We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No soup for you, but a striped towel is required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No soup for you, but a striped towel is required”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Loved the resort, the scenery and food. Just don't order the won ton soup from the restaurant. Truly awful. Starting from the beginning, my wife, her sister and her husband and I arrived at VDA on Saturday January 7. Nice lobby, good check-in etiquette and a nice two bedroom unit on the fifth floor with a view of Finnisterra. The resort is a one third scale design of Villa del Palmar in Cancun, We visited the nearby WalMart and loaded our kitchen with food, beer and booze; mmm beer. After we finished unpacking, we decided to have supper at the only restaurant open in the evening. Three orders of sea bass and I ordered seafood won ton. Bad move.
Tip #1 - Don't order the won ton.
We went into downtown the next morning. The taxi driver dropped us off at the Mercado Marina building and we had to, literally, run away from the salesmen and booking agents.
Tip #2 - Have the cab driver drop you off at the white tourist building just north of the Mercado. No salesmen.
After walking up and down the marina we knew why the salesmen were so persistent; the marina and the downtown are empty. The recession,,depression (tomato,,potato) has kicked the town right in the knackers. There was no one in the restaurants or bars at noon.
Tip #3 - Tip, I mean, really - tip well.
We booked a fishing charter for 3 days on a 31 foot - 10 foot wide boat for 1,200.00 US$ The price was one third of the price quoted over the internet.
Tip #4 - Don't book any excursion or tour on the internet or at the resort. You will pay up to three times the amount you can negotiate on site.
Tip #5 - Buy a weekly fishing license instead of buying a daily license.
Tip #6 - Buy some extra live bait so you have some bait left over to hand out to the pelicans and seals on the trip back to the marina.
Tip #7 - Get the restaurant to cook your catch, it costs twenty bucks a head but you get Broiled, Grilled and Blackened fish and it is awesome.
The breakfast buffet at VDA is superb and be sure to drink lots of jugo verde (hoogo berday).
We were never hassled about not taking an owners update, as we had already attended one in Cancun.
Tip #8 - If you want to buy a timeshare use the free WiFi at the hospitality centre to determine how little it cost to buy a timeshare secondhand.
Be sure to visit the California restaurant at Villa del Palmar. There is a trolley to take you between resorts. The restaurant has a well behaved cat that sits by your feet and waits for whatever scrap you give him.
Tip #89 Be sure someone at your table orders some seafood for "El gato".
VDA is a nice quiet resort with a rather limited choice for restaurants and bars, but you are close to some of the best night life in BCS,
We plan to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,883
    536
    123
    64
    39
See reviews for
1,069
951
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was our first time to Cabo and we loved it. Very relaxing. The hotel is very nice. If you want to get a deal at the pool bar, be-friend a waiter and make a 'deal'. This hotel is perfect if you want to beclose to town (about $7 USD to get 5-11 people into town via Taxi). the beach is absolutely breathtaking and clean. The pool is wonderful,too. Not deep, and not crowded at all. It's also great for families, as it's not a party hotel at all. The connecting "Palmar" hotel is about a 2 min walk and is more suited for partying.
I think the gold card thing is a joke, but whatever, it gets you 'discounts' that you wouldn't get anyway - so do it. Do NOT DO the 'signature service' they offer you before you go. $200 for NOTHING but a little 'aromatherapy' in your room and a cheap weaved basket you can buy at any shop in town. Loved the town-friendly people. Typical Mexico with 'deals' 'special prices, just for you', but really nice. I would definetly go to the Marina and rent a boat to go out to the water. $150 for 3 hours of 'fishing' and whale watching. We saw about 12 whales and some sea lions came right to our boat that we got to feed. And, DO go to Lovers Beach. Really great for kids - they can explore the rocks and have a great time. We just got back yesterday and I'm already looking to go again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is pool side or ocean view. You don't want a room that's by the 'fed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashenbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm,B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week visit to Cabo San Lucas and Villa del Palmar.
We were three adults staying in a 1 bdrm unit overlooking the pool. There is a very nice wall bed unit in the living area which is a vast improvement over the usual sofa beds. We enjoyed friendly service and although we were near the end of the line for housekeeping, we appreciated the daily maid service and clean linens. The pool towels were substantial and easily traded for dry towels as many times as you wished. Villa del Palmar caters more to a younger crowd with young families - more activities happening around the pools etc. Pool areas very clean & well maintained. The Fiesta and BBQ nights were well attended and we were able to enjoy the terrific music from our balcony in spite of not attending either event. We bought food at Costco, Walmart & Soriano & cooked in our unit for most meals. We did buy a timeshare at Villa del Arco - because it is newer, quieter and more luxurious and are looking forward to taking our family there next year. Beautiful, safe for swimming beach. -

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean or pool view - rental rooms often face away from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegan Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week through our timeshare program. We would return, but have a few 'plus and minus' comments.
1. The people, service, and cleanliness of the resort are outstanding. From the front desk, to the great variety of waiters, to the housekeeping and bell staff. Absolutely 100%.
2. The timeshare - owners update - is not great - but we went to express our dissaction with our original purchase process and promises not kept. After that they left us alone.
3. We had a studio unit - this was a negative for us. We were told that traveling at this time of year we should expect an upgrade to a one bedroom. This didn't happen - even though the resort was not very busy (maybe only 50%). The studio was a very poor design compared to the PV Villa resort. It had a bed, small kitchen facilities, but only 1 chair in the room - so no place for us to sit and eat - other than on the balcony. And no way for both of us to sit inside the room. Very strange. The studio design that we were shown in the ts presentation looked great - but this isn't what we had.
4. The weather was great - so we didn't spend alot of time in the room anyway, but one of the great advantages of the condo type units is the kitchen facilites so you don't have to eat out all of the time. It just wasn't workable with this studio design.
5. Loved Cabo. Had great times in the town, and at Baja Buggies. Superb service in the restaurants in the city.

So, we'll be back - and maybe even at the Villa del Arco - but never again in this type of studio.

Room Tip: Don't chose a studio. A higher floor is better - at least 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villa Del Arco from January 21-28, 2012. We have some friends with a timeshare and the 4 of us stayed in a two bedroom. The location was great. We were on the 6th floor right above the ship in the pool. We could have thrown a rock into the ocean it was so close.
Balcony was great place to watch sunrises and eat breakfast.

Had no problems with any timeshare sales reps. We were not ever approached.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TennesseeMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My new husband and I just got home a couple days ago from an unbelievable honeymoon at Villa del Arco. As owners/members, I knew that we would have a great vacation but never could have imagined the hospitality shown by the staff. From check in all the way through our stay we were greeted by name and consistently given great honeymoon perks (champagne, activity discounts, great upgrades). The rooms themselves are gorgeously updated and luxurious. We had an unbelievable view of the water with a huge patio. The pool is great and the beach is even better. During our stay we were able to use the cabanas for free, and had fantastic beach-side drink and food service.

Overall I would absolutely recommend this resort to all. One word of caution- I would not to the all-inclusive option. The food at the restaurants is mediocre at best, but who wants to eat at the resort when there are multiple great beach bars and nice restaurants just a quick cab ride away? :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, on a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our 2nd trip to Cabo San Lucas and stayed in the Villa Del Palmar the first time. Chose the Arco simply so that we could have the connecting rooms as there were 5 of us (one 17 y/o and 4 adults). We were on AI both trips. We really enjoyed the quieter pool area and the fact that all the noisy parties and functions were held at the Palmar. The gym at the Arco is much bigger and the spa is beauitful! Food was excellent with lots of choices for an AI being able to eat at both the Arco and Palmar. Be prepared to pay more for the rooms at the Arco compared to the Palmar though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesmile99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,544 reviews
0.7 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
802 reviews
4.8 km away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
2.1 km away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,663 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create magical memories the minute you walk into Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa in Cabo San Lucas, an idyllic and delightful retreat, where the staff is committed to ensuring you get the best of the 3 Rs: relaxation, recreation and romance. This sophisticated five-star, all-suite property, often referred by past guests as calming, beautiful and comfortable, offers secluded stretches of beach where you can shut out the world and relish in the surroundings. Our comfortable, yet luxurious suites feature unbeatable views of sand and sea, including the exotic El Arco rock formation, the official symbol of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing