We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but not a 5 stars !!”
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort but not a 5 stars !!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just returned last week from Riu santa fe, Very nice resort but not a 5 Stars Hotel, the food was good but not to mush of variation but lots of choice, a la carte restaurants are also very good but you need to be at the lobby at 7;00 am to make reservation for the same day and two days after .The staff are very nice. Le landscape is very clean and nice. The sea is very beautiful but dangerous waves and impossible to swim also very cold through against many pools and plenty of chairs (not to many on the beach) you need to install your stuff early in the morning to reserve chairs. We toke a taxi boat to visit the Arch and the lover beach, this place is amazing, it's worth going to see (bring your own drinks) if you go in town take the collectivo less than one dollar per person or $ 12 for a taxi. Go to the marina you will see very nice restaurant and luxury boats. After 5;00 pm forget the dresses, or short pants, rather you bring a good jacket and long pants because the much lower temperature. The rooms and the site is very clean, you have a small bar with tequila, rum, vodka and Gin. In the mini fridge you have six beers, Pepsi, 7up's, and water. At evening after dinner there is a large table outside or have you served coffees flambé.
If you are a beach lover is not your place, you can’t swim or play on the beach, but if you like relaxing near the pool and enjoy the sun, this place is perfect for you.
If you planning some tour, shop with local people, it is safe and much cheaper, travel agent at the hotel offer you the same tour for double the price and told you is safer to do with them.
Bring your golf club if you are a golfer, Los Cabos have a few amazing golf course not very fare from the hotel. In general this place is very nice and really enjoys our vacation but if you are looking for a 5 Stars resort, spend a few extrat $ and go to the Riu Palace in the same resort !

Room Tip: Building 7 is ocean view BUT very busy place during the day we at building 3 with pool view and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EveAnneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,372
    2,974
    1,304
    592
    487
See reviews for
1,727
3,309
130
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

resort really nice and the view is one of the best ever from the pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lac du Bonnet, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed Feb 03- 10/2012 and had a most wonderful time. We stayed in building 3, close to the pool and a short walk to the restaurants, and bars. The only complaint I would have is the ignoramuses that make there presence known to all at 2 in the morning. Come on people you can enter a building quieter than that and the doors close fine, you don‘t have to slam them! I guess some people suffer with the “look at me syndrome”. The rooms were always cleaned and well looked after. The bar staff were always cheerful and ready to pour your favourite concoction. Lots to eat in the buffets in fact so much so that we only booked one al a cart, the steak restaurant which was good but nothing fantastic. The serving staff were extremely attentive, Jorge our waiter was always there to look after your every whim. Some complain of the lack of elevators, hey loose some weight, take the stairs! Lots of pool activities as well as ping pong tourneys and such. The evening entertainment was good. The animation staff try really hard and put on shows that were entertaining. They had a live band on some of the nights. The stores at the resort had a good selection of t shirts, hoodies ect. And the prices were usually cheaper than found in town The grounds were well kept and the gardeners worked meticulously at keeping everything trimmed. You can lounge at the beach in front of building seven but swimming is out of the question due to the undertow. Taking a water taxi across to lovers beach we were stopped by a Mexican gun boat , we thought here we go but they told our captain to have us put on our life jackets much to our relief. Nice beach but you have to be careful while snorkelling as there are many boats in the vicinity. Down town Cabo is exciting to visit and didn’t find the shop keepers and market vendors to aggressive at all. The Riu Santa Fe is a clean and well run, the staff are there to help with any need that you might require, all in all we would defiantly return to this resort!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winterpegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We just got back from RIU Santa FE from Feb 15 to Feb 19. This is our first time in Cabo.
This is a desert community (much like Las Vegas) with 2 seperate cities, about 30 miles apart: San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. San Jose del Cabo is a quieter town,
whereas Cabo San Lucas is full with foreigners, mostly from Canada and the US.
This property is located in Cabo San Lucas.
We were very suprised to find that this whole area is a dry, barren desert next to the beach.
The hotel is located in Cabo San Lucas, zone 5, which is about 45 minutes from the airport. It costs US $60-$80 for a taxi ride, and about $16 if you ride the shuttle.
If you like tropical climates with lush green trees, you will *not* find it here.
The hotel is clean and good looking. It was completely sold out this week. We arrived at the hotel at 5:30pm and the weather was like 60 degrees and windy. Most everybody was wearing a jacket. we thought we were back home in California. We were placed in a 2 single-bed room overlooking a horse stable in building 1. We told the staff Caesar to move us to another room with a king bed. Was finally moved to room 1224 (2nd floor) with a king bed, but again, the room was overlooking the horse stable which smells from our bedroom door. We also heard some hi pitched noise from the horse stable for the first night, complained to the staff, and luckily it stopped the next day. Also, the toilet stopped working after the first flush. After the handyman came by and fixed it in 2 trips, then it was OK.
We also found out that we were put on the 2nd floor with no elevator. This is unacceptable for an international 3-4 star hotel. We really feel bad for those elderly who had to stay on the third floor above us. Elderly guests, be extremely careful when booking this hotel becauseit has no elevators (I think the only building that has elevator is building 7)
The next day after talking to a few guests, we found out that the best building facing the ocean was Building 7 (seven) however there were at least 20 people ahead of us requesting the same thing.
We then requested an upgrade to the RIU Palace next door which is a truly ocean view property, but was told that the other hotel is 100% book as well.
There are 2 nice big pools in this property, however because of the extremely large number of guests, if you get up late, you will not find an empty seat near the pool.
Now the weather in this area was pretty unusual during our stay. It was kind of chilly in the morning, and late afternoon. The only time we found sunlight was about 10:30am to 4:30pm
I found nobody swimming on the beach during the 4 days stay at the hotel. Was told that the rip current was strong; and the water was quite chilly ( I actually went in for a quick dip to test it and get back in). Everybody was either at the pool or sunbathing on the beach.
I found out the hotel location is overlooking the "Arch" (the rock formation that looks like an arch, which is a symbol of Cabo) which appears to be an excellent location.
The buffet food at the hotel was quite good, but not great. We did try to make a couple of reservation for a "Mexican" dinner and the "steak" dinner, which was very nice.
We booked a trip to the Caborey , the sunset dinner cruise, and it was thoroughly enjoyable.
The price is US $ 92.00 ; but you can bargain it down to $82.00
It was a 3-3 and a half hour cruise going around the "bay"; and the "arch" island.
The food was good, the drink was good, and the entertainment was excellent. This is a "must" side trip if you go to Cabo. We also took a taxi cab ($12.00) to the downtown area to the marina to buy some souvernirs. We went to visit the famous lobster restaurant "Lorenzillo's" at the marina that everybody was talking about; and was told by the waiter
that the lobster tails costs about $US 52.00 a pound. It was not much of a deal.
This appears to be an extremely popular hotels as I see busload of travellers going to this hotel. I even see guests checking in at around 11-11:30pm at night (no kidding).
I was told that guests from the nearby sister property (Riu Palace; a more luxurious property) went here to socialize as they claimed it was more fun at this hotel
Overall, we feel this RIU hotel is a nice hotel overall, but the weather was not really very nice during our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonytran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This resort is listed as a 5 star. Many aspects meet this, some don't. Over all a very good vacation for a couple.

The resort is huge, you can always find your hideway spot where you aren't crowded. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The f5 poolcs are beutiful, two in the grounds and three infinti pools with spectacular views.

The only main issue we had was we love great food, and we found the al a carte to be sub par if 5 star quality. You have to line up at 7am to reserve and when we sat down, we noticed they would serve things that were available at the buffet. We found most of the fancy dishes we covered in sauces with no real flavor. The main buffet is fantastic though, o there.

Nice and close to the marina.

Very clean except bathrooms behind the pool restaraunt. Holy dirty!!

Hope this helps. if it does say so please.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Comdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We chose Riu Santa Fe as a last minute vacation because I had not yet been to Los Cabos. I always enjoy the Riu hotels for the all-inclusive concept, and I was not disappointed. In keeping with other RIU properties, the Santa Fe offered lots of food options, great pool area, excellent service and well appointed rooms.

If you are considering this property for your next vacation, you may find as I did - it is a bit of a younger crowd. So if that's what you are after it will be great for you. There are several bars located throughout the property and they were always busy. Nice oceanfront pool area, and beautifully landscaped property.

Building 7 is located closest to the ocean, and will be the only location possible for oceanview rooms. The building is set in a u shape around the oceanfront inifinity pool, and there is a bar located on either side of the pool. There is also a restaurant here, where you can get a limited buffet breakfast, lunch and at night it is the steak house. If you are in building 7 you can also make your dinner reservations with the concierge there instead of having to go to the front desk area.

Rooms are typical of RIU, with the liquor dispenser in room, balcony, king bed or two queens pushed together. The safe is not large enough for a standard laptop.
Free wi-fi is available in the lobby area. When looking for your connection there is a RIU pay internet, and there is also the free internet connection available, I believe you are allowed an hour a day.

The location is great, only a few minutes from downtown Cabo - but further from San Jose del Cabo. Cabo San Lucas is very American feeling, lots of bars and great restaurants - the marina area is really nice, and there is a big mall there for you shoppers.
I really liked the feel of San Jose del Cabo, authentic mexican with great jewellery shops and art galleries. Again some really great dining options here.

For those nervous about going to Mexico because of all of the negative press - don't be. I never felt uncomfortable being in Cabo, it is separate from Mainland Mexico and tourism is their bread and butter.

Also do be aware it does get chilly at night because of the desert, so make sure you bring appropriate clothing - you will want a sweater or two. It was funny to see people wandering around in their winter coats because they did not pack properly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tripdesigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I would not consider this a 5* resort; more like a 4* at best. Attatched is the Riu Pallace, which is very fancy looking, on the water, and reportedly has nice food/ entertainment. You can walk around there if you are staying at the Santa Fe, but you can't eat or drink there.

The resort itself was pretty and well maintanied. There were a few pools and they were all nice and clean. The staff were very friendly and very attentive at the buffet. The rooms were
nothing fancy but they were clean and worked (but the beds were a little hard.) There were no elevators in our building, so it wouldn't be good for elderly or people with mobility problems to be going up and down the three flights regulalry. Also, bring ear plugs becase the hallways are all tiled and echo loudly into the rooms; the housekeeping staff working early morning was clearly heard in the room.

I was disapointed with the food and drinks. And, i was suprised because many reviews said it was so good. The food was generally bland, soggy, re-heated or stale. They had good fresh salsa which I covered everything in to try to make it more tasty. There was always somethine edible, but not something that I was too excited to eat. We quickly discovered that the restaurants served the same food as the buffet; so no point in waiting in line for a reservation. We ended up going to the Marina to some nice restaurants to get the good food we were craving.

The drinks were made from mixes and were very overly sweet. Even juice was from a mix; like orange juice was "orange drink" which tastes like Tang. There was also no servers around the pool or lounge areas; there was one bar around the pool which was always very very busy with lines. It also got very windy at night which made for a chilly evening, so bring some warmer clothes.

But, that being said, it was clean, staff were friendly, and no one got sick. This might be better for families with kids rather than a romantic getaway. (kids don't mind eating bland pizza for lunch every day.) But, not a trip for foodies.

Room Tip: Building number 7 is the one that is closest to the ocean, has an elevator and possibly has ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoegal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
2.9 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,011 reviews
25.5 km away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,226 reviews
3.1 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,284 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#32 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,531 reviews
25.9 km away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing