We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break was Enjoyable”
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spring Break was Enjoyable”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Enjoyed a week at the Santa Fe even tho we were a little too old for the Spring Break College crowd. Like many all inclusives, the food was OK and the drinks were a little weak, but I thought the price was right. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, great property, nice pool layout and swim up bars, Pools had lots of room for tequilla volleyball, and water aerobics, and families). Loved the lounge chairs built into the pool. There was some competition for lounge chairs around the pool but we survived.Rooms were quiet and comfortable but thought it strange sheets were not changed once during our stay! Note swimming is not recommended immediately in front of the beach but a short walk gets you to one and water taxis are available. Loved CABO.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 7 are closest to the beach and have best views but you are a little further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPTourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,347
    2,947
    1,285
    586
    479
See reviews for
1,700
3,272
127
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I came with my friends to the hotel, hopping it would be an unforgettable experience, it truly was! But not in a good way...
We arrived to the hotel around 9 am, since the check in does not start until 3:00 PM, the people at the front desk asked us to leave our luggage with the bell boys.
Usually, when you go to good hotels, they give you a piece of paper with the total number of bags you're leaving, that way, the bell boy commits to give you back the number of bags you registered. They obviously do not work this way!
We gave them the bags, they placed a round sticker on each one of them with the room number where it's going to, we were 6 people and had obviously 6 bags.
We went to the beach, had brunch, and hang out there for a while, after a few hours we went to get our room keys, since we had two rooms, all of us went into one only. Later, when we went to the other room, WE NOTICED THAT ONE OF OUR BAGS WAS MISSING. We called the service number and let them know about this around 6 PM on thursday, they promised to get back to us but never did, so we called them a few hours later, and same answer: "we're working on it and will get back to you".
Friday morning we spoke to the Public Relations Manager MARCELA DEL TORO, she said they looked in the luggage room and our bag was not there. The bell boy showed us his list of "delivered luggage" and obviously, they didn't deliver our bag that was missing in our room.
They said perhaps they delivered it in the wrong room, so supposedly, they were planning on checking each one of the rooms that were checked in on the same day we did.
Again, we never received an answer, even though we gave them our cell phone number and everything.
Saturday morning we went back and the manager was out, so no one could give us an answer on our case. Can you believe it?!?!? We decided to stand there and wait until she came back, finally, they let us talk to the director of the hotel MANUEL GONZALEZ. He told us "WE'RE SORRY, OUR HANDS ARE TIED UP, WE CANNOT DO ANYTHING FOR YOU". And then he gave us a business card with some number we should call in SPAIN!
We called this freaking number, and they said, they cannot help, so THEY ASKED US TO SEND AN E-MAIL TO SOME "CUSTOMER SERVICE" OR WHATEVER, AND WAIT FOR A RESPONSE IN THREE WEEKS!!!!!
By Saturday, we had already spent THURSDAY, FRIDAY AND SATURDAY chasing the people from the hotel to get a response.
We obviously went to the police station and put a demand for our lost bag, and we are still waiting for this to be resolved.

I know sometimes these things happen, but I'm pretty sure, this is not the service we're supposed to get! Specially when it's a service company! They never followed-up to our issues, never called us back and never gave us a solution.

I AM NOT COMING BACK TO THIS HOTEL EVER!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I recently traveled to Cabo San Lucas with my wife and parents. We had been to Cabo a couple of different times, but this was our first experience at the Riu Santa Fe. We chose this hotel because we wanted to stay at a reasonably priced all-inclusive hotel. I read the reviews and did a lot of research on the Riu and it completely exceeded ALL of my expectations!
STAFF: I would like to start first with the staff. Beginning at check in, everyone went out of there way to accomodate us. As previously mentioned, I did a lot of research and asked the font desk if we could get a room in building 7 (the building that is on the ocean and surrounds the ocean front pool). We had not paid for the ocean view, but the receptionist tried to get us in there anyways. Unfortunately, all of the rooms were booked. She assigned us to building 2, but I requested building 4 (and gave her $20 for her trouble). She was happy to accomodate and I absolutely reccomend staying in building 4 or 5. This puts you right in the middle of everything (ocean pool & restaurants).
RESORT & POOLS: The resort is absolutely beautiful and huge! The grounds are meticulously maintained and I could not believe how many people were working at all times cleaning and maintaining the grounds. All of the workers were friendly and greeted us with a smile and "hola". There are four separate pools that are all very different. We did not spend any time at the middle "main" pool, but this pools seemed to be perfect for families and children. There was still a very nice swim up bar for adults to enjoy. We spent our days at the ocean front pool. There are three separate pools here. The first pool you come to when you walk down to this area was the "party pool". We planned around Spring Break in America, but found out Canada was on Spring Break the week we were there. The spring breakers were at this pool where music was playing all the time. Next over is the middle pool with an incredible infinity edge with spectacular views. We did not spend much time here either as there was no swim up bar. The third pool you come to is where we spent our time. It was still a very fun pool with an awesome swim up bar and tables in the pool. We were lucky enough to be served by Fernando all week! He is the best!!! We tipped generously, and he took care of us better than any bartender EVER has on any vacation. I have a feeling he would have done that anyway without the tips, but I encourage you to tip him (and all of the staff for that matter).
FOOD: I am always nervous at all inclusive resorts and especially when they are priced as reasonably as the Santa Fe. We have had some bad food in our all inclusive stays throughout Mexico, but the food here was great! We ate two nights at the main buffet and the selection was great. We did make reservations and ate at the Steakhouse and were treated to a six course meal!! The breakfasts were awesome and there is always somewhere to eat. They even had fresh seafood one night, and tacos another night in the main courtyard. You will not be disappointed with the food.
ENTERTAINMENT: Admittedly we did not take advantage of the shows at night. We went downtown ($12 taxi) and spent our nights at Cabo Wabo and other spots at the Marina (the Marina is a MUST visit when you go to Cabo). We did spend one night at the resort and caught "comedy night" which we thouroughly enjoyed. In talking to other vacationers they said that all the shows were good.
ADVICE: Just a couple suggestions that will make your experience better: Take towels down to the pool early 6:30-7:30 to ensure yourself a good spot. You don't have to stay down there, but get your towels on the lawn chairs as early as possible as the "prime real estate" fills up fast. Also, if you want to make reservations at the specialty restaurants get down to the lobby at 7:00 am as reservations also go fast.
*I could not be happier with our experience at the Riu Santa Fe and this will be the only place I will ever stay when going to Cabo. STAY HERE!!! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request building 4 or 5 when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loves Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wow! Where to even begin... Cabo San Lucas is awesome and the RIU Santa Fe is as well. The service is really great. The staff and service exceeded our expectations. Our daughter and fiance chose this resort for their destination wedding. Given some of the reviews, we were a bit skeptical at first. We quickly realized that the resort and area were going to be amazing. We contemplated staying at the RIU Palace, which we were thankful we did not. The Santa Fe is much more exciting. If you are looking for more quiet....the Palace is the place to go. There is always something going on at the RIU Santa Fe...if you are looking for activity. The entertainment staff work VERY hard to make everything fun. If you are interested in going into Cabo San Lucas see the concierge in the lobby for a taxi. They will have one to you within minutes. Have them drop you off at the mall just as you reach town. This is a great central location with lots of bars, restaurants, and shopping within a short walking distance. Return to the mall for the taxi back to the resort. They are nearby at all times....or so it seemed. Every place we went was very accommodating. If you are looking for a very high-end and beautiful restaurant to dine at, I'd suggest the El Farallon in Pedregal. The setting is unprecedented. For more casual food, visit Las Quesidilla's, right in town. Alexander's at the marina is very good, as well. For some inexpensive drinks, visit Rips...just outside Cabo Wabo. Try the rainbow shots...they are pretty awesome in appearance and taste. :) As for the weather, we were there in April and found the evenings get very cool. Wearing pants and a light sweatshirt or sweater would be most comfortable. The resort restaurants are very difficult to get in to...and quite honestly, the food is very similar to what you would receive at any of the evening buffets. The biggest difference is that someone is serving it to you. Also, the resort is huge, so be prepared to walk. Personally, we welcomed this since we were eating our fair share of food each day. :) In short----it's a great place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our first vacation to Mexico - and we are so glad we chose to stay at the RIU Santa Fe. We almost reconsidered after reading some of the negative reviews, but we are so glad we stuck with this hotel! We stayed for 7 days/6 nights - and loved every minute.

The room was immaculate when we checked in and the grounds of the hotel are breathtaking! The service we experienced was better than we could have imagined. The employees are above and beyond helpful and courteous - and so engaging with us and our 7 year old son. We had never stayed at an All-Inclusive before, and we were blown away by the food - there was a HUGE variety and everything we tasted was yummy! We made a Reservation for the Torote Steakhouse one night - and it was great as well. We stayed in Building 3 - and it was great - right by the main pool. We walked down to the beach every day - and hung out at the pool in the late afternoons. The beach was nice and clean - and while the rip made it hard to swim at the beach in front of the hotel the first few days, we just walked about 150 yds to Medano Beach where it was much calmer. Even the other guests were fun - and we just had a great time!

We have already decided that we will be back again this summer and plan on visiting other RIU Resorts as well!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, I recommend any building around the main pool. The pool by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in building 3. Right in the middle of everything. The food was great. There was never a shortage of cold drinks and the ocean was less than 5 minutes away. We were able to swim in front of the hotel. There is a sanctioned swim area about 10 mins walk that is also nice. My seven year old loved the steak house which required a reservation called torote. You have to get up early at 7 am to have your choice of reservations other wise baja california is your destination for dinner. We loved Baja as well. Great staff great place. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I traveled to Cabo San Lucas with my fiance and another couple for the first time in March 2012. We usually travel to Riviera Maya for our yearly trip to Mexico. First off, let me say that Cabo is GORGEOUS! The scenery (for Mexico) is like no other place I have been. I highly recommend taking a trip here. With that said...I would not stay at the Riu Santa Fe again for a couple of reasons. First I will start with the positive.

-The location of the resort in relation to Lover's Beach, the marina, and Arches is unbelievable. It is beautiful. It is a short 5 minute water taxi ride to Lover's Beach (which is a must). We saw seals every morning near the beach.
-The specialty restaurants were very good. We ate at the asian and steak house. Highly recommend both. Breakfast buffet was also very yummy.
-For the most part, the resort was clean.
-Staff is very friendly and as helpful as they can be.
-If you are looking for entertainment, there is constant activities going on. Entertainment staff is very nice.
-It is worth getting an ocean-view room (although it is too loud at night to sleep with the door open)
-The pool near the beach was great-plenty of room and sun and shade (depending on your preference)

And the Cons....
-This is not a place for couples who want to enjoy some relaxation. It may have been the time of year, but there were TONS of late teen-early 20's spring breakers. Obnoxious ones at that...I am all for having fun but there is a limit to what a person can stand. If you want relaxation, I recommend staying at the Palace side as it is quieter.
-The beds are not very comfortable. My pillow case had mascara stains on it...for 3 nights!! I was very disapointed in the bed. I woke up very stiff every morning.
-We had to ask numerous times to have the refrigerator re-stocked. It was not a huge issue as we found other drinks around the resort, but sort of annoying.
-The sand on the beach is a little rough. We played beach volleyball for about an hour and when the sand gets hot, and with all the shells and grittiness, our feet were raw.
-The waves are huge here-great for watching, not so much for swimming. Even though we did go swimming, it got a little scary at times as if you are in the wrong place when a wave swells or comes in, it can be extremely dangerous. I would recommend swimming more at Lover's Beach as the water is a lot calmer.
-It gets very chilly at night...like low 60's. I only brought two sweaters and one night considered buying a hoody. But, if you pack accordingly it should not be an issue.
-Very Noisy.
-If you want to use the internet, plan on spending some $$$.
-The nightclub Pacha (?) at the resort seemed like a great party spot and we attempted to go in there every night...but every night it smelled like puke and we could not stand to be in there. It would not be a bad idea for them to bleach it in there and power wash-followed by a few days of air out.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed Cabo. The scenery and activities there (we went Zip lining) are great. The town/marina is so much fun and there is a ton to do. But when we return, it will not be to the Riu Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 7 are closest to the beach. But the "party pool" is also there so it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheWorldAwaits936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
2.9 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,480 reviews
25.9 km away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
30.2 km away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
25.8 km away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing