We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, small, and right on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Cascadas de Baja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Cascadas de Baja
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
White Marsh, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Charming, small, and right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Although Cascadas is not a four or five star resort, it's charm, size, and location make it a real gem. The whole place feels like a piece of old world Cabo with it's built in beds, seats, and shelves. We stayed in a 1 bedroom Perlita. It was always clean, the kitchen had everything you needed to prepare meals and drinks, and most importantly, we had our own hammock right outside our door. What I really loved about this place is that there are two pools with bars, it's right on the beach, and it's not a mega resort with thousands of people. It's directly across from Lover's Beach so it's a cinch to hail down a boat to get over to the other side, there are plenty of activities on the beach, and a little less crowded than some of the other beaches because it doesn't have a neighbor on both sides (yet).

Cons: For those who may not like to walk a lot, you may need a car to get to the center of it all. Otherwise, expect to walk anywhere between 10-25 minutes depending on where you're going.

Room Tip: Perlita's are the perfect size for couples and maybe a guest on the couch but there's only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    80
    21
    22
    16
See reviews for
127
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is the first time share property in Cabo. Although a bit dated (the property is 25 years old), it is very clean, the staff is very friendly, and quite unique. The room was nice with built in tile counters, the kitchen was small but adequate, the bathroom was good size with a shower. The shower curtain consisted of 5 bamboo poles hanging. There is a closet in the bedroom but no drawers or shelves to place your clothes, so I lived out of my suitcase. The unit we had was on the bottom floor with a nice patio, table and chairs, and a hammock. The lobby has 3 computers that are free to use. There was never a wait to use them. There is a tennis court and gym that is free to use, even if you are not an owner. The lobby has a small store, a gift shop, and a snack bar with ice cream.

Room Tip: Despite being on the beach, I am not sure if any of the rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here and found it to be pleasant enough. It is showing it's age but overall it was quite nice. We had a one bedroom perlita, ground floor, between the tennis courts and the pool, facing inside. Think this was better than outside (facing parking lot). Our adult son decided to join us after we had it booked and he ended up on the sofa bed---it was not comfortable! They definitely need to update the furniture. Our bed was fine but it was very firm. Pools were nice and warm, I have been to several MX locations and they were always cold. We rented a car, so we could get around a little more but we probably could have gotten around just fine with a taxi. Club Cascadas is within walking distance to the town, 10 min. or so, that was nice. Restaurant on location had good food and there was a place next door, Tobascos that we also frequented a lot. My son would have preferred a little more activities, but we enjoyed sitting around the pool and on the beach and just relaxing,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a decent, friendly, comfortable (except the beds) place to stay. Built in the mid-80's, it is not a fancy 5 star, more like a 3 star, but has a homey feel to it even though it is showing it's age and could use some upgrading. The beach is nice, the pools are warm (almost too warm), & the rooms are clean though not great views as most face the courtyard or the outside walls. There is a coffee shop where you can get free wifi and computer access with free internet, also an acitivities director and a U-save car rental. The restaurant serves good dinners with a different theme every night. It is nice sitting at the table on the beach eating a great meal & the service is great.
Most of the other people here were fairly old or young families, there is no nightlife here at all, hardly any activity after about 7:30.
My only criticism is that the beds are very hard 7 not comfortable. I looked under my mattress to see if it was on a concrete slab (it wasn't). My son had to sleep in the living room and his mattress was very thin and was on a concrete slab.
I would definately stay here again. We stayed the following week at Villa del Palmar and would have been happy to come back to Cascadas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We exchanged from Marriott vac club. We have traveled extensively in the Caribbean and Mexico for years, staying at small resorts.
Yes, this resort has well maintained grounds. Yes, the leafy palms and the pools are pretty.
The cracked sinks in the bathrooms and the chipped tiles in the kitchens were not charming. The very uncomfortable furniture was not rustic, it was cheap and outdated. The beds were very uncomfortable, linens cheap. The sliding screens were broken. The air conditioner noisy and sporadic.
Most people have been coming here for years, and bringing their kids- now their kids kids. I can understand why, it is very inexpensive. Unfortunately, that also has other consequences, the cliental is a little rough.
The problem with timeshare exchanges seems to be you can own at an upscale resort and end up, as we did, in something inferior.
The wait staff in the restaurant was attentive, the front desk was not. Their attitude was dismissive , take it or leave it. They told us they have heard all the complaints before, call Tading Places in California.
I can't imagine going back.

Room Tip: Top floor villas near beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The place is at the top of the list of all the resorts where I have stayed in the more than 25 years I have been staying in timeshare exchanges. The award winning architectural design and amenities were first rate and very intimate and relaxing feeling.





At the top of the list of all the exchanges Where I have stayed over 25 years. The award winning design and ammenities were first rate and the atmosphere relaxing and did not feel like some massive complex.



iThe staff on all levels were extremely friendly and always helpful and many activities to keep you busy. Many of the long time owners said they rarely left the place because every thing they wanted was there.
I would gladly return again but this time with many friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salcamacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Cascadas de Baja is one of the original hotels built in Cabo San Lucas built by California architect Paul Guiddings. It is largely time share owned, but vacation rentals are available. Villas range from 1 to 4 bedrooms, have full living, dinning rooms and kitchens. Many have thatched roofs which creates a very authentic atmosphere. The grounds are meticulously manincured. There are 2 large pools with swim up bars, one serves sushi, tennis court, weight room, clubhouse and internet coffee bar. Located on Medano beach, permenant thatched palapas are available for shade and the beachfront open air restaurant serves affordable breakfast as well as themed night dinner on the beach. Taxi rides to the center of town are $6-8. The staff is very friendly and bilingual. There is a Walmart and Costco nearby ($10 taxi) so we usually stock up on food and drinks. It is such a relaxing vacation spot. We spend our days lounging on the beach or by the pool then make a light dinner or go into town for dinner and shopping. Be aware though there are no TVs or telephones in the villas. Most units do have wireless internet available.

Room Tip: The Estrella is a roof top penthouse which has 4 seperate bedroom villas (each with a thatched roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CinderellaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
1.0 km away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#40 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
0.1 km away
Medano Beach Villa
Medano Beach Villa
#17 of 38 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 km away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#21 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cascadas de Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cascadas de Baja

Property: Club Cascadas de Baja
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Apartado 72, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cascadas de Baja 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Club Cascadas de Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cascadas De Baja Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Cascadas De Baja
Resort Cascadas De Baja
Club Cascadas De Baja Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cascadas Baja Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing