We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wrong location on booking.com” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quinta Del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wrong location on booking.com”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a live report from Quinta del Sol by solmar.
I used booking.com to do my reservation and according to the map this hotel was located rather close to "El arco". Unfortunately I went to that place just to find out that the information was not correct and I had to move to an unexpected location. I wasted my first 3 hours in Cabo San lucas with this problem. I used my Swedish phone to talk to their staff, Irene, Eugenia and Israel, I was hoping they will solve the problem but instead I just wasted my time and money. They recognized the error but they didn’t fix it. I do not care if they blame booking.com or if it was their admin issue, I am on holidays and I do not want to hear their poor management excuses. The hotel is far from any beach, is on the road so is noisy. The pool is small and there is construction work around so is noisy. The breakfast is “juice OR fruit” kinda type. There is small kitchen on the room but is useless as there is no dishes, no pots, nothing. I regret staying in here. If I weren’t tricked about the location I wouldn’t have book it in the first place. I do not recommend.

Room Tip: maybe the midle upper rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JuanCHerreraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel B, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with us. In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occurs so the appropriated action can be taken, we appreciate you took your time to do so.
According with our last conversation I think it was taken adequate action to help improve your experience with us
we aprreciate you taking the time to write to us and Please accept our apologies and if you will choose to visit us again in your next vacation, and a great opportunity to demonstrate our better service.

Cordially
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    92
    44
    7
    14
See reviews for
82
90
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel 3 times for 1 night at a time prior to a liveaboard trip on the Solmar V in Dec, March and June. Felt safe and the pool was very nice. Rooms were quiet and clean, shower was great. For the price, 79.00 a night, was very happy with the hotel. No restaurant but breakfast was included. Continental Breakfast + some, so a good value. You can walk 10+ min to the mall and cut thru to the wharf. Allowed us late checkouts, so nice. So, good location. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: all rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel B, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Quinta del Sol by Solmar. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel.
with pleasure I inform you that on your next visit you can try our new restaurant Las Quintas. was opened last weekend

Cordially
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Staying here and got a good bargain. Will say that the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable, That being said - a couple of issues. Keys seem to malfunction and one needs to go down to lobby to get them rekeyed. Phones are difficult to use - staff says that they're unlocked but really are locked. And finally, pool should be heated. It's not all that warm during the winter and it would be nice to take a swim rather than wait for the overcrowded jacuzzi to open up. It's about 20 minute walk to downtown. Will see how the rest of the nights ere go. Another issue are the bathrooms - the toilet/shower area looks as if it were build for midgets -)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel B, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
We appreciate that you took your time to provide us with your comments, which are very valuable and important for us… On behalf of Quinta del Sol, we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your recent stay with us.
We hope you give us an opportunity to demonstrate to you how important your comments are and how seriously we took action. It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in your next vacation, and a great opportunity to demonstrate our better service.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed at the Quinta Del Sol for 3 nights prior to our 2 weeks at the Pueblo Bonito. The hotel was very clean and everything in the room worked great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 rating was for 2 reason; 1) The pool area was going though some type of construction upgrade, and 2) The room we had on the second floor was close to the street on the side of the hotel, and many cars & trucks in Mexico are not the quietest vehicles. Next year when we return, and we will return, we will attempt to get a room on the left side of the property.

Thanks Quinta Del Sol, we enjoyed staying with you.

Room Tip: This is a great location. You can walk to the beach, walk to WalMart, walk to City Club, and walk d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel B, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
We appreciate that you took your time to provide us with your comments, which are very valuable and important for the success of Quinta del Sol Hotel.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that were caused to you while we were working in improving our Pool area.

Thank you for your review
Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is no resort but a great budget hotel located 10min walk from downtown cabo. The free breakfast was awesome. They have cereal, fruit, yogurt, granola, waffles, toast... The pool is clean. Friendly staff. If u're a light sleeper, ask for bedroom on 2nd floor cus the cars are parked right in front of ur room, on the 1st floor. They only have two double bed rooms, no king or queen. It's got a tiny kitchenette with a fridge, stove, utensils etc. I would recommend this hotel, if u're a budget traveller like me. It is really clean and comfortable for the price u pay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zomtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel B, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Quinta del Sol, we value your patronage.
We look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

One of the few inexpensive options in Cabo San Lucas, 10 minutes walk from the beach and like 20 minutes walk into the center of Cabo San Lucas. The rooms are good standard and excellent value for the money, the breakfast is ok but not very special. When we stayed at the hotel in August 2011 the new breakfast room was still under construction and the old one is extremly small and the lady who serves breakfast has difficulties to serve all needs. The pool is small but seems to be clean and offers some refreshment in the boiling heat. The little shop offers cool drinks and snacks but is a bit shabby. One of the few minus points is the bad smell in the hotel that seems to come from a water treatment facility just behind.

Los Cabos is the heaven for time share sales, so you can hardly escape them. Due to their clever sales strategy it will be had to resist their offers. But if you are clever and escape the temptation you may get some free nights in a 5* hotel, a good breakfast or some extra perks such as a free boat trip or entrance into a resort. Beware they know every psychological trick to make you buy.

Los cabos is an extremly weather secure place, even during mexican "Hurrican season", restaurants are rather expensive - avoid the places around the Marina if you want to save money. We found good value food at the "Crazy Lobster" near town square.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dominik w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

The room was comfortable , the bathroom was clean and functional , everything was in working condition and the staff was excellent. There was a fridge in the room and , overall, it was very quiet for a resort town that is notorious for partying. The location just could not be better. It is walking distance to Cabo San Lucas downtown and just far enough out of downtown to maintain its independence from bars, street life , gentlemen's clubs and the like. There are restaurant options very close by , as well as little convenient stores and a Movistar outlet for those with cell phones utilizing Movistar ( recommended cell carrier ) .
There was breakfast on the house and a security gate. I cannot think of a single reason not to recommend this hotel , particularly due to its outstanding price to value ratio. You could easily spend twice or more in Cabo for a comparable hotel. I would stay here again and feel good about it. Very Highly Recommended Choice for a Budget Hotel in Cabo !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingwilbury2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#39 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
#33 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.0 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#49 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Hotel Mar de Cortez
#36 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.9 km away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#34 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 km away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#50 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Del Sol

Property: Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Address: Boulevard Lazaro Cardenas S/N | Bordo. Col. Arenal, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quinta Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at this cozy 72-suite property now enjoy a beautiful new lobby, remodeled event space, a new Jacuzzi area and an on-site restaurant, Las Quintas.Located less than a mile from the Sea of Cortes and close to the many attractions of Los Cabos, guests at the Quinta del Sol have access to a long list of activities on land and sea. There’s world-class golf, deep-sea fishing, scuba diving, horseback riding, shopping in downtown Cabo San Lucas and sunset boat rides. In every sense, the Quinta del Sol is close to everything.Hotel amenities include a multilingual staff, 24-hour front desk, currency exchange, baggage hold, laundry facilities, dry cleaning, on-site car rental, business services, ice machines, airport shuttles (fee applies), free parking, adult and family pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and interior corridors. Guests also have access to facilities at nearby sister resorts, including the Solmar Resort Beach Club.Las Quintas Restaurant and Bar is a new addition to Quinta del Sol. The well-appointed restaurant features an indoor air-conditioned area overlooking the pool and an outdoor terrace for those who want to enjoy the splendid weather of Los Cabos. The menu features American and Mexican favorites. When staying four or more nights, theme nights may be enjoyed at the Solmar Resort.Spacious junior suites feature satellite television, free Wi-Fi Internet access, and two double beds. For added convenience, there are work desks, hair-dryers, laptop size electronic in-room safe deposit boxes, blackout drapes/curtains, iron and ironing board, air conditioning and wake-up and daily turndown service. Kitchenettes include a refrigerator, coffee-maker, cook top, sink and dining space. In-room child care is available. This property is handicapped accessible.The All Inclusive plan includes breakfast, lunch and dinner at Las Quintas Restaurant. Unlimited domestic beverages, parking and WiFi, complimentary in room minibar beverages the day of arrival, laundry service, discounts at recommended restaurants and spa treatments at our sister hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Quinta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Best Western
Hotel Quinta Del Sol Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing