We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pool chair hoarding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pool chair hoarding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Playa Grande and did encounter some negative as mentioned in previous reviews but they didn't really deminish my overall satisfaction with the resort. I only have one complaint - pool side chair hoarding.
This problem with people saving pool chairs with towels every morning at 0800 or earlier but not actually arriving until two to three hours later is, I believe, a blemish on the resort. There is a hotel rule against this as stated in the hotel guest services book - if no one shows up for more than one hour, towels may be removed by staff. One nasty confrontation occurred when a couple had security remove towels so they could use the chairs. These chairs had been saved by towels for over two hours. When the towel owners finally showed up at 1030, they accused the other couple of removing their things and a heated argument ensued. My experience at hotels and resorts is usually the practice of saving pool chairs is acceptable if there is someone sitting in one and saving another. My complaint is encountering no one at the pool but towels on the majority of chairs. I think this problem can be remedied by using small color coded cards stating the "no saving chair rule". At 0900, staff would put out a WHITE card on towels so time can be established. At 1000, if no one shows up to claim their chairs a RED card is put on the towels denoting this chair has been saved for two hours or more and now available to all. This will enable security to remove the towels so other guests that arrive later will have the use of these chairs without disputes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guests from California:

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you and we will take great consideration of your comments concerning the pool chairs hoarding.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande and Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,111
    814
    187
    103
    78
See reviews for
1,145
1,224
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Playa Grande and were very impressed with this first class facility. Our check in was fast at which time we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the “Ridge.” Expect to spend a few minutes with a time share representative after checking in because this is the only way to receive your cards required for pool towels. We found room 3049 on the Ridge terrific except the view from the balcony was of a parking lot and it was noisy because of street traffic. A room on the Ridge allows one to enjoy the infinity pool area which has incredible views of both the marina and ocean and (in our opinion) Playa Grande’s best server Freddy. We are not accustomed to city noise so after our third night requested a move. If you live in the city this may not be an issue for you. Erika at the front desk was very helpful in finding us a junior suite with an ocean view. I was told by one of the RCI representatives that most guests staying at this hotel are either Playa Grande time share owners or other RCI owners on exchange. During peak season this may limit the availability of the most desired rooms for non-owners. I think we were fortunate to have been moved to a 4th floor room with a great view. Thank you Erika! We enjoyed our next four days relaxing by the main pools, walking the beach (ocean swimming not recommended), enjoying evenings on the balcony and visiting many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance from the hotel. We also made several visits to the lobby bar for a bite to eat and beverages. One night we ordered the “two for one” sushi special, but found it not to be exactly a 2 for1 compared to the regular menu price. The regular menu has shrimp sushi for 140 pesos, but the “happy hour” 2 for 1 was $19.00 US or 224 pesos on my bill, you do the math. Our server Armando seemed uncomfortable trying to explain the 2 for 1 to me and pretty much avoided our table thereafter. The night before Armando presented us with another guest’s check that was more than double ours, probably an honest mistake. I suggest management review your pricing policy in regards to specials. This kind of practice is deceiving in my view and can put your employees in an uncomfortable position. Our travel agent booked our stay through Expedia which offered $200.00 in discounts to be used for drinks at facility restaurants, miniature golf and spa. At checkout our bill was credited for the Expedia discounts used, towel and safe lock deposits. I saved every receipt charged to my room and the invoice was to the penny. We would definitely stay at Playa Grande again, but would explore finding a room through an owner to better the chance of obtaining the most desirable room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ridge may overllok the marina and city streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guests from Waukee, Iowa:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay and for your nce comment “First Class Hotel”

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest and owner and we will take in consideration your comments such as our promotion of the sushi.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Erika at the front desk and our server Freddy at The Ridge.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Playa Grande Resort recently on a trip with a couple girlfriends. It's situated on the ridge adjacent from the marina which keeps it a bit isolated if you want some privacy from the hustle and bustle of town. The view was beautiful from the pool, the staff are friendly and plenty of amenities. One down side to the Playa is no free internet which I can understand as there are so many other activities to do but it is nice to not have to wait in line for a computer with a sticky keyboard. Both pools on each side has plenty of space, great menu to order from, and to get a water taxi over to Mendano Beach is a very short trip as soon as you walk down the entry way. There are a lot of families who come to stay there, didn't see any young adults getting wild, friendly atmosphere, the prices are reasonable for food and drink, the spa is expensive but overall a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingYoginista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guests from San Diego, California:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay and for your comment “Both the Marina and the Pacific Ocean”

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you and we will take good care about your comment concerning the Internet service and the keyboards.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande and Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Playa is a very well kept property with really friendly staff and wonderful amenities. I'm prefer Grand Solmar's layout, the pool areas are quieter, but then GS is brand new and has 10 years of evolution built into the design.

The value is excellent, paid $199 including tax for a 1 bedroom.

The resort is in immaculate condition and the pools are clean and warm.

The food is good and a good value. Unlike GS, there is no walkup pool bar, all refreshments are had via table service.

Security on property is amazing. Thee only way in or out of the resort is through the main lobby, other than the beach, which is virtually inaccessible other than from one of the other 5 resorts on the Pacific side.

Internet if you need it for work as I do, is limited to common areas and is $12/day or $42 for five days. Management is telling us wifi is being added slowly to all buildings.

My only complaint is the room to room noise from above is a bitt annoying, i.e., chairs sliding, walking noise, etc., is easily transmitted to the room below, otherwise side to side the buildings are very quiet.

Room Tip: The buildings closer to the Ocean have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Not_the_UGLY_AMERCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guests from Chicago:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa we thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience.

The comments you have made describing the experience you encountered during your stay with us have come to our attention.

We really appreciate the time you are taking to write us with your concern as this will help us improve our service.

It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with the best possible and friendly service.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Playa Grande is a resort we enjoy visiting on a yearly basis. A major reason for this are the wonderful people who work there. Every time we return, it's like returning to visit our second family. We stay on the Ridge which allows us a beautiful view of the Marina, the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific. At night, the lights of the city are spectacular. The restaurant and pool bar on the Ridge serves great food and beverages, but even greater are the servers up there. Miguel, Freddy, Flavio, Teo, Josue, Margarito and the bartender make it a lot of fun up there. the bellboys are the best! They're very helpful and do exceptional jobs.
Yes, the timeshare industry is prevalent in Cabo and some people can be relentless in asking you to see a presentation, but you can say, "No". Don't forget this is a way for people to make a living there. If you have a litt le fun with them and keep saying "No", they'll back off. Don't let this keep you from having a good time there and enjoying this beautiful area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda1343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest from Fenton, MI:

On behalf of The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance and we really apreciate your comment “Wonderful Experience”.

We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande.

If you have any questions or any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Always feel safe and comfortable here! Lots of things to do for people alone, couples and families. Breakfast buffet is excellent or you can order anything you want. There are no vendors bothering you on the beach and can walk the beach in safely. This year we were able to taken in the turtle release which made our day. Because of it's location expect to walk into town and the hill can be steep especially if you have done a lot of shopping but then that is why they have taxi cabs.

Room Tip: Ocean view room on west side of horseshoe Penhouse has best views with morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guests from Alpine California:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with and appreciate your nice comments.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Ridge Members should have exclusive amenities, we were promised such as buyers. As a Penthouse Member on the Ridge, Internet acess should be included free, as Ridge Members pay large maintenance fees. Ridge Members should have colored wrist bands so that exclusivity can be maintained, (too many non Ridge people gain pool access) and a certain number of pool chairs reserved for Ridge Members. We have paid for the privilege of exclusivity as Ridge Members. Penthouse should have flat screen TV, rugs, and large sleep pillows.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rch711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guests:
We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Clean, good service, and friendly staff”
and for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
We also took note of your comments concerning the exclusive amenities, Internet service and flat screen TV.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.5 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.9 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
9.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
2.1 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing