We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Grande Resort
Nearby Hotels
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$334
US$276
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$250
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$310
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$388
US$270
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$299/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$497
US$338
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$377/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$782
US$570
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,239)
Filter reviews
4,239 results
Traveller rating
2,805
984
239
117
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,805
984
239
117
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrigantine restaurantmexican fiestaridge poolentertainment stafftime sharetequila volleyballlobby barthe pacific oceanfiesta nightbusiness centershort walk to the marinamedano beachwater aerobicskids clubspanish lessonsmurphy bedtowel cards
Filter
Updating list...
3,491 - 3,496 of 4,239 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our first trip to the Playa Grande Resort as well as Cabo San Lucas. Traded our time share and ended up in a 2 BR/sleeps 6 unit. As the name suggests this is a big grand resort with the big resort amenties like gym (very nice for a resort - all Life Fitness equipment), tennis court, miniature golf, multiple pools and hot tubs, 3 restaurants, small store, and amazing conceirge staff. The location is great. It is an easy walk into downtown for restaurants and shopping. There are amazing views of both the marina and Pacific Ocean. Be aware that you may not swim in the ocean here, surf and undertow are dangerous. Definitely want to thank the staff for their friendliness and attentiveness.

Unit is quite large - bedroom 1 has king bed, bedroom 2 two qn beds and extra murphy bed in living area. Beds were very comfortable. There were 3 full baths. Everything is marble, granite and beautiful wood. The kitchen was well equipped, only thing missing was mixing or serving type bowls. There is no oven or dishwasher. Daily maid service is provided, a rarity in timeshare units. On the negative side there were at least 12 dogs nearby that pretty much never stopped barking making almost impossible to sit out on the balcony for any length of time without going insane.

Places to eat: Only ate at the resort once for lunch at the Calima restaurant. Don't bother, expensive and least favorite meal we had all week. If you are at Medono Beach try the Office. Mi Casa so good we went back twice. We took fish we caught to Captain Tony's at the Marina and they did a fantastic job cooking it for you for $7 person.

Things to do: Rent a car and go to San Jose for 1/2 day and visit the glass blowing factory on the outskirts of Cabo San Lucas on the way(ask for directions before heading out as very difficult to find). Deep sea fishing with the person associated with the resort was phenominal. Did the Eco Cat Sunset Tour.

Couple of extra tips: Do bring warmer clothes to wear at night. It really cools down and was very windy most of the time we were here. Pay your airport transport driver an extra $5 and they will stop at Walmart for you to pick up essentials for the week.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travelsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear Guests from Morristown, NJ:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

without a doubt this is our favorite time share property. The Solmar group is smart, they treat their members well, keep us informed and do whatever is possible to keep us happy. The grounds are beautiful, the service excellent. The spa is beautiful , well run and the prices are now reasonable. So much so that you can splurge in more than one treatment or multiple days of treatment. What a pleasure to be an appreciated client.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VCC251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear Guests from Hampton Bays, New York:
You really make us very happy with lovely comment “Our favorite time share!”
We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best.
We all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This resort is beautiful! When we checked in we were disappointed to be on the 1st floor (for the view) but it turned out to be a great room (room 1031). We had a slight view of the ocean with a Huge balcony and what turned out to be a great location with our children. The room was very clean and comfortable. Service was good throughout the hotel. Can't swim on the beach, due to the surf, but this wasn't a problem for us since we all prefer the pool. We visited the Ridge pool a few times and it was a lot of fun, the kids enjoyed the water slide. Our boys LOVED the mini golf - I believe they played every day. We also enjoyed a great breakfast at the beachside restaurant.

Only slight negative is not necessarily with the hotel alone but rather, what we feel is an overall attitude with the City of Cabo. We were regularly overcharged at restaurants throughout the City, we would go in to a place based on an advertisement or sign regarding a price and were, more often then not, overcharged. This was our first visit to Cabo but we have been to many cities in Mexico and usually love the attitude of all the service providers. We've been to Puerto Vallarta a dozen or more times and find that one of our favorite things about the city is the overall GREAT SERVICE, they are always very eager to please and work very hard to get you to revisit them. We felt that in Cabo it was more of a "one and done" attitude. If they got you in their establishment they didn't care if you ever returned. At the hotel we found that we were charged a bit more for the Beach Party then we were told - not a big deal, just got a little frustrating since it seemed to be the theme for the city.

Overall, if we do go back to Cabo we will definitely stay at the Playa Grande Resort again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear Guests from Minnesota:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have two adult sons and we have all enjoyed this resort for a number of years. Great location more private not on main beach,no vendors bothering you. We have spotted many whales passing by, 'love that!
.Close to town. Has the feel of little village with it's design. Not like a huge,cold mega modern complex. Has all of the amenities you would want in a resort. The staff are very friendly and take care of your every need. Enjoy the spa every year,it's great. We stay in the one bedroom master suite.It sleeps 4 adults, has 2 bathrooms and full kitchen. We have stayed with family and friends, everyone loves it here. The location gives you a restful place to be, while there is still the night life around close by when you want it. We always feel like we are coming home when we get here. We love Cabo! Don't be afraid to give it a try.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebentzclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear Guests from Stockton:

We thank you very much for your nice comment “Love Playa Grande Stayed Here Since 2003” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa in Cabo San Lucas.
Come back anytime to visit us with all your friends and family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations! Just let us know when!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We visited Playa Grande in mid March and were very happy with our stay.
It's great to be within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The beach
is just a short walk away too. Everything at the resort was very well maintained, tidy,
and clean. Special thanks to staff at Playa Grande who helped make
our stay even more enjoyable-- - Paula (Concierge), Piadad (Spa) and Edith
and Carmen in housekeeping. It is great to receive exceptional service and
it is much appreciated. We will look forward to another visit to Playa Grande
in the future! Todd

Room Tip: A first floor room is closer to the pools and saves you time.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddGArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Guests from Bentonville, Arkansas:

You really make us very happy with lovely comment “Still a great resort!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best.
We all send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews