We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand the bad reviews!! - 219 One of the best at terrasol”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabo San Lucas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrasol Beach Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
1 review
“Can't understand the bad reviews!! - 219 One of the best at terrasol”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I just ahd a chance to return fome my vaction of two weeks at unit 219 at Terrasol, cabo san lucas.

I had read a review that wasn't very complimentary and I had to comment. First, this unit has one of the best views of the beach and ocean in cabo. A beautiful patio that overlooks the pool and then the Pacific ocean.The unit was newly painted in fresh subdued colors, and the owner had just installed a brand new 40in flat screen tv and a new dishwasher!!..

The linens were clean and plenty of towels. The staff at terrasol are very helpful and they really just warmed our hearts. I cant wait to go back!. The owner has been super nice and we cant wait to go back. My daughter is planning her summer vaction and we are lookig to rent this unit again this summer. Its like our new homeaway from home...


Its hard to book, but we loved it!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a smuch info as possible. these units are reall diamonds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bijan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    61
    18
    14
    9
See reviews for
71
77
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just back from a superb vacation in Cabo, first on the waterfront in a gorgeous unit (#123) at Terrasol and then at the spectacular new Grand Solmar.
Many thanks to Timmy Vanny for putting us in the newly renovated, one bedroom, waterfront condo at Terrasol - it couldn't have been more perfect! The entire condo is done in travertine stone, granite, and beautiful woods. With high-speed Internet included, the condo also has two flat-screen TVs, a washer, dryer, dishwasher, new stainless steel kitchen appliances, and lovely furnishings. The bed is superb! From the very large, shaded and private patio, we watched whales breaching, with the small ones doing flips, schools of dolphins, flocks of pelicans skimming the water, birds diving and fish jumping. This is one of the few units in condo with clear views of both the sunrise and sunset right from the terrace!
Timmy stayed in contact during our entire stay, making sure that everything was perfect - which it was.
Following our stay at Terrasol, we moved down the beach to the New Grand Solmar, where we stayed in a huge and beautiful one-bedroom condo on the 6th floor, with incredible views down the length of the wide Pacific beach. The restaurant, La Roca, situated under a palapa right on the water's edge, is excellent. Our afternoons at any of the three large infinity pools on the beachfront came with fruit smoothies, rum drinks, great food and service, and massages were available on the spot. A shuttle runs continuously to the sister resort, Playa Grande, where activities abound, and will deliver guests to several restaurants in the evening. Everyone we talked to was blown away by the way the resort has turned out.. . .even better than expected.
Both of these properties are situated on a wide, private beach on the Pacific side of Cabo San Lucas. It is wonderful to be able to walk into town and around the marina to restaurants and attractions each day, then escape back to the quiet resort(s) behind the famous rocks next to Lover's Beach and the Arch.
For the past 19 years, we have traveled to Cabo from Virginia, and despite the distance, have found this to be our very favorite vacation spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizattheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

What a wonderful experience. I found unit 220 through VRBO #325980 and I learned that 220 is rarely available to rent as it's owner is very particular about whom she matches her Cabo home to. It was a perfect fit for me, I wanted location and peace and that's exactly what I got. You will see from looking at Terrasol that it is different, the units are owned and Terrasol itself is small, tucked among the mega time shares. Town and the marina are a pleasant walk away. If you are loaded with shopping, grab a cab for that uphill return. Once deposited at Terrasol's reception hall, ask for assistance and you will be zipped to your condo in a golf cart with your treasures. I found all the staff with broad smiles, early morning laughs and very willing to help with anything I could imagine. I learned that rental car companies (Payless with Fidel) will deliver and pickup your rental at Terrasol, a welcome relief from running the gauntlet at the airport or in town.

220 is 'old style' and very comfy with it. Everything works - and it has all the amenities. From 220's balcony which runs the length of the condo and faces the pool and sea you get all day sun and a view to the whales, dolphins and seals dancing. It took me a double look to figure out the little sea rays hop out of the water, too! From the balcony I was in my own private space, veiled by fuschia and orange bougainvillea. When I wanted it, the pool and swim up bar and Palapa cafe were there for me. For me, Terrasol is for the relaxed. The bar closes at 5:30pm so you go to town if you want to party on - or stay somewhere more suited to late night revelry. The visitors staying here were a mix of US, Canadian and Europeans, mostly older, what I call silver backs and all friendly.

Room Tip: The master bed is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

we've been to Terrasol a couple of times - we like the property and never really cared about super luxury units so took what was available. Until we hit 118. Wow - it's the perfect blend of updated and comfortable/affordable. We love the floors and bathrooms. The kitchen is awesome with a seperate bar area, coffee grinder, espresso maker, super cool blender!
Everything works -the doors all slide beautifully when you have an armful of drinks (wink) - having a washer/dryer was a big key for us with kids. They provide iPod docks, Skype phones, a computer, Wifi - we were really comfortable - lots of great, thoughtful touches - (Thanks for the paper towels and sunscreen!) that saved us time and effort.
We dealt directly with the owners via www.VRBO.com/39180 and felt very well taken care of. She was available to us when we got there via email and was really helpful in getting us settled.
Response to another poster: apparently the owners saw your review on the couches and have replaced them with nice brown convertable sofa and chairs that look great.
Unit was super clean, easy to keep clean and really well-maintained - it made a difference and we will always try to come back to 118 when we come to Terrasol.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kipaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stay in condo 219 and the AC broke down and the resort would not fix it. The bathrooms smelled like sewage all the time had to keep the doors closed. Screen doors would not lock or shut properly. Note was left on kitchen counter advising to keep clean or ants would come. Cleaning the counters didn't help ants everywhere. Owners promise to fix AC but no one came to repair it the week we stayed. Then we had a stranger show up at the door stating he had rented the unit for the last 4 days we were there. The resort managers found him and his family another unit. He doesnt know how lucky he was. The property the condo sets on is beautiful, just need to avoid this unit and ck out your rental carefully.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We found and rented unit 162 from Linda Clark here on Tripadvisor. The pictures on Tripadvisor looked like they would work for us and another couple we were going with. Before our arrival we signed a contract with Ms Clark that indicated we would be refunded our security deposit of $150. Before our trip Ms. Clark was very attentive and answered all of our emails and calls promptly,

When we arrived at Terrasol we were taken to our condo. The condition of the condo was OK, it was located close to the beach and had a nice view. It was fairly clean but in need of some major TLC. It needed a few appliance repairs such as the door on the dishwasher which opens hard and all the way to the floor and smashed our friends foot, almost broke it. The fridge was so noisy it was a good thing that the air conditioner was so loud in the bedroom that it drowned out the noise of the fridge. While there was a new main a/c unit the two units in the bedrooms were outdated and very noisy. The a/c units had to run continuously to keep it reasonable cool in the condo. It desperately needs painting and baseboard repair throughout the whole condo. The main sliding glass door does not lock and is really hard to open and close, the way they secure it is with a stick in the runner. The closet doors in the main bedroom and the door into the main bedroom stick on the floor so they don't open or close without a lot of pushing and shoving.and the drawers in the main bedroom won't open and close either. We had nightly visits from cockroach's. The beds were older and really firm and some of the decor could use some TLC. The hot tub is a joke and it is falling apart, it's a tile tub and the grout is chipping out and it was dirty looking so much so we chose not to get into it. The grounds and pools were OK and fairly well maintained. The staff was pretty helpful for the most part especially in the bar. Forget about any basic supplies such as paper towels, toilet paper and garbage bags and batteries for the remotes for the a/c units and the tv's, You have to supply all of that yourselves.

Bottom line is that this was an OK condo, plenty roomy enough for our party of 4. It needs some major TLC and fixing up to make it worth what we ended up paying for it. Considering that we had NO maid service the whole time we were there I found it absurd that the resort charged us $148.00 at check out for cleaning........now if they came and cleaned daily and provided paper towels, toilet paper and garbage bags and batteries OK, but they didn't.

Upfront we paid $750 plus $150 refundable security deposit for a total of $900.00 if we would have gotten our security deposit back and didn't have to pay the additional $148.00 at check out it would have been more along the lines of being OK. We have still not gotten our security deposit back as promised and Ms. Clark said it was on it's way asap in at least 2 emails. Now that I am contacting her to find out where that security deposit is I am not hearing one word from her, no response and no check in the mail.

So if you rent from this person keep in mind you will be paying $1048.00 total for this condo without any maid service that really needs some major maintenance and repairs. From what I see that others are posting this is her way of doing business. You will not get your security deposit back.

We did have fun on our trip besides the issues with the condo. If you are into fishing hook up with Dream Weaver. They were awesome and made the trip!

Linda ~ if you are reading this............fix up your condo, either return the security deposits as promised or quit charging one. Supply your guests with adequate necessities such as paper towels, toilet paper, batteries and garbage bags. Please return our security deposit as promised.

Room Tip: Do not rent from Linda Clark until she cleans up her condo and her business acts. I would keep to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Segalbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Well, we just got back home from an incredibleCabo-visit .......... we could not get into Terrasol 236 for a week [they were booked], so the owners [now friends] who have a spectacular B&B INN in Cabo as well, suggested we split the vacation - spending the first few days in their unit at Terrasol, then end off our stay at their Casa Contenta INN [see also reviews of their INN on Trip Advisor]. It is hard to imagine a nicer unit than 236, it has a spectacularly large first floor Deck, which wraps from the spacious bedroom with king bed & wonderful vaulted ceilings - to the living room - dining room, kitchen and bar area, but that's just the beginning. Take the stairs from their entrance hall up to their Roof-Deck - and you have a panoramic view of all that Lands' end offers - we even see the first whales of the season from the decks as they passed Terrasol, and watched the fishing boats leaving the marina while sipping coffee in the early am !! They apparantly are the only owners with a roof deck, it's private and great, we slept on the roof [under the stars] one evening !! We love Cabo and are already planning to return .............

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.5 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
796 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,811 reviews
2.0 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,542 reviews
0.3 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,658 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrasol Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrasol Beach Resorts

Property: Terrasol Beach Resorts
Address: Avenue Access Solmar, Cabo San Lucas 94705, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful five-star Terrasol Beach Resort condominiums are located at breathtaking Land's End in Cabo San Lucas. Walk from the condo right onto the sand! Hear the waves lapping the shore at night! Enjoy whale watching, deep sea fishing, scuba diving, and all water sports. It's only a ten minute walk to all Cabo San Lucas restaurants, nightlife, and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrasol Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Terrasol Beach Resorts Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing