We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit delayed of a review but had to share!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. :) So alot can happen in a few years, I realize this but location doesn't change. I just wanted to put my two cents in for what its worth on the lovely Hotel Finisterra even though this review is from my stay in 2007. Going to Cabo is always an adventure, but this hotel really made me feel at home, safe, comfortable.
First of all, the location was ideal for me and my fiance at the time. Enough away from the crazy party loudness, but close enough to head down the hill to the harbor if we wanted to join in on the party. Being perched up on the hilltop the view is worth every penny. You overlook the harbor, beach, ocean, even able to spot any whales migrating, we could even watch the dolphin show free of charge ;)
I remember arriving the first day from that crazy little airport Cabo has and getting out of the cab being offered a warm towel to clean off. The rooms were meh/okay. The grounds were gorgeous with their pools and swim up bars. We did the hike and climb(on our own) to snorkel over on Lover's beach- we even saw a lobster in the water. The water on the hotel side of the beach is usually rough and not good for swimming fyi.

The most annoying element was you could almost not get away from the TimeShare people at that point. Which was for their adjoining property- hopefully by now, its all sold up and they won't hassle you. Its not worth the time they waste even with free breakfast and the sunset booze cruise passes.

If you like to Party hard, there are definitely better located places by all the bars/clubs/restaurants. If you want some peace and perfect quiet, probably you should try looking in the San Jose del Cabo area at one of the bigger easy going resorts. If you want a fun, beautiful, easy going and close to everything hotel this is your winner :)

The next time I go to Cabo San Lucas, this is where I will be staying again :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank meganwescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,318 - 2,324 of 3,007 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Has an AWESOME view. We didnt stay at the hotel but had drinks at the small bar overlooking the ocean built into the cliff and it was an incredible view. The 4 small margaritas we had were Ok at best and the bill was $40.00- that is $10.00 a drink. Seemed way overpriced. And he told us verbially- no bill so I think the waiter and bartender just pocketed the money. There was no one else there. I would say go for the view but ask how much a drink is before you sit down.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mcm9131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed in room 812. The only room on this floor. This was a fabulous two bedroom suite with two jacuzzis, three bathroom, two balconies and a full kitchen. Very quiet with a view to die for! Enjoyed the Whale Watcher Restaurant many times. Good staff with great fresh fish menu items. The swim up pool bar has great food as well.
This is an older hotel, but it's been kept in very good condition. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Watch out for Carillo at the pool bar... He'll get you drunk in a hurry! Great deals for happy hour daily. Agreed with most reviewers that the pools are cold, and the towels worn, but everything else was perfect!

* note they do have a shuttle to take you up and down the huge hill to the marina.... We found this out at the end of our stay after walking up and down a few times per day!


The location was great! Secluded and beautiful views, away from the spring breakers! The restaurant views are amazing, and the breakfast is great too!

Overall, glad we stayed there, and would highly recommend if you are not looking for a 5 star resort! Great value, and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kalephrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Enjoyed our quick trip here for 4 nights. yes the pools are not heated but the water is pleasant enough to go for a quick dip. If your looking for a great location this is one of the best for a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cinemajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed for 4 nights on a voucher December 7-11 before we headed up the coast for 7 more days elsewhere. Since we paid very little for this voucher and after reading the reviews, I didn't expect a 5-star resort. This hotel is a little dated, but the location cannot be beat and it is a comfortable, safe place to stay. Our room was clean and they fixed our very slow-draining sink in the bathroom with promptness. We were on the 5th floor, facing the ocean and could get a WiFi connection sitting on our balcony. We walked everyday down to the marina (5 minutes) and to downtown Cabo (10 minutes) for our meals. If you like fresh ceviche and cocetels de mariscos, there is a dirt parking lot behind the mercado at the marina (just down the hill from the hotel) with a couple of seafood trucks with outdoor seating that has amazing food...so good we went twice in our 4 day stay! We didn't use the pools, as they were chilly, but the hot tubs were nice and warm. The sunsets from the beach were unbeatable. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want a simple, quite hotel with good service and a great location, I would recommend Hotel Finisterra.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 2busy2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great place to stay. Perfect location walking distance to marina with restaurants. Oxxo convenience store right at end of road. Great swimming pools and pretty beach. 3 huge pools and swim up bar. Food by the pool is excellent. Hotel is right against a cliff with beautiful views of the marina and ocean from whale watchers bar. You can't beat the location of this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vslowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.5 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,037 reviews
2.2 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.3 km away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.2 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,924 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $305 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing