We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The good and the bad....”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I visited this hotel from March 28, 2012 to April 02, 2012.
Positive:
I was towards the Marina side with a balcony. The room itself was newly renovated and was beautiful. Beds were also comfy. The balcony view overlooking the marina and dolphin show was amazing. The staff was friendly, curtious, and helpful. The backside of the hotel with the pools and bars are extremely nice. The whole view is eye candy and will make your friends and family extremely jealous they are not there :) The location is optimum. You are walking distance to the nightlife, the Marina (Where you can get onto a lot of the boats to do activities such as snorkeling, sunset cruise, etc), and other attractions. Furthermore the resort does have nice bars with beautiful vies such as the Whale watch Bar and restaurants with delicious food. If you drink you can also get a margarita each for free when entering the resort at one of the bars. Be sure to ask for that.

Cons:
Wifi only works by the pools and the main lobby.
I wish it worked at the room which would have been nice. There pools were usually too cold to swim in. Some hotels next door had heated pools which were very nice. In addition, the hot tubs outside never really got hot enough to enjoy it. I dont even think they were working honestly. The jets never came on once after our attempts to turn them on or the staffs attempts. Also, we accidently left a small iron print on the bedsheet and were charged $260 at the end of our stay. Pretty steep I'd have to say...

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ehsen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    879
    251
    113
    89
See reviews for
561
1,246
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Yes, the rooms are outdated and the pool chairs are worn...but you can't beat the location!!! It is way better than other hotels! The private beach, proximity to town are amazing. The food at the pool is great! And the drinks are delish! You can't beat happy hour or the free wifi. A hidden gem with attentive staff and a great location!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Finisterra Hotel and (time share) is a wonderful place to relax. You're away from the hustle & bustle of town, but still close enough to walk. The staff is fabulous. There is plenty of places at the pool(s) for sunning or sitting in the shade. I miss it already.

Helpful?
Thank auburnhorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisun City, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The wife and I spent 4 nights here with a bunch of friends. A friend of our found a groupon for this place and considering the size of our group (about 10) we figured it would be an agreeable place that would fit everyone's budget. And thus our decision to stay here.

Cabo has a lot of fabulous and luxurious resorts. If luxury is what you're looking for then this is obviously not what you are looking for. This place is for the traveler looking for value.

THE FACILITIES
I have to say the resort was very well maintained for it's age. The grounds were kept very well.

We had a harbor view room with a good size balcony. However, the rooms were realtively small and they had no tables! Basically it was a bed, a TV, and a dresser drawer.

There is no tub. Just a shower, a toilet, and a sync. Something needs to be done about the water pressure and shower head. The water felt like a laser!

THE FOOD
The restaurants are exceptional value. The food was delicious and service great. They were kind enough to cook up some fish that we had caught fishing (of course for a fee). The Whale Watcher Bar had a nice view.

THE POOL
This has to be where I have the most to complain about.

First off, it seems this hotel has a deal with a cruise ships where cruisers book a visit to the pool here as an offshore excursion. They get a buffet meal and use of the pools. Why would a cruiser pay for this offshore excursion beats the heck out of me? The first couple days we were there the Disney Cruise ship was in town. Needles to say there was a bunch of kids running around splashing us we ate next to the pool.

Second, the pools were cold. And so were the jacuzzis for the most part. I only saw the jets working on one of the jacuzzis the whole time we were there and it was as we were leaving.

LOCATION
Great location. A short walk to all the restaurants and clubs.

CONCLUSION
In conclusion, it is what is is... VALUE.... if you are on a budget or just looking for a place to not spend a lot of money while you are partying in Cabo! This is it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kngjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Finisterra. We have been going for 12 years and yes do have a timeshare so we get one of the wonderful Ocean view rooms. There are a lot of truths to the other reviews. We too are dissapointed with a number of the amenities that have not been kept up. However, the positives are as follows; location, location, location. The rooms are old but still very large and accommodate our family of 5 well. The service and people at Finisterra are wonderful. The food at the Palapa is great for a low price and the drinks are reasonable especially during the famous 2-4pm happy hour. We too hope that the new owners put some money into the resort and make it one of the best in Cabo like it used to be.

Room Tip: MAKE SURE you get a room in the main hotel area that faces the Ocean. The rooms are much nicer. DO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just came back on a trip with a friends over the weekend. Purchased through Groupon. A couple of comments:

1. They don't take AMEX.
2. After checking in they were not clear where our rooms were - so we were roaming around the property looking for our rooms. With our bags.
3. Hotel gets bombarded by Cruises 3 x a week - so be prepared for Kids from every direction from the Disney Cruise ship
4. They put us in a double bed room after it was requested that we have a single bed.
5. Bathroom was small and difficult to maneuver around.
6. Every time I went to cash out my bill they always said that my room is booked under Peggy. I am not Peggy and stop asking me why the room is under my name - Call the front desk and figure it out yourself.
7. The Pools are FREEZING. I inquired about this before i went on the trip and reservations said that they pool has been fixed and is now heated. Funny thing is - no one wanted to go to the pool because it was too cold. Even the Jacuzzis were cold!
8. Showers are horrible - you feel like you're getting pierced and the restrictor needs to be removed from the shower head.
9. The food is ok - and doable - margaritas are strong.
10. Friends got charged $40.00 for not returning their towels to the towel lady. Imagine leaving from your vacation and getting hit up for 40 USD for forgetting to return towels. "Hope you had a nice stay - you forgot to return your towels - we're charging you $40 bucks" (Insert foul language here).


All in all I would not stay here again. If it wasn't for the distance from town and the company - i would have moved or been miserable. You get what you pay for from the groupon.

Room Tip: Ask for the Marina Side...heard the rooms are newer over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Gracias Beverly,

We have tried hard to improve in many of the areas that you mention in your review. All of our client’s comments are welcomed and taken into consideration in order to better our service.

As you can tell we are just starting to go over the Trip Advisor responses and have seen better satisfaction of our guests as time passes.

We hope you have the chance to stop by during your next visit to Cabo to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have ALWAYS stayed at the Finisterra over the years of traveling to Cabo. We haven't gone in about 5 years and just came back. We stayed for six nights. Everything is starting to get older. The beds were HORRIBLE! Rock hard along with the pillows. Low lighting in the bathrooms, couldn't see a thing. Very disappointing. Ate at the Whale Watcher bar one time. I ordered Chicken Enchiladas, had about 3 TINY pieces of chicken in it. Food was VERY disappointing. We walked next door everyday for Breakfast at the Playa Grande Resort and sat right on the beach watching whales breach, llstening to harp music, great food. At the Finisterra only one jacuzzi was even close to warm and it was occupied ALL the time. The rest were cold. Staff at the desk and door were friendly and kind as always. No gym/spa faciliities. It was just sold to new ownership, time will tell. Its going to take alot of money to compete with all the new resorts. We will definitely be staying elsewhere next trip to Cabo. Its sad that they haven't kept up with the demand. It used to be a four star in my book, it is now a 2, maybe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VentasFinisterra, Manager at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Debbie R,

Thank you very much for your comments and indeed we are aware of the points that you mention. That is why since the new company took over, changes have been made in many areas and there are still more to come.

Please take a minute to view some of the most recent comments from other guests where you can read the improvements made and the ones to come in the near future.

We hope that you make the time to stop by and see the new SANDOS FINISTERRA LOS CABOS All Inclusive Resort during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.6 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
2.3 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
28.5 km away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
17.6 km away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Property: Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. Paseo de la Marina s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing