We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This resort is unbeatable for the budget. We've stayed at five-star resorts with slightly better food and sevice, but those places are 3x more expensive than the RIU Santa Fe. This resort is perfect if you are looking for a clean and beautiful resort at a good price.

Rooms - Very Good
The rooms are small but very nice with well appointed tile and woodwork. We stayed in an ocean view room (7325) that was close to the beach. Because the nights were cool, we slept with the door open and listened to loud waves crash on the beach. The view of Lands End from our balcony was amazing.

Resort Grounds - Excellent
The grounds are perfectly kept throughout the large resort. The architecture and landscaping are beautifully designed and provide an excellent vacation environment. Staff are constantly cleaning and maintaining the grounds and buildings. This is where the resort puts the greatest effort. They may not have five-star food, but the grounds are better than many five-star resorts.

Beach - Very Good
The sand is rougher than the Caribbean, but still very fine and white. The beach has a relatively steep descent to the water, but still provides plenty of space for lounging. The water is bright blue and clean. It gets deep quickly, so there is not a lot of space for wading in the water. The surf is fairly strong, but as long as you are a good swimmer, there is plenty of opportunity to swim.

Food - Good
While the food is not as good as a five-star resort, it is still very good. Ala carte restaurants had good and unique dishes, and the buffets had many choices. Occassionally the food lacked an excellent flavor, but we always new that the ingredients and preparation were high quality.

Drinks and Bar Service - Good
Bartendars are friendly and attentive. Drinks were always strong. We like to drink a resort dry of high-quality tequila and this resort did not have Don Julio or other comparable tequilas. Their best tequila is El Jimador which is 100% agave and decent. Some drinks didn't taste the best, but it was always easy to get another.

Location - Excellent
Just a few minutes from downtown and Lovers Beach. A quick bus ride gets you to downtown and a quick water taxi gets you to Lovers Beach. Downtown has many great restaurants and bars, and Lovers Beach is great for snorkling and swimming in lighter surf. The sand is fine like the Caribbean and the limestone mountains are gorgeous.

Summary - Very Good
For a non-five star resort, this place is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank avforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,406
    3,003
    1,349
    617
    510
See reviews for
1,787
3,363
134
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Love this place,returned this year & should return next year. Saw whales again. Rosember is the best server ever. Good food (except in specialty resturants) good service Perfect location cheap cab or bus trip down town (felt very safe) will return as often as $ permits.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rufusrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Riu resorts have it all.No matter what kind of holiday your after this resort will meet your needs.
It is a large resort and spread out with many options.We found ourselves hanging out in different areas(pools) and feeling like we were somewhere new!The staff couldn't do enough for you and always with a smile.We would recommend bringing coffee and tea with you,there coffee was unbearable and black tea almost non-exsistant.The food at all venues was great!
The beach was wonderful and Cabo was a 20-30 min walk.

Room Tip: We were in Bldg 7,which in our opinion was a hotel all in-itself.It had its own lobby with a staff m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 114thelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from our getaway at the Riu Santa Fe. We've stayed at a few allinclusives in the past, but this is one resort that we will return to. Many of the comments that others have posted are true. It is a bit of a pain to get reservations at one of the four ala carte restaurants. We went to the Italian and Mexican and we thought both were good. I had the risotto which was ok, but friends said that the steak at the Italian restaurant was outstanding. No swimming at the beach, but it really wasn't necessary because of the amazing pools! The beach is a good place to relax and get some sun. The swim up pools are where the party is happening!! Either way, the Santa Fe will deliver the perfect get away whether you want to party or chill.

The staff was even more inviting than I ever expected. Everyone was extremely pleasant and always made eye contact and said hola! Many people commented on mike Tyson (the bartender), but we thought Roberto stole the show. He can make any drink or shot you can imagine!

We had a 50 minute couples massage in the spa. For $150 it was worth it! Very relaxing and a great experience.

Many people were taking the water taxi to lovers beach and all reported it was awesome. We did not go. We did go downtown to the shops and marina where a lot of bargaining for souvenirs! The vendors were NOT overbearing. They would all ask you to come onto their shop, but if you said no, they didn't keep harassing you. We had a blast dealing with th local merchants at the flea market. A quick lunch and margarita at CaboWabo was a perfect break. We felt safe at all times.

My travel agent highly recommended this resort as a low cost, highly enjoyable place. We were NOT disappointed! I'm sure you won't be either! I highly recommend the Riu to anyone that wants to have some fun in the sun in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimboshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just home on 17th Feb 2012. It is a beautiful view from the pool, which is not heated. Nor can you swim in the ocean, strong tides. We were told it was their winter and the better time to holiday is in Sept. The hotel was completely sold out. It is no wonder the staff were run off their feet. They did their best to keep up, how ever I could see it in their eyes they were very tired. I prefer the Riu Palace, that was sold out as well and is right nest door. We walked over and looked very quite and not having as much fun as the Santa Fe was. Rooms are clean and Bluiding 7 is the one for us. Right beside the main pool and breakfast area. They have another bigger breakfast near building 4 as well as smaller pool, no view. For Cabo I would say Santa Fe, other destinations I would choose the Riu Palace. Pools are warm and can swim in the oceans. First time here and "yes I would say to you stay here". One last point, the beach was redone with pebbles, hard to walk on. You want to stay close to the water as it is sandy there. Very few flys or mosquitoes. Enjoyed that. Also it was spring break, it was load at night with party people yelling as they came back to the rooms drunk, woke me up.

Room Tip: We liked to be close to pool and ocean so building 7 was for us. You can walk to the marina which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shade1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Everything about this resort was excelllent, except for the food, which I feel was average and not much of a variety, which brought my rating to only a Very Good. The grounds and the rooms were very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly at all times. The pools were a little "chilled", but once in them, they seemed ok. We were there from 2/12 thru 2/16 and stayed in building 7 (beach building). We will definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: beautiful view from room 7322
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpanaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, SD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I traveled with a large group to Cabo San Lucas where we spent a week at the RIU Santa Fe, just returning on 2/12/12. We had a wonderful time at this exceptionally clean and well-maintained resort. We stayed in building 4 which for us was a perfect location as it was in the middle between the beach and the main eating areas. However, one of the things we enjoyed was the compact design of the resort and how while it was quite large it was easy and quick to get from one location to another. The food was excellent - the main buffet had many choices. We especially enjoyed the Steak House and the Italian specialty restaurants. The Mexican was nothing great and some of our group said the Aisan was not very good so we did not even try it. The pools were beautiful although the middle pool between the two bar pools close to the ocean was always cold. The ocean is not swimable and even walking on the beach is a chore due to the strong pull of the waves and the wet soft sand but it was fun to watch the waves roll in. I recommend watching the sunrise on the beach, not only is it beautiful but at this same time the sting rays right off shore start jumping out of the water and slapping down, making a wonderful sight!
The staff were always cleaning yet always friendly. The grounds were beautiful. The restaurant reservation system was a little different from other places we've been - starting at 7:00AM you could make reservations for that night, or for two nights from then. So if it was a Monday you could get reservations for Monday night or Wednesday night, but not Tuesday!
Overall it was a beautiful place and we were very happy with our choice. If you want to spend a little more money you could upgrade to the RIU Palace located adjacent. It is a classier place but there were some Palace people over at our pool bars because they said it was more fun at the Santa Fe!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
3.1 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,871 reviews
2.9 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 116 in Los Cabos
2,032 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#33 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,339 reviews
2.5 km away
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort & Spa
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort...
#21 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
926 reviews
25.8 km away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing