We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place for a holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

A group of us stayed here for a wedding. The wedding took place on the beach and was amazing. Most of our group stayed in building 7. Building 7 is closer to the beach and a couple of the pools that have pool bars. I would definitely recommend staying in building 7 unlessyou are with kids you may want to consider being closer to the kiddie pools.

My husband and i would definitely go back to this resort. It was super clean everywhere. We loved the two back bars located behind the entertainment area.

Room Tip: Stay in building 7 if you want to be closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJSC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,319
    2,895
    1,252
    559
    459
See reviews for
1,651
3,206
127
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Overall it was a great experience.. From the check in til check out. Great buffet, a lot of food choices and awesome ala carte restaurant.. Our faves were the mexican and the steakhouse. Staff from the housekeeping, front desk, to waitress/ waiter, bartenders to entertainment crew were very friendly. Always serves you with a smile. Rooms were good. Would definitely come back. Love the infinity pools but always too busy. Beach is unadvisable to swim in but can walk for about 15 mins to a safe beach to swim in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emarie_ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

FIRST OFF THE PICTURES ADVERTISED WITH ARE PICTURES OF THE PALACE, NOT SANTA FE

check-in: easy and fast, we even arrived 3 hours before the 3pm check-in time and were allowed to leave our bags at the front dest, get our bracelets and get lunch from the buffet and some alcohol. welcome drinks were great, best margarita in the whole place. our bags were not placed in our room as promised but left at front desk. we were informed the place was too full to accommodate a room upgrade for our honeymoon also (didnt expect this the last weekend in march through first week of april).

Food:
-Buffet:food overall was great, breakfast was good each day, but be prepared its repetitive, no variation at all and gets old on day 3 or 4. lunch was good and had some variation but not much. fruit was always great. the fish was very salty but overall everything was cooked well. dinner buffet was good, changed a little every night but had a lot of main staples. the dessert bar wasnt bad either. beef wellington was exceptional.
-restaurants: We went to the Asian, steak, and italian restaurants. both the asian and italian had partial buffet, you got everything except main course from the buffet. Asian buffet was good, sushi was fair, could have had more seafood instead of mostly cream cheese and avocado. the main course was awful, I got the beef and my wife got shrimp. Shrimp was fair, but beef was probably a can of alpo, it was terrible. The italian restaurant had good buffet selection and good seafood, the main course (i chose salmon, wife got steak) were both excellent. The salmon was very large, easily 8oz. cooked exceptionally. The steak house did not have a partial buffet. Whole meal here was great, nothing to complain, steaks were cooked phenomenally and were definitely larger than advertised. There is quite a wait for reservations for here so book it early in the trip if you want a time between 630-8 to eat. 2 days before gave me options of 6 or 9pm. i reccomend booking for meals you want the next day or day after that as opposed to same day.

room: room was great, room service was good, liquor bar and fridge were stocked as promised. AC worked but even set at 55 degrees F the room was muggy and lil warm. ceiling fan helps. if you open the patio doors the AC turns off so be cautious of this. bed was stiff which isnt a problem, but the pillows have no support so you need to stack them up to try to get something. after few nights i started waking up sore.

Beach/pools: pools were cold in the morning but warmed up nicely in afternoon except the larger infinity pool which was cold all the time. There were many swim up bars. The pools located in the center of the hotel were definitely more family oriented with even little kids swimming around the bar area while daddy threw them water toys from the bar to go get. The swim up bars by the beach were more adult and for the most part void of children under age of 16-18. major complaint is that people get up at 6am and throw towels on beach chairs that they want, then go back to bed or eat and never come down till 10-11 am. This makes it hard to get chairs if not up early. We went down one day around 730 after we atre breakfast to start laying out and get a chair that we planned to have rest of day and use, and had to find separate chairs and move them. Hotel needs to have a policy or start taking towels off chairs. you receive a towel card when arriving and have to return it at end of trip, they should take your towels off chairs and charge you 5-10$ to get it back like other superior resorts will do. this was an unacceptable feature to me. beach was very rough, water was basically unswimable outside hotel, large undertoe and a big rip tide at times. this made taking a water taxi fun as you had to run and jump into it and time it because they dont come to the beach all the way. Dont wear clothes, we got soaked. The grounds were meticulously maintained throughout our stay and pools were kept clean.

liquor: drinks were weak, most liquor you have never hear of, there were no fun drinks with a bunch of fruit or anything like that. drinks were served in disposable plastic cups or small reusable plastic cups (maybe 10oz). high end liquor was smirnoff and jose cuervo. something was left to be desired here in a big way. but you get what you pay for.


service: service was good. maids cleaned well and we didnt have anything go missing. bartenders did very well even with the large crowds. tips with the bartenders go a long way in getting you drinks faster the next time, trust me they will remember you. Oversight in taking out bags to room, which was on 3rd floor and there are only stairs no elevators. we never got our honeymoon room upgrade, we never got our complimentary welcome basket for honeymoon either even after asking many times. They made it out like it was our fault one day because we had a do not disturb sign on the door. they never attempted to re-deliver and the sign was on till 11am. room service didnt even come till 2ish. only thing they tried to do to make up for it was give us a small figurine which sells at the airport for 3 for $5 and a 375ml bottle of cheap tequila. this was only done when waiting for our ride to airport.

Room Tip: building 3 is perfect, away from rowdy beach crowd, close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stupkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed at the Riu Santa Fe from March 27th to April 3rd 2012. I travelled with my husband and two other couples, all in our mid 30's.

Apparently the end of March is spring break for UCLA; the resort was a party haven in the afternoons and it kinda put a damper on our vacation in the first few days...until they spring breakers left, then it was fantastic!

The Riu property is nicely laid out, a little bit of walking but no big deal. The restaurants are equally spaced out across the resort so no matter where you are, a buffet is close by. The breakfast buffet in the main square is fantastic, with wifi available at the outdoor eating areas; lots of ipads etc out at breakfast for those who needed to connect with the real world. Free Wifi is limited to 90 minutes a day per device/ip address. Paid wifi is available too.

Food- the food was very good. The a la carte restaurants are all good with the Italian being my favorite. I had the salmon both times we had italian. They also have amazing line gelatto at the Italian restaurant. The steak house was good too, the ribs were surprisingly tasety. The asain restuarant was good, but the shrimp tasted a little off. The asain appy buffet was really really good and ordering an entree was not necessarily required after the appy buffet! The mexican restaurant was good too but with all of the mexican options at the lunch buffets, it was less-special than the others. The mexican and the steak house are partially outdoors so take a sweater to dinner. The asain and italian are both indoors.

Beach- The beach infront of RIU is beautiful. There are vendors who are pretty persistant with their sales pitches and drugs are redily available if you so desire. The surf was really strong, and beautiful to watch. The waves and undercurrent are unbelieveably strong. We had a few strong swimmers in our group who said that the waves were almost too much to handle for them. I am not a swimmer and had a few scary moments in the surf! The beach is clean and safe.

Pool- There are a few pools, the infiniti pools infront of building 7 are action packed (spring break [--] show!) but the pools up by the spa/ main square is much nicer and warmer. The upper pools have a good mix of kids/families and normal adults having a good drunken time. There is also water aerobics and volleyball.

Spa- There is a hot and cold tub in the spa area (designed for hydra-therapy). A reservation is required. We made a nightly reservation for 6pm as a way to wind down our afternoon at the pool and to ramp up for our nights out.

Rooms- We stayed in building 5 on the top floor. King bed. The bathroom was nice and spacious with two sinks. The tub was a little narrow. Bring your own soap and shampoo as the products provided are not great. The in room bar was a nice touch. One bottle each of Vodka, Gin, Jose Cuervo and Rum. Plus pepsi, 7-up, water and XX's in the fridge.
Due to the spring break party-ers, we were woken up a few times each night when they made their loud return to their rooms.

I would return to this resort but I'd choose a different time of year to avoid the university party crowd.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill-Een
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

After reading some of the more negative reviews, I was hesitant about staying at the Riu Santa Fe, but now I'm pleased that we did! It was our first visit to Mexico. My husband and I took our two boys (ages 8 & 5) and had a great time. I've listed a few of the pros/cons below.

Pros:
*Great location - It's very close to shopping and the marina (only a short taxi/bus ride away).
*Good food - It was not gourmet, but exactly what I expected at an all inclusive resort. The breakfast buffet was the best! Lots of options even for kids who are picky eaters.
*Friendly staff - They were very attentive, even to our kids. The maid picked fresh flowers and put them on the dresser in our room more than once!
*Super clean - They are always cleaning! The grounds are very well manicured and our room was spotless. They keep the buffet area very clean as well.
*Large - Fortunately the resort is large enough, that we were able to avoid the areas where the spring breakers were spending most of their time. The staff did an excellent job of keeping the high school/college kids contained by getting them involved in activities like beach volleyball and games by the infinity pool, which kept them busy and away from all of the other areas for the most part.
*Drinking water - You can drink the water at the buffet and the restaurants. The water in your room is not drinkable, but they stocked our mini-fridge every day with large bottles of water (as well as pop), and they were happy to bring more if you asked.
*Entertainment - They have lots of activities at all times of the day/night for all ages (Spanish lessons, ping pong tournaments, etc). Our kids really enjoyed the kids Riuland show at 8pm every day!

Cons:
*Little variety with food - Although they had lots of options at the buffets, they seemed to be the same options every day. This was fine with our kids, but I would have liked to see a little more variety from day to day.
*Juice? - The orange juice and lemonade were not actual juice. They seemed more like some kind of powdered juice/water mix.
*Strong undertow - There is no swimming at the beach. I knew this before we went, but I underestimated how large/powerful the waves actually would be. We wanted the kids to be able to play near the water, but once I realized how big the waves actually were, I felt uncomfortable about letting them play too close.
*Beds were right next to each other - When I say next to each other, I mean that both double beds were actually pushed together in our room. If you don't want your children to roll onto your bed, you will have to move the beds a little bit. I thought this was strange.
*Limited/slow internet - They allow you 90 minutes of free wifi in the lobby each day. Don't get me wrong, we didn't want to spend lots of time on the internet during our vacation, but it took nearly 90 minutes to do anything because it was so slow.
*Stinky towels - I'm not sure why, but the bath towels had a strange smell.

Overall, we had a very positive experience at Riu Santa Fe. I would certainly recommend this hotel/resort to anyone who visits Cabo!

I have a few suggestions about the airport (which are not related to the actual hotel, but will hopefully save you lots of time). Once you arrive and collect your luggage, you will go through a couple of areas where they will try to trick you in regards to your transportation to the hotel. Be very careful. They attempt to pull you aside by telling you that they need to know which hotel you are staying at so they can tell you your "van" number, and ask for your transportation voucher. Do not fall for this, and do not feel bad for walking by these people without acknowledging them at all. The experience is very, very confusing if you haven't been there before. Just keep walking. Once you get outside, there are many people holding signs. We had booked our vacation through United Vacations, and had prepaid for transportation. Luckily this person knew when we were arriving and came right up to us once we were out of the airport. They know our names and hotel info and escorted us away from the mob of taxi drivers.

Room Tip: Building 2 - Although it did not have an ocean view, it seemed to be much, much quieter than buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prizeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Riu Santa Fe wasn't all bad. The views from the infinity pool #7 was amazing. As an All Inclusive Resort, all the drinks make your stay more bearable. The rooms and food is where things get a bit sketchy. There were gnats in the room and the smell was less than fresh. The rooms had a motel feel to them. The buffet was Horrible even by all inclusive standards. Its bad when spring breakers tell you that the tacos from the outdoor taco cart are far superior to anything found in the actual buffet. The spring breakers were dead on! My advise would be to get drunk, stay drunk and hope ur stay isn't too long.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Younglaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Hotel was great. Our ocean front suite was large, roomy and clean. Would go back, but not during spring break because of rude, crude spring breakers. Also, did not care for people claiming eight lounge chairs by 6:30 am. And then leaving for 1/2 of the day. This could be fixed by setting out more lounge chairs. Or something because it happened every morning. Food was good and staff very friendly and helpful. I would go back to Riu but maybe to Riu Palace or one that is a little smaller.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front suite with jacuzzi & large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louieb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
2.8 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
3.1 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,261 reviews
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
25.8 km away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing