Service desk. In addition to snorkeling equipment, you can borrow boogie boards, pool noodles and stand up paddle boards (that was really fun!!). We didn't have any trouble borrowing these items, sometimes we had to check back, but eventually we were able to borrow anything we needed. They are also super friendly with the towel exchange - never hassling you if you need a dry towel.

The beach waiters/waitresses are fabulous!! We tipped one dollar each time they brought our order, and between the six of us, they were quite frequent visitors to our beach chairs. The beach staff were also really nice about getting us umbrellas if we go to the chairs and the umbrellas were all taken.

The kids enjoyed the pool and the beach. We would set up at the beach in the morning after breakfast (really good, and tons of choice and selection for both the heavy eater and the light eater) and the kids would alternate back and forth between the pool and the ocean. They loved the whale slide.

Check in was easy and check out as well. The front desk was very accommodating about giving us a couple of extra hours beyond scheduled check out so that we could still swim and have time to come back and shower and change before catching the shuttle to the airport.

Overall, it's a great value and a great choice with kids.

Room Tip: We were in 2414 and 2416. Those rooms had a fabulous view of the bay and the cliffs. The only downsi...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank WorldTraveler201194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We bought a few years ago and nothing is as we were told. Wish I had read this article before I purchased.

http://www.bestresortsintheworld.com/villa-del-palmar-timeshare-fraud/

When we purchased a membership in the villa group we were told by a salesperson named Christina that as a member we could use the pool at both the Arco and del palmar. And for a few years we did. Yesterday we were asked to leave the pool. Today, a timeshare salesperson named Bill told us that some sales people are over zealous when trying to sell and stretch it a bit...we were advised to read the fine print...But for only 10,000 we could upgrade our membership and then we could use the pool!! I don't think so Bill!

Room Tip: Stay away from the timeshare sharks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZZZAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed a week at this resort. The staff are all very friendly and the whole resort is very clean. It's a very tropical setting with lots of palm trees. It's only a 15 minute walk to downtown Cabo. We did not do the all-inclusive so only ate one breakfast and one dinner at the hotel. The food was OK. It's a good hotel for families and is nice that it's on the beach. Timeshare people are very aggressive but you find that all over. Our room was very comfortable and nice to have the kitchenette. We kept our patio doors open every night and could hear the ocean. We made our own drinks and took beer in plastic cups down to the beach/pool area. The downside is having to pay for Internet on a daily basis and it's not for your room. Each person has to pay for their own Internet. It was our first trip to Cabo so it was a good starting point. Next time we will stay at a more private rental though.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better ocean view. Ours was partially blocked by palm trees on the fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsky931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Berenice is the most efficient and excellent person for solving any problems and keeping things in excellent condition at this hotel. Daniela the mesera (food server) is most excellent in every field. Highly recommend and happy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The villa del palmar was a good place to stay overall! The rooms were clean and nice, service was great! The food was not super but good price if you do an all inclusive. The breakfast buffet is great! Lots of variety! The lunch at the pizza bar is awesome! Skip the dinner buffet, go out downtown or to the medano beach club for dinner! Yummy! It was a great place because they have a nice super market, an ice cream parlour, and deli across the parking lot. If you do the time share package deal presentation, be prepared to spend 2 to 3 hours, not 90 minutes! We met our presenter at 8:45 a.m and were done at 12 noon and we did not buy the deal. They take you to a nice buffet breakfast and talk to you while you eat, then take youover to the del arco resort to tour. After that, you will be asked if you are interested and they will then proceed to show you the deal of the day. In my opinion I am glad I went through the presentation. It was a pretty great deal, but not good timing for me and my husband. I learned a lot and they were not that pushy, just persistent. Lay on the beach! Go to lovers beach for only 12 dollars! They take dollars and pesos in most of cabo!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tavtigtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,542 reviews
0.9 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
2.3 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,656 reviews
2.2 km away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa is a stunning escape for family getaways and romantic couple's retreats. Located on Médano Beach just one mile from downtown Cabo San Lucas, the exquisite resort offers the ultimate in lively entertainment, family-friendly amenities, indulgent experiences, and world-class service. Allow the sweeping vistas and gorgeous landscapes to render you speechless as you turn one of the 460 comfortable one, two and three bedroom suites, as well as private studios into your luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing