We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from a fantastic vacation at the Riu Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just returned from a fantastic vacation at the Riu Palace”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We traveled with Sunwing and pre booked our seats for a fee but it was the best $140 that we ever spent...will always do this! Sunwing is the way to go...we got a snack, a glass of champagne, a hot meal, wine with the meal, and a movie. I don't think too many airlines provide food or booze anymore. So the great vacation started with a great flight.
Our checkin was so fast that we were chatting with a few people while everyone was checking in and all of a sudden we were the only people left in the lobby to check in, haha.
The resort is very grand and spotless and the staff are very helpful and friendly which I read in many reviews ahead of time. Our room was very nice, we had a pool/ocean view on the top floor, we had a great view and also slightly shaded with palm trees.
The resort has two large infinity pools. We overlooked the quiet pool, and there is also an activiety pool. We never had a problem getting a lounge chair at any time of the day. We also spent time lounging and walking on the beach. Its a blast watching the waves and the crazy people that go swimming even though they've been told how dangerous!
We really enjoyed the food at the buffets and the al a carte restaurants. We ate at the Krystal once and the Japanese and Steak House twice. It was my hubby's birthday and I took some balloons and asked if they would decorate for his bday at the Japanese. They did a great job, with flowers all over the table as well as champagne and at the end of the meal they brought over a dessert and the staff sang happy bday to him. It was such a nice touch.
We took a tour to Lover's/Divorce beach through Sunwing. It was $24 for both of us and we got transporation from hotel to the marina and got a glass bottom boat tour of the marina (lots of money there) we stopped where all the snorklers were and got to see lots of colourful fish, a tour of lands end and around to the pacific side where we saw some sea lions lounging on the rocks, and back to lover's beach to get off there and walk around and see the incredible sights. That is a must do for anyone that goes there. Its one thing to see it from the hotel but to see it up close its really beautiful.
We also took a tour to Todos Santos (about 1 hr up the Pacific Coast) to the Hotel California that's owned by Canadians and its recently been renovated. It was a pricely excursion but we enjoyed it and it also included a stop at a blanket factory (a small hut that makes the mexican blankets) which was very cool, along with tequila tasting and homeade, melt in your mouth bread. Our guide also took us around a museum in the small town and then we shopped for an hour or so and then had lunch. Right across from Hotel California is a bar called Tequila Sunrise that is known for having the best Margaritas in the world.
One day we decided to walk to the liquor store which is in a small mall that has a Sams Club and Walmart. It was about a 20 minute walk from the resort, very safe. We also took a bus for $1 each into town to shop around. It was really cool seeing the shops, I think I saw more Canadians and American's then locals. We went to Sammy Hagar's bar, the Cabo Wabo and the margarita there was awesome too. There are so many bars, restaurants and shops to see, we didn't get to see everything we wanted to. We ended up coming back after dark, 8:30ish and felt totally safe on the bus.
The weather was incredible, full sun, 85-88 everyday, and yes it gets cool in the evening. Bring some warm sweaters, you will definately use them. I brought a couple but they were light and some nights it was really really cool.
We visited the Santa Fe resort next door but we didn't stay because it was March Break in the States for high school as well as colleges. There were soooo many out of control young kids drinking and puking everywhere. The resort itself looks beautiful and if it wasn't so busy we may have gone over a bit more. We were just so glad that we chose the Palace over the Santa Fe.
We will definately be back to Cabos, we loved it.

Room Tip: bring lots of american $1 for tipping. Its not necessary but we did and it was very much appreciate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadowboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,970
    2,099
    744
    437
    341
See reviews for
1,214
2,997
67
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,622)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas from April 1st- 5th. After reading a lot of the reviews, we were a bit nervous about some things but we picked up some good tips and had an amazingly relaxing and great vacation. We booked an ocean room view junior suite and we got a room on the second floor directly looking out over the ocean. Our room was located on the activity pool side of the resort because this end is actually quieter at night. We did not have any problems with noise in the hallways. Even though our room was on the second floor, we still had a spectacular view of the ocean and lovers beach right from our balcony. We would sit out there before dinner and enjoy some drinks and snacks looking watching the cruise ships come in.

We arrived on Sunday around 1:30 and of course there were no dinner reservations available for that night, but we were able to book for Monday and Tuesday. We did get up at 7:00 the next morning to stand in a very short line to make the remaining of our reservations. We were able to get reasonable times that fit our schedule and although this process could probably be handled better, it was not nearly as much of a pain as some make it out to be. We were actually up and our our way to the gym- so it is not like we deliberately had to wake up early.

Speaking of the gym- not the most up to date facility. Machines are very old and somewhat rusty. Cardio equipment is at a premium and you have to stalk the machines waiting for someone to finish. Earlier in the morning is better, but after two days, we opted for a great morning walk along the beach instead.

Even though we knew you could not swim on the beach directly infront of the hotel, we were a little disappointed with the beach set up. Even if you pulled your chairs out from the shade- you were hounded by peddlers combing the beach everyday. Not very relaxing when they are yelling at you to check out their goods. So we chose to find a quiet spot by the quiet pool where the loungers faced the ocean. We had a great view and a nice sea breeze. Pools were great. We stuck to the quiet pool and the swim up bar adjacent to it. My favorite spot was reading on the in pool loungers. So comfortable and peaceful. Drink service around the pool was great. They were very attentive and came by frequently to check on us.

We had lunch the first day by the beach buffet, but then stuck to the smaller and quieter restaurant by the activity pool "Santa Fe". Still a buffet, not as many selections but not as crazy and "cafeteria" like as the main lunch buffet. Plus you can sit outside overlooking the beach. We had breakfast outside everymorning at the main buffet. Anything you could want, including omlettes and eggs made to order. For dinner, we tried the steakhouse, the japanese restaurant, and the fusion place. We loved the japanese and the steakhouse. We thought- "krystal"- the much sought after place was not all it was cracked up to be. A bit stuffy, high on presentation but not with the food to live up to it. We were looking for nice, but still casual and laid backed. We would have returned to the japanese or steakhouse place again if we were there another night.

Service all around was incredible. People are friendly, helpful, and geniunely want to make your stay enjoyable. We did take a water taxi $10 round trip per person booked from the dive shop at the hotel to take us to lovers beach. We went early in the morning and it was secluded so we were able to explore and lay on the beach for a few hours all by ourselves. It is a little bit of an adventure getting on and off the boat- but doable. We took a regular taxi $12 each way into town one night to walk around the marina and had some drinks at Sammy Haggars Cabo Wabo Cantina while listening to live music. One night, we ventured over to the adjacent Riu Santa Fe just to check in out. A much younger crowd and way more people. Made our hotel look like a ghost town. We preferred the quieter side. We did not take in any of the shows, instead we chose to spend our nights in the lobby bar having drinks outside overlooking the sea. Some nights there was piano music. Overall we had a great vacation. In the end, it is all what you make of it. We were happy to be away, enjoying the beautiful weather and not having to work- so there was very little to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 30/3-6/4 and it was terrible.
The hotel I think is just too big to provide any decent level of service.
The rooms are ok, but by no means comfortable, the beds are hard and the sheets are paper thin.
The speciality restaurants are terrible, all the food apart from one restaurant is pre cooked; you are ushered in and out so quickly you do not have time to enjoy a meal.
The buffet is the best of a bad bunch but then the food is mediocre at best.
The drinks selection is terrible; the fruit juices are from another planet I think!
I dont understand how or why people compliment this hotel; there are many more, better ones to stay at. Just having unlimited food and alcohol does not make a hotel!
There is no decent kids club and nothing after 5pm unless you pay.
To make matters worse I got food poisoning from the "steakhouse" restaurant and despite telling the hotel management they did not even bother to enquire as to my well-being.
Stay away.

Room Tip: Beware of room descriptions; they are very misleading, their ocean view room is a partial view; if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Photomultiplier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We are in the middle of our stay at this property. Overall we are happy with the property, the only issue we have are the beds. We have an Ocean View room, Junior Suite. The bed configuration in all the rooms are either one king or two double sized beds. Since we are a family of 4 we have a room with two doubles pushed together. We are average size so we can all share on two double beds, but it is tight. The rooms at this property overall are not big enough to accomodate two queens. The rooms also have old tube style TV's, not a deal breaker, but not exactly modern. Also there is no wifi in the rooms, just in the lobby. The maid service has been excellent, the bathrooms are nice with good pressure in the showers. The overall property is very nice, with everything within an easy walk. The food at the hotel is very good for an all inclusive. We have stayed at Iberostars (Jamaica), and Barcelo in Riviera Maya, and I would rank the food here a close second to the Iberostar. We have been using the Riu Kids Club for our 6 year old and they have been great. The property is kept immaculately clean, and the hotel employees are very friendly. Regarding excursions we have done the whale watching which was fantastic (it is the end of the whale watching season as they head back to Alaska in mid April). We also plan to do a Camelback/Baja desert and Lovers Beach excursions. Overall we are happy with the resort, the only issue is the bed configuration in the rooms. Would we come back? Probably not, since we are from New York, and overall prefer the Caribbean and the Riviera Maya side of Mexico, but we are enjoying our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waitingforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My life and I were in Cabo from March 27th -April 3rd and this time we were unable to stay at a RIU Resort due to arrangments out of our control and we ended up at the Melia Cabo Real. After three days of suffering with crappy food, poor service, watered drinks, ete I called the RIU and asked if as a RIU Class Gold Customer I could use my points and get a day pass for us. The manager "Tanya" told us to come on down and she would take care of us. Well we arrived and Tanya and Oscar her staff member had us signed in and in the pool in less than 15 minutes. We had a great day met some real nice people and were taken care of by staff members who truly know how to take care of a customer. These people at the RIU Palace smiled, laughed, and really cared if we were taken care of and we appriciated it.

The resort is large the pools are great and you can look right out over the ocean from one end of the pool. The food and the service was wonderful, had a wonderful time at the RIU Palace and just wanted to say thanks again to Tanya and the whole staff of the RIU Palace Cabo for making our day and our vacation a great one........We will see you again but, next time we will be staying in the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naiboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have been to 7 Riu properties over the years and the Palace was tops in our opinion. We arrived after dark so it was a little difficult to get our bearings and see the views. The only thing we can complain about was the very obstructed "oceanview" we were given on the second floor overlooking the Santa Fe restaurant and pool. Thanks for that - we booked the Palace to get away from the spring breakers. We were out of our room most days and once the pool closed, it was relatively quiet. However, we had requested an upper floor with a nice oceanview and after seven visits to Riu properties, we were very disappointed. We asked for a new room that night and were told to come back in the morning - however, that day staff had nothing for us. Once we got over that disappointment, the rest was great.

We were there with 3 other couples and always managed to find lounges by the pool or on the beach even at 10:00 in the morning. We knew going in that we would not be able to swim on the beach but the pools were lovely and warm and the views of those huge waves pounding in were spectular. We witnessed a wedding set up on the beach with an amazing background of huge waves crashing in - what a great back drop for wedding pictures.

The food in the buffet the first night was nothing special but then again we were there fairly late. The rest of the week we were able to secure all the a la carte restaurants and went to the Japanese and Steak twice as we liked them the best. Fusion was pretty good too just a little over the top in presentation we thought. We thought both the red and white wines were acceptable. We normally had lunch in the beach buffet but on the last day we found the Italian buffet located in the Mexican restaurant - wish we had found it sooner.

I think what set the Palace apart from the others was the fantastic, friendly service throughout the resort. We sat at the same table for breakfast in the buffet and our server was fantastic - he had our mimosas all ready for us and kept them coming. He was so friendly and funny - of course we tipped him well. In the lobby before dinner we were royally attended to by Lou Lou who would find us no matter where we sat and the drinks and peanuts were always on hand. Around the pool, we were constantly supplied with drinks whether we tipped or not. We never passed an employee who did not smile and speak to us. The place was spotless and the pool was swept several times a day. Public bathrooms were always clean and with extra supplies.

I can't really think of any complaints other than our room location and view - I guess there were alot of stairs unless you wanted to search for the elevator - they were there, just out of the way. The beach was tough to walk far on due to the grainy sand that wasn't packed down but we still enjoyed it,

We did book an excursion to the Arch through our rep which provided transportation back and forth to the marina and took us all around the area. We were dropped off at Lover's Beach for about an hour - that was an adventure getting off and on the boat! The sea lions put on a good show jumping for fish and riding in on the back of the fishing boats. We also spent some time in Cabo just walking around and shopping and stopped for a drink. Very quick and reasonable cab ride too.

Weather was perfect during the day in the mid 80's and cooled off at night to low 60's but still comfortable. Didn't get a chance to see many evening shows as we had 8-8:30 dinner seatings and caught the end a couple of times. Dropped in to the disco a couple of times but when it turned to techno kind of music, we left it to the kids. We had no problem with noise in the halls - just early am with the room service people.

All in all our group of 8 had a great time and I, for one, would definitely return to Cabo.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor to see view over the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Westhilltravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were fortunate to stay at the RUI Palace in Cabo over spring break 2012. Our party consisted of three familys, 6 adults and 6 tween/teenagers. Having stayed at Beaches in the past, we were a little concerned with taking our kids to a "non kid" resort. We had a great experience. The hotel itself is beautiful. Everything is meticulously maintained, we even saw a man in the lobby with a toothbrush cleaning the carved wood tables. As soon as the gardeners had clipped the bushes, the clippings were gone.

The service was next to none. Every 15 minutes someone would be by while we were lounging on the beach, asking what he could bring us to drink. At the lobby bar, we had someone by our table in minutes after the last person left. Everyone went out of their way to make sure our needs were met and they seemed happy to be there.

As has been mentioned, this is not a swimming beach, and the sand is course and can hurt your feet. But, as long as you know that ahead of time, it's not a problem. The water taxis come right to the beach, and the on site folks can take care of anything you want in terms of scuba, snorkeling, parasailing, etc. We did find that working with the beach vendors was the way to go in terms of pricing. It just depends upon your comfort level.

The food was very good. The buffet had a great selection. The specialty restaurants were a lot of fun. Was the food gourmet? No, but most of it was very tasty.

There were some drunk spring breakers at the property, but nothing like at the Santa Fe next door. When we saw people getting out of hand, the staff was there in seconds, helping or containing the situation. It only happened a couple of times, but I was impressed with the promptness and the dedication to keeping it a family friendly resort.

The only complaint my 16 year old had was that there wasn't a teen club, like at the Beaches. However, the RIU doesn't advertise itself in this manner, so we weren't expecting it.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iloveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
3.1 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#22 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,844 reviews
1.6 km away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,817 reviews
25.8 km away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,757 reviews
14.6 km away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing