We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
You will want to back again, over and over! It is always different

This review is long overdue as I have now been on several expeditions with Eco-Panterra, Lela and... read more

Reviewed April 1, 2020
ColorQueen2014
,
Westlake Village, California
Baja by Boat! Glorious Glamping

There are many ways to see Baja. Glamping with Lela and her crew is a fabulous way to experience... read more

Reviewed May 26, 2019
LumberJackie503
,
Portland, Oregon
via mobile
Read all 64 reviews
  
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
59
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magdalena bay crew provide thousands beauty knowledge land safety birds whales introduction boat participants dive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 64 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Swimming with the whale sharks has always been a goal of mine. Having been on other boats that tried to find them I was a bit dubious, but willing to give it a go.
This trip exceeded all expectations. We swam along side whale sharks multiple times. Lela, her guides, and marine biologists have honed their skills and are able to bring snorkelers along side these gorgeous, massive creatures for a close up view while following the safety protocols for us, as well as the rules for avoiding disturbing these beautiful, tranquil creatures.
The trip is filled with lectures, education and information on the life cycle, habits and challenges that the whale shark, as well as the marine environment in general, faces in today's world. We were also able to snorkel multiple times and observe the beautiful underwater world of the Sea of Cortez, and watch sea lion pups darting about playing.The trip also included a visit to a frigate bird colony, observations of numerous other bird species and opportunities to kayak and walk along uninhabited island beaches.
The small group size is an advantage in an adventure like this. I saw a similar expedition with 84 in the group at over twice the price.
The food and drink were delicious, the crew amazing and experienced. Lela, the director/owner is a super hostess and planner and has designed a remarkable, unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank hoxiewakeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

First the crew amazing, hardworking, kind, food very tasty and diverse, knowledgeable crew which made it informative, owner Lela a naturalist as well as part of the crew, dive masters, chef, Captain and engineer perfecto, saw so many things, we have lived in Hawaii for 40 yrs and just moved to Los Cabos and took this trip to check out our new back yard.Sea of Cortez so alive compared to Hawaii. Lela owner & naturalist took many many underwater picures she posted for us to see on drop box since we didn't have an underwater camera, now we have memories, Martin the Captain was superb as well as Ernesto the chief engineer who maintained the Catapillar engines, the desalination machine for fresh water, Omar & Joel made fresh meals and snacks several times a day.
Eduardo and Zorro (dive master)were panga drivers and dive and spear fisherman helped on all levels with the diver's & us snorkelers. Rafael also a dive quide helping the divers & us snorkle results, Raul a marine biologist, diver, guide was very helpful with knowledge and helping us snorkelers in the water keeping us safe, Alberto a wonderful quide, knowledgeable able the land and ocean, making us feel safe , Alan a wonderful guide and naturalist who made everyone feel so welcome. The crew works so seamless together to keep everything running smoothly that you don't even see, an amazing crew of the most competent men of the sea that you must experience. We are booking next year and also when we have friends or family we will booking some day trips as well as some more expeditons. So much to see in "The Aquarium of three Pacific" Muchas gracias to Lela and the entire crew of the "Adventure " You touched our lives and especially my husband Leo in ways you may never know. It was a psychological breakthrough for Leo who has been suffering depression for 2.5 years and hasn't been in the water doing any kind of sport since this trip. He was snorkeling 3 times a day and being in the ocean since 2015....Thank you so much for this breakthrough. Love, love, love to you all you beautiful crew

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Hanaleisurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanterraEdu, naturalist at Panterra Eco Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Hi Elaine and Leo,

It was a huge pleasure to have you onboard and we are happy to know that we were able to touch your lives. That is one of our main goals. To enrich the lives of our guests in a meaningful way.

To quickly clarify something mentioned in your beautiful review. We DO NOT spearfish on any of our trips. Our trips are to protect and conserve the wildlife as you experienced.

Again, thank you for your beautiful review and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Kind Regards,
Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

My husband and I had an amazing experience on the Panterra Excursion for Educators this summer. Four days on a 110' ship in one of the world's most beautiful and untouched marine environments. Whether snorkeling or kayaking in pristine waters full of life or gazing at the spectacular night sky, we were touched by nature's greatness and significance. Lela, Alan, and the rest of the crew created a safe, fun, and informative experience, really treating us above and beyond our expectations. We ate some of the best food ever! We've traveled to many places in the world, yet this adventure was unique in many ways and highly recommended! Go for it if possible!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank KristinnMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

My girlfriend and I joined 14 other people for 4 great days and nights of snorkeling, kayaking, and sightseeing on the Sea of Cortez (May 2017). This was some of the best snorkeling I've ever done. Lela and the crew of the MV Adventure (110' excursion vessel) were great and incredibly accommodating. They took us out north on the Sea of Cortez were no other tours/commercial operators go. The food was exceptional and even included freshly caught (by the crew) clams and conch. The night snorkel with the mobula rays was exciting. I highly recommend Panterra to anyone with a sense of adventure. 2 days and nights in La Paz were included as was shuttle service from the Cabo airport. A great value.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank IkeL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We did a snorkelling excursion to Santa Maria and Chileno Bay. The staff was very good and made sure we had a great day. The water was a little cloudy at Santa Maria but there were plenty of fish to view.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank linneaself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews