We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Nearby Hotels
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$334
US$276
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$250
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
US$110
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$196
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$497
US$338
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$379/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$752
US$572
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (8,493)
Filter reviews
8,493 results
Traveller rating
2,535
3,207
1,473
672
606
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,535
3,207
1,473
672
606
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed in buildingsports barocean viewwater taxiinfinity poolspecialty restaurantsasian restaurantlovers beacha la cartesmake reservationsbaja californiaspring breakmichael jackson showdos equisliquor dispensermain lobbycabo wabo
Filter
Updating list...
5,314 - 5,319 of 8,493 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2012

resort really nice and the view is one of the best ever from the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed Feb 03- 10/2012 and had a most wonderful time. We stayed in building 3, close to the pool and a short walk to the restaurants, and bars. The only complaint I would have is the ignoramuses that make there presence known to all at 2 in the morning. Come on people you can enter a building quieter than that and the doors close fine, you don‘t have to slam them! I guess some people suffer with the “look at me syndrome”. The rooms were always cleaned and well looked after. The bar staff were always cheerful and ready to pour your favourite concoction. Lots to eat in the buffets in fact so much so that we only booked one al a cart, the steak restaurant which was good but nothing fantastic. The serving staff were extremely attentive, Jorge our waiter was always there to look after your every whim. Some complain of the lack of elevators, hey loose some weight, take the stairs! Lots of pool activities as well as ping pong tourneys and such. The evening entertainment was good. The animation staff try really hard and put on shows that were entertaining. They had a live band on some of the nights. The stores at the resort had a good selection of t shirts, hoodies ect. And the prices were usually cheaper than found in town The grounds were well kept and the gardeners worked meticulously at keeping everything trimmed. You can lounge at the beach in front of building seven but swimming is out of the question due to the undertow. Taking a water taxi across to lovers beach we were stopped by a Mexican gun boat , we thought here we go but they told our captain to have us put on our life jackets much to our relief. Nice beach but you have to be careful while snorkelling as there are many boats in the vicinity. Down town Cabo is exciting to visit and didn’t find the shop keepers and market vendors to aggressive at all. The Riu Santa Fe is a clean and well run, the staff are there to help with any need that you might require, all in all we would defiantly return to this resort!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winterpegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just got back from RIU Santa FE from Feb 15 to Feb 19. This is our first time in Cabo.
This is a desert community (much like Las Vegas) with 2 seperate cities, about 30 miles apart: San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. San Jose del Cabo is a quieter town,
whereas Cabo San Lucas is full with foreigners, mostly from Canada and the US.
This property is located in Cabo San Lucas.
We were very suprised to find that this whole area is a dry, barren desert next to the beach.
The hotel is located in Cabo San Lucas, zone 5, which is about 45 minutes from the airport. It costs US $60-$80 for a taxi ride, and about $16 if you ride the shuttle.
If you like tropical climates with lush green trees, you will *not* find it here.
The hotel is clean and good looking. It was completely sold out this week. We arrived at the hotel at 5:30pm and the weather was like 60 degrees and windy. Most everybody was wearing a jacket. we thought we were back home in California. We were placed in a 2 single-bed room overlooking a horse stable in building 1. We told the staff Caesar to move us to another room with a king bed. Was finally moved to room 1224 (2nd floor) with a king bed, but again, the room was overlooking the horse stable which smells from our bedroom door. We also heard some hi pitched noise from the horse stable for the first night, complained to the staff, and luckily it stopped the next day. Also, the toilet stopped working after the first flush. After the handyman came by and fixed it in 2 trips, then it was OK.
We also found out that we were put on the 2nd floor with no elevator. This is unacceptable for an international 3-4 star hotel. We really feel bad for those elderly who had to stay on the third floor above us. Elderly guests, be extremely careful when booking this hotel becauseit has no elevators (I think the only building that has elevator is building 7)
The next day after talking to a few guests, we found out that the best building facing the ocean was Building 7 (seven) however there were at least 20 people ahead of us requesting the same thing.
We then requested an upgrade to the RIU Palace next door which is a truly ocean view property, but was told that the other hotel is 100% book as well.
There are 2 nice big pools in this property, however because of the extremely large number of guests, if you get up late, you will not find an empty seat near the pool.
Now the weather in this area was pretty unusual during our stay. It was kind of chilly in the morning, and late afternoon. The only time we found sunlight was about 10:30am to 4:30pm
I found nobody swimming on the beach during the 4 days stay at the hotel. Was told that the rip current was strong; and the water was quite chilly ( I actually went in for a quick dip to test it and get back in). Everybody was either at the pool or sunbathing on the beach.
I found out the hotel location is overlooking the "Arch" (the rock formation that looks like an arch, which is a symbol of Cabo) which appears to be an excellent location.
The buffet food at the hotel was quite good, but not great. We did try to make a couple of reservation for a "Mexican" dinner and the "steak" dinner, which was very nice.
We booked a trip to the Caborey , the sunset dinner cruise, and it was thoroughly enjoyable.
The price is US $ 92.00 ; but you can bargain it down to $82.00
It was a 3-3 and a half hour cruise going around the "bay"; and the "arch" island.
The food was good, the drink was good, and the entertainment was excellent. This is a "must" side trip if you go to Cabo. We also took a taxi cab ($12.00) to the downtown area to the marina to buy some souvernirs. We went to visit the famous lobster restaurant "Lorenzillo's" at the marina that everybody was talking about; and was told by the waiter
that the lobster tails costs about $US 52.00 a pound. It was not much of a deal.
This appears to be an extremely popular hotels as I see busload of travellers going to this hotel. I even see guests checking in at around 11-11:30pm at night (no kidding).
I was told that guests from the nearby sister property (Riu Palace; a more luxurious property) went here to socialize as they claimed it was more fun at this hotel
Overall, we feel this RIU hotel is a nice hotel overall, but the weather was not really very nice during our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonytran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This resort is listed as a 5 star. Many aspects meet this, some don't. Over all a very good vacation for a couple.

The resort is huge, you can always find your hideway spot where you aren't crowded. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The f5 poolcs are beutiful, two in the grounds and three infinti pools with spectacular views.

The only main issue we had was we love great food, and we found the al a carte to be sub par if 5 star quality. You have to line up at 7am to reserve and when we sat down, we noticed they would serve things that were available at the buffet. We found most of the fancy dishes we covered in sauces with no real flavor. The main buffet is fantastic though, o there.

Nice and close to the marina.

Very clean except bathrooms behind the pool restaraunt. Holy dirty!!

Hope this helps. if it does say so please.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Comdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We chose Riu Santa Fe as a last minute vacation because I had not yet been to Los Cabos. I always enjoy the Riu hotels for the all-inclusive concept, and I was not disappointed. In keeping with other RIU properties, the Santa Fe offered lots of food options, great pool area, excellent service and well appointed rooms.

If you are considering this property for your next vacation, you may find as I did - it is a bit of a younger crowd. So if that's what you are after it will be great for you. There are several bars located throughout the property and they were always busy. Nice oceanfront pool area, and beautifully landscaped property.

Building 7 is located closest to the ocean, and will be the only location possible for oceanview rooms. The building is set in a u shape around the oceanfront inifinity pool, and there is a bar located on either side of the pool. There is also a restaurant here, where you can get a limited buffet breakfast, lunch and at night it is the steak house. If you are in building 7 you can also make your dinner reservations with the concierge there instead of having to go to the front desk area.

Rooms are typical of RIU, with the liquor dispenser in room, balcony, king bed or two queens pushed together. The safe is not large enough for a standard laptop.
Free wi-fi is available in the lobby area. When looking for your connection there is a RIU pay internet, and there is also the free internet connection available, I believe you are allowed an hour a day.

The location is great, only a few minutes from downtown Cabo - but further from San Jose del Cabo. Cabo San Lucas is very American feeling, lots of bars and great restaurants - the marina area is really nice, and there is a big mall there for you shoppers.
I really liked the feel of San Jose del Cabo, authentic mexican with great jewellery shops and art galleries. Again some really great dining options here.

For those nervous about going to Mexico because of all of the negative press - don't be. I never felt uncomfortable being in Cabo, it is separate from Mainland Mexico and tourism is their bread and butter.

Also do be aware it does get chilly at night because of the desert, so make sure you bring appropriate clothing - you will want a sweater or two. It was funny to see people wandering around in their winter coats because they did not pack properly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tripdesigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews