We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabo Villas: Still the One”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 4 February 2012

After two weeks at Cabo Villas this January, I'm happy to say that the things that make this resort so enjoyable are still true, and some things have been improved to make a stay here both relaxing and worthwhile.

For us, the people who work at Cabo Villas are its heart and soul. From the moment we walk in each year until the day we leave, they are warm, friendly and unfailingly hospitable. We stay at other resorts as well, some of them fancier, others more luxurious or better appointed. Where they cannot compete with Cabo Villas, however, is in their employees and the sense of being welcome and at home. The rooms are very comfortable and well-cared for, the pool lounge chairs are great, and all of this creates an atmosphere that encourages guests to linger and to relax.

Location is another factor and Cabo Villas is perfect in that regard. Everything in town is in walking distance and that wonderful stretch of Medano Beach is the best way to start or end a day. In the past, this prime location also meant dealing with the non-stop noise/music from the bars and party animals on the beach. Apparently, someone in management heard the complaints from previous years because the music at CV's own pool bar has been turned way down and the speakers on the beach no longer blast the resort. We arrived this year on Christmas Day and my first thought, because of the noticeable and welcome quiet, was that no one was on the beach. In fact, Medano was completely packed and, down there, the music was loud and raucous, but the resort? Not a peep from the beach. It was heavenly, and we spent every spare moment on our patio, enjoying the breeze and the peace.

Baja Brewing is still going strong on top of the CVR building, but live bands play just three nights a week now and only until 10:15-10:30, not the previous 11:00. Wednesday is karaoke night at the upper pool bar and I understand that noise can go on for quite awhile. My advice? Call the front desk if it's after hours or join in, if you can. It's a great time and you don't have to sing unless you want to, but it is a lot of fun. I went for the first time this year and will definitely make it a habit for my future Wednesday nights.

New Bayview-style buildings are, apparently, in-the-future works, with a new pool and other amenities planned. I don't know when construction will start, but it seems to be a sign that Cabo Villas is well and thriving. WiFi is free to owners, which is a huge deal, NOT available at all resorts, and worked well and consistently for the most part. C'mon, it's vacation, people, step away from your laptops.

While I would selfishly like to keep Cabo Villas to myself, I'm posting this review because I hope those who've stayed away might be encouraged to return, that newcomers will feel as welcome as we do. This isn't the perfect resort, I'm not even sure such a thing exists, and yes, there are a few rooms without views of any kind and if you're on the sixth floor below Baja Brewing on the nights the band plays, well, they will stop. But in terms of hospitality, location and comfort, Cabo Villas is the best place to be in Cabo San Lucas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustATravelerWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our trip started out on a bad note, left a bag on the shuttle service, however the front desk was amazing and went out of their way to help us get it back, expecially Gabriel ( as he came to be known 'the angel' for my mom). Everyone has been friendly and gone out of their way and even remembered us from last year. This is my second time there and it is like returning home after being gone a while.
Even the managers took time to talk to us and get to know us ( Noel) and made us feel at home.
Close to diving ( Andromeda Divers)- who remembered me, the beach, close to town for shopping and Cabo Wabo ( great food, drinks)
The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and we had a great time. Watching the sun come up every morning with a cup of coffee, and reading a book, was the way our mornings went after using the gym in the morning. I would recommend the location and hotel/vacation rentals/timeshares.

Room Tip: higher up has the better views, and avoid the people at the airport- JUST say NO ( multiple times)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had a great time! Our room was large and very clean. We had a small kitchen with a fridge, stovetop, but not an oven. Our balcony overlooked one of the 3 pools and the ocean. Although the bacony faced NE and we missed the sunshining in we had great views of the sunrise every morning. Our bed was terrific and the bathroom very spacious.
The staff were great. We loved our housekeeper. Everyone was helpful from the front desk to the beach service.
We had the choice of sitting the the restaurant's beach area or go next door to the public beach. Both were wonderful.
This hotel had good events happening there, but the best part was location to all of the great areas of Cabo!!! Fun restaurants just down the street or just take a 10 minute walk to the hub of activity by the marina.. a little further to old town and more great restaurants. It was VERY SAFE!!!! I would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We are long time owners at Cabo Villas and just returned from 3 weeks and as always had a wonderful stay. The staff is always ready to accomodate you to make your stay feel like your second home. The area around Cabo Villas has great restaurants, the beach is the best and it is an easy walk to town. If the beach activity is to crazy just walk a ways and you can find just what you want. Can't wait till we go back!

Room Tip: There are variety of rooms but always try to get above the 3rd floor. Except for a few rooms all ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stonecutter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I recently came back from Cabos San Lucas and we stayed at Cabos Villas. We have mixed feelings about this place and we will leave it to you to decide whether this is the place for you!

THE BAD

*Be careful of the so-called "free breakfast" or "freebies", the hotel people are out to get you to buy a timeshare! We were warned and prepared for it so we booked our adventures with (Cabo Adventure 5 STAR to that one) and our hotel concierge said that they would have given us half the price we got at Cabo Adventure but guess what.. that means you need to waste 1 day to listen to the timeshare sale pitch.. NO THANK YOU!

*The towel situation! First thing first, you will need to go to front desk to get the towel (that's right, same place where people check in-out). Second, once you go to the pool area, it will be hard for you to get a lounge chair to tan because EVERYONE has a towel on the chair but yet, NO ONE SHOWS UP FOR HOURS!!! I was at the pool for maybe 4 hrs and there were only like 5 people in the pool but all chairs were taken! Third, when you return your towel, make sure you see the guys checking off your name otherwise, they will try to charge you a penalty fee when you are checking out of the hotel. They tried to do that to me saying i didn't return 4 towels and I flipped out! I told them, "well, you know we wouldn't have this problem if you guys do your job of checking in-out people and hire someone else to take care of the towels.. its not my fault that you guys can't juggle between different tasks such as the towels!"

*We were leaving on a Sunday morning but we got a letter slipped under the door on a Friday 10pm saying that by the next morning, we needed to be packed by 9am because the doorman was going to get our luggage to the reception area, but we were going to get a room until 4pm! I don’t want to be bothered to pack-unpack-and pack again for the next day when we leave.. plus i need to go in-out of the room since we had couple of excursion to do throughout the day! After all the complaining (Friday evening + Saturday morning), the manager MOISES apologized and let us stayed in our room!

*Room and shower not very impressive. Our room and bathroom was not very fancy as they show it on the website (they only show you the newly renovated rooms). The shower is the worst...terrible WATER pressure!!!!! We met a friend during the stay who did stay in the newly built suites and WOW..simply beautiful!!! Just be careful of the rooms you are booking!

*The convenience store - there's one in the hotel but it's expensive! Left to the entrance of the hotel, there are couple of store you can get your drinks and snacks. There's also one at the Marina which is walking distance from the hotel.

*Not sound proof walls! There's karaoke night on Weds through 1am so it will be hard to sleep through all that noise especially listening to the American Idol Rejects & drunks!

THE GOOD!

*SPA was the best thing in this hotel - very clean and professional, overall one of the best spa's I’ve had in my life!

*2 for 1 happy hr - there's one in the pool area everyday around 4pm.

*Location wise, this place is the best spot to be on, close to The Arch/Lovers Beach, Marina, jetski rentals, water taxi, and close to other eatery (must go next door to 'The Office' for breakfast or lunch.)

Restaurants

*Baja Cantina is the hotel restaurant, entrance to the beach or be on the beach. Good food. Service is good but they can be a little faster when you ask for the check.

*Baja Brewery is the restaurant above with impressive view of the Arch. Food was not that good for me. I think I enjoyed the mist before than anything especially on a hot summer day. This place is good for large group.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ilove2trav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here over Christmas. The location is perfect for a stay in Cabo. It is right on the crazy part of Medano beach, but you can walk down in either direction and find a quiet spot. The resort, however, was quiet and relaxing. You can easily walk into town, which we loved. We booked a studio which can be very different depending on what building they put you in. In the new building, it is more of a hotel room, no balcony, but very nice. That's how they describe it on the website, so no complaints, but would have loved a balcony. I am sure we could have asked to move, but we don't spend much time in the room anyways. We did the timeshare breakfast, which we never do, but they offered us a 3 night stay. It was very professional and not high pressure. We were done in 90 minutes and enjoyed a great breakfast while learning more about Cabo from the representative. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mocha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel was very nice. Rooms clean with a great ocean view from the balcony. We were only one floor below the upper deck restaurant/bar which had live band and though you could hear the band clearly when outside on the patio, it was soundproof enough to not be disturbing once we shut the patio door to go to sleep. Housekeeping staff was very attentive. Room has a microwave and small fridge, coffee maker, and dishes.

The hotel has 2 restaurants on site .. the Baja Brewery is on the top floor with open view perfect for watching the sunset. They have great food/drinks and reasonable prices.

The pool area is clean but not the best place for round the clock sun due to all the surrounding buildings. You have to move from one pool to the other as the sun moves if you are a sun worshiper.

The location is perfect .. right on the beach within easy walking distance to shopping, dining, and activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you want a view .. the ground floor rooms did not look very appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_T_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
964 reviews
0.1 km away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,136 reviews
1.1 km away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.3 km away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
231 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Villas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Villas Beach Resort

Address: Callejon del Pescador s/n | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $303 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Villas Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is a luxury hotel situated on Medano Beach, the most popular stretch of sand in Cabo San Lucas. Cabo Villas is a family owned resort with 138 custom built suites and spectacular views of the Sea of Cortez and Land's End. Amenities include fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet in all areas, satellite TV, three pools, 10-person ocean view Jacuzzi, oceanfront beach club, four on-site restaurants and bars, a world-class spa and personalized service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the "Heart of Cabo", the resort is within easy walking distance to all major attractions including Medano Beach, the marina, Puerto Paraiso Mall, downtown and numerous restaurants and night clubs. With stunning views of the Sea of Cortez, Cabo Villas Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for travelers who seek quality service while enjoying the best of the Cabo San Lucas lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Villas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Villas Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo Hotel Beach
Cabo Villas Beach Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing