We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guests in our daughters time share unit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“guests in our daughters time share unit”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My sister and I spent a week in our daughters timeshare unit. We ended up at The Ridge in a penthouse unit- just the 2 of us in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath unit! I will start by saying it was just what we needed- total relaxation. We didn't work out, play mini golf, take tours, etc. But we were very glad to spend the day at the pools, enjoy happy hour drinks, walk the streets of Cabo (we did feel very safe- lots of security around), and eat at fabulous restaurants! We were met at the airport by our private driver (Impala ground services). Our plan was to ask the driver to stop so we could buy groceries, but his "boss" was with him, and since he didn't say anything to us on our trip down to the resort, we decided not to. Our return trip to the airport was completely different- we had Sergio as our driver, and he gave us a wonderful trip filled with lots of info about Cabo, its people, etc. We would have felt totally comfortable asking him. My advice- just ask them to stop and offer a tip (we were told $20) for a quick trip. We ended up going to Walmart ($12 each way) the next day by taxi.
Our room faced the marina- it was loud (no barking dogs), but lots of loud music, etc. so next time I would bring my ear plugs. The room was beautiful; although the furniture was a bit stained and the cushions in the couch had broken zippers, so the stuffing was coming out. Our room wasn't available when we arrived due to needing "extensive cleaning"- so possibly the folks right before us were a bit hard on the unit?? The toaster was broken, but maybe 15" after calling, housekeeping brought us a new one. Getting to our unit was a challenge. We wondered if being guests vs being owners was a disadvantage. We were checked in and told our unit was in a completely different building than it actually was. He also charged and gave us a security lock (which I turned in midweek as I couldn't find where to use it and we had a safe in the room). But we weren't given any direction about how to find our room other than "down the hill, up the hill"; no info on what was available at the resort (restaraunts, fitness room, spa, etc) and there is nothing in the room as an overview like a regular hotel room. Good thing I had been on Trip Advisor and sort of knew what was available!
Our days were spent at the Ridge pools which are drop dead GORGEOUS!!!!! As far as "chair wars"- I've been in worse places. I get up early, so by 7:30am I was out at the pool chatting with the few folks there, getting the scoop on where to get coffee, the best restaurants to visit, etc. When the towel lady came, I put our stuff down and went back to the room for breakfast. We were always back within the hour, but there isn't any patrolling of the chairs by staff. I was told they are much more strict down at Playa Grande... There were a few tense stand offs during the week, but staff was hands off. The biggest complaint among the "regulars" was that they were sold their Ridge units with the strict understanding that the 2 adult pools were not to be used by kids- they have their own pool down below complete with water slide. Solmar must not be afraid to be sued should a child drown or be injured, because even after NUMEROUS complaints, kids (small to early teen) were allowed to swim wherever they wished. There are signs, but they are ignored. We watched a 2-3 year old child alone in the adult pool swimming among the bar stools at the swim up bar. We saw young teens jump the approximately 30 feet from the adult pool into the kids pool more than once. Young children were allowed in the hot tubs without supervision. They were only asked to leave if someone went to the bar, asked to have security called, and then they came to ask them not to swim there. Then they disappeared which allowed the behavior to continue. I was told that at Grand Solmar, the adult pool is truly monitored and so adults can sit in peace and quiet with their e-readers and not have to worry about getting them ruined. The owners were genuinely upset, and I can see why. The Ridge also got new chairs this year (I was told), but they should ask for a refund. They are very comfortable, but most of them have bolts which come right out, making adjusting them impossible. We became quite adept at replacing them ourselves, but what a hassle, and when we told someone, they just put the bolts back in and called them "fixed."
We went to Fiesta night on Monday nite and had a blast. My sister doesn't like "Mexican food", but turns out she just doesn't like Americanized tex-mex. We loved the food at the buffet- yummy fish, chicken mole, fresh fruit, tamales, on and on.... The drinks were a bit weak, but tasty. Ricardo kept us laughing for 2 hours during the games, and the dancers were enjoyable. I heard the beach night was equally enjoyable- food and entertainment. The only spoiler was the guy who dropped his drawers in front of the crowd (including lots of kids)- um, I believe alcohol could have been a factor? Gross!- and shame on them for allowing him back on the stage for another game....
A couple of heads up- the thermostats are in celsius- we called maintenance cuz we thought they weren't working after trying to adjust them. Just push the up arrow a couple of degrees and eventually it gets warmer. Also- that little white box near the door? It needs something in it (room key, maid card) for the electricity to work. We called maintainence when we returned to our room the first day and had no power. Again- owners maybe know this, but we weren't given the "tutorial".
I had read how great/friendly/superior the staff were at this resort. Again, maybe it was because we were guests, but I wasn't that impressed. Most days at the pool, we had to go to the bar to get a drink because we were ignored by the wait staff. I gave great tips (unknowingly, since pesos to $ apparently isn't one of my strengths), so it wasn't that. It was a bit of a mystery to us. We sat in the same place every day ordering 2 mimosas every morning, and 2 sets of afternoon happy hour drinks, so its not that they thought we weren't drinking. The guy that checked us in was really unhelpful. The people we asked for directions didn't help. We did run into a lot of friendly staff, don't get me wrong, I was just expecting a bit more.
We did meet a lot of really friendly, fun owners who made our visit. And when the kids were in their own pool- ahhhhhhhhhh totally relaxing......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sklnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear from Minneapolis MN :

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa we thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience.

The comments you have made describing the experience you encountered during your stay with us have come to our attention.

We really appreciate the time you are taking to write us with your concern as this will help us improve and we hope you give us an opportunity to demonstrate to you how important your comments are and how seriously we took action.

It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,380
    883
    201
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,272
1,375
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our first trip to the Playa Grande Resort as well as Cabo San Lucas. Traded our time share and ended up in a 2 BR/sleeps 6 unit. As the name suggests this is a big grand resort with the big resort amenties like gym (very nice for a resort - all Life Fitness equipment), tennis court, miniature golf, multiple pools and hot tubs, 3 restaurants, small store, and amazing conceirge staff. The location is great. It is an easy walk into downtown for restaurants and shopping. There are amazing views of both the marina and Pacific Ocean. Be aware that you may not swim in the ocean here, surf and undertow are dangerous. Definitely want to thank the staff for their friendliness and attentiveness.

Unit is quite large - bedroom 1 has king bed, bedroom 2 two qn beds and extra murphy bed in living area. Beds were very comfortable. There were 3 full baths. Everything is marble, granite and beautiful wood. The kitchen was well equipped, only thing missing was mixing or serving type bowls. There is no oven or dishwasher. Daily maid service is provided, a rarity in timeshare units. On the negative side there were at least 12 dogs nearby that pretty much never stopped barking making almost impossible to sit out on the balcony for any length of time without going insane.

Places to eat: Only ate at the resort once for lunch at the Calima restaurant. Don't bother, expensive and least favorite meal we had all week. If you are at Medono Beach try the Office. Mi Casa so good we went back twice. We took fish we caught to Captain Tony's at the Marina and they did a fantastic job cooking it for you for $7 person.

Things to do: Rent a car and go to San Jose for 1/2 day and visit the glass blowing factory on the outskirts of Cabo San Lucas on the way(ask for directions before heading out as very difficult to find). Deep sea fishing with the person associated with the resort was phenominal. Did the Eco Cat Sunset Tour.

Couple of extra tips: Do bring warmer clothes to wear at night. It really cools down and was very windy most of the time we were here. Pay your airport transport driver an extra $5 and they will stop at Walmart for you to pick up essentials for the week.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guests from Morristown, NJ:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

without a doubt this is our favorite time share property. The Solmar group is smart, they treat their members well, keep us informed and do whatever is possible to keep us happy. The grounds are beautiful, the service excellent. The spa is beautiful , well run and the prices are now reasonable. So much so that you can splurge in more than one treatment or multiple days of treatment. What a pleasure to be an appreciated client.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guests from Hampton Bays, New York:
You really make us very happy with lovely comment “Our favorite time share!”
We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best.
We all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This resort is beautiful! When we checked in we were disappointed to be on the 1st floor (for the view) but it turned out to be a great room (room 1031). We had a slight view of the ocean with a Huge balcony and what turned out to be a great location with our children. The room was very clean and comfortable. Service was good throughout the hotel. Can't swim on the beach, due to the surf, but this wasn't a problem for us since we all prefer the pool. We visited the Ridge pool a few times and it was a lot of fun, the kids enjoyed the water slide. Our boys LOVED the mini golf - I believe they played every day. We also enjoyed a great breakfast at the beachside restaurant.

Only slight negative is not necessarily with the hotel alone but rather, what we feel is an overall attitude with the City of Cabo. We were regularly overcharged at restaurants throughout the City, we would go in to a place based on an advertisement or sign regarding a price and were, more often then not, overcharged. This was our first visit to Cabo but we have been to many cities in Mexico and usually love the attitude of all the service providers. We've been to Puerto Vallarta a dozen or more times and find that one of our favorite things about the city is the overall GREAT SERVICE, they are always very eager to please and work very hard to get you to revisit them. We felt that in Cabo it was more of a "one and done" attitude. If they got you in their establishment they didn't care if you ever returned. At the hotel we found that we were charged a bit more for the Beach Party then we were told - not a big deal, just got a little frustrating since it seemed to be the theme for the city.

Overall, if we do go back to Cabo we will definitely stay at the Playa Grande Resort again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guests from Minnesota:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have two adult sons and we have all enjoyed this resort for a number of years. Great location more private not on main beach,no vendors bothering you. We have spotted many whales passing by, 'love that!
.Close to town. Has the feel of little village with it's design. Not like a huge,cold mega modern complex. Has all of the amenities you would want in a resort. The staff are very friendly and take care of your every need. Enjoy the spa every year,it's great. We stay in the one bedroom master suite.It sleeps 4 adults, has 2 bathrooms and full kitchen. We have stayed with family and friends, everyone loves it here. The location gives you a restful place to be, while there is still the night life around close by when you want it. We always feel like we are coming home when we get here. We love Cabo! Don't be afraid to give it a try.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebentzclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guests from Stockton:

We thank you very much for your nice comment “Love Playa Grande Stayed Here Since 2003” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa in Cabo San Lucas.
Come back anytime to visit us with all your friends and family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations! Just let us know when!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We visited Playa Grande in mid March and were very happy with our stay.
It's great to be within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The beach
is just a short walk away too. Everything at the resort was very well maintained, tidy,
and clean. Special thanks to staff at Playa Grande who helped make
our stay even more enjoyable-- - Paula (Concierge), Piadad (Spa) and Edith
and Carmen in housekeeping. It is great to receive exceptional service and
it is much appreciated. We will look forward to another visit to Playa Grande
in the future! Todd

Room Tip: A first floor room is closer to the pools and saves you time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddGArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guests from Bentonville, Arkansas:

You really make us very happy with lovely comment “Still a great resort!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best.
We all send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our first trip to Cabo San Lucas, as a result of an RCI exchange. Our accommodation had spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and was a master 1 BR suite, with two bathrooms, two balconies--perfect for two girlfriends traveling together. The kitchen was fully equipped, and the furnishings overall were appealing and comfortable. During the week, we ate most of our breakfasts at the Brigantine Restaurant. Though the breakfast buffet was pricey, $22 US before taxes, we were extremely pleased with the offerings. The meals that we had at the other restaurant, Calima, were also very satisfying, with exceptional desserts. Being within walking distance to the marina afforded us the option of shopping and dining at the various shops and restaurants there. We discovered the nearby casino and had some luck playing the 10cent slots. On one of our trips, an investment of 100 pesos (about $12 US) resulted in a win of over 1,000 pesos, close to $100 US. Though the Pacific Ocean was too rough for swimming, we climbed the butte at the end of the resort's beach and came upon Lovers' Beach, where the waves were gentle and perfect for wading and swimming. This trek over the butte is not for the faint at heart; to avoid falling, you have to take care in placing your feet on the rocks during the climb going up and down the butte. At one point of the return trip, I chose to sit and slide down a bit until I could put my foot on a solid spot. Reaching Lovers' Beach via climbing the butte was such an adventure, notwithstanding a little scrape on the elbow. To round out the week, I booked spa treatments in the resort. Yes, the massage and body exfoliation were soothing, however, before my spa treatments, I thoroughly enjoyed soaking in the seawater hot tub, located outside with magnificent views of Playa Grande. In short, this vacation to Cabo San Lucas at the Playa Grande Resort was another memorable RCI exchange, and I look forward to visiting the area again in the future.

Room Tip: Just ask for a better room. We declined the offer for a first floor suite and was given a second sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maybaby21218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear RCI Exchange Guests:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “EXCEPTIONAL RESORT IN PERFECT LOCATION”.
Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations! Just let us know when!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.6 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
2.1 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,158 reviews
9.7 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.5 km away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing