We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Nearby Hotels
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$440
US$361
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$675
US$632
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$472
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$287
US$202
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$398
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$607
US$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (8,417)
Filter reviews
8,417 results
Traveller rating
2,524
3,185
1,460
664
584
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,524
3,185
1,460
664
584
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed in buildingsports barocean viewwater taxiinfinity poolspecialty restaurantsasian restaurantlovers beachmake reservationsa la cartesbaja californiaspring breakmichael jackson showdos equisliquor dispensermain lobbycabo wabo
Filter
Updating list...
5,130 - 5,135 of 8,417 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I came with my friends to the hotel, hopping it would be an unforgettable experience, it truly was! But not in a good way...
We arrived to the hotel around 9 am, since the check in does not start until 3:00 PM, the people at the front desk asked us to leave our luggage with the bell boys.
Usually, when you go to good hotels, they give you a piece of paper with the total number of bags you're leaving, that way, the bell boy commits to give you back the number of bags you registered. They obviously do not work this way!
We gave them the bags, they placed a round sticker on each one of them with the room number where it's going to, we were 6 people and had obviously 6 bags.
We went to the beach, had brunch, and hang out there for a while, after a few hours we went to get our room keys, since we had two rooms, all of us went into one only. Later, when we went to the other room, WE NOTICED THAT ONE OF OUR BAGS WAS MISSING. We called the service number and let them know about this around 6 PM on thursday, they promised to get back to us but never did, so we called them a few hours later, and same answer: "we're working on it and will get back to you".
Friday morning we spoke to the Public Relations Manager MARCELA DEL TORO, she said they looked in the luggage room and our bag was not there. The bell boy showed us his list of "delivered luggage" and obviously, they didn't deliver our bag that was missing in our room.
They said perhaps they delivered it in the wrong room, so supposedly, they were planning on checking each one of the rooms that were checked in on the same day we did.
Again, we never received an answer, even though we gave them our cell phone number and everything.
Saturday morning we went back and the manager was out, so no one could give us an answer on our case. Can you believe it?!?!? We decided to stand there and wait until she came back, finally, they let us talk to the director of the hotel MANUEL GONZALEZ. He told us "WE'RE SORRY, OUR HANDS ARE TIED UP, WE CANNOT DO ANYTHING FOR YOU". And then he gave us a business card with some number we should call in SPAIN!
We called this freaking number, and they said, they cannot help, so THEY ASKED US TO SEND AN E-MAIL TO SOME "CUSTOMER SERVICE" OR WHATEVER, AND WAIT FOR A RESPONSE IN THREE WEEKS!!!!!
By Saturday, we had already spent THURSDAY, FRIDAY AND SATURDAY chasing the people from the hotel to get a response.
We obviously went to the police station and put a demand for our lost bag, and we are still waiting for this to be resolved.

I know sometimes these things happen, but I'm pretty sure, this is not the service we're supposed to get! Specially when it's a service company! They never followed-up to our issues, never called us back and never gave us a solution.

I AM NOT COMING BACK TO THIS HOTEL EVER!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I recently traveled to Cabo San Lucas with my wife and parents. We had been to Cabo a couple of different times, but this was our first experience at the Riu Santa Fe. We chose this hotel because we wanted to stay at a reasonably priced all-inclusive hotel. I read the reviews and did a lot of research on the Riu and it completely exceeded ALL of my expectations!
STAFF: I would like to start first with the staff. Beginning at check in, everyone went out of there way to accomodate us. As previously mentioned, I did a lot of research and asked the font desk if we could get a room in building 7 (the building that is on the ocean and surrounds the ocean front pool). We had not paid for the ocean view, but the receptionist tried to get us in there anyways. Unfortunately, all of the rooms were booked. She assigned us to building 2, but I requested building 4 (and gave her $20 for her trouble). She was happy to accomodate and I absolutely reccomend staying in building 4 or 5. This puts you right in the middle of everything (ocean pool & restaurants).
RESORT & POOLS: The resort is absolutely beautiful and huge! The grounds are meticulously maintained and I could not believe how many people were working at all times cleaning and maintaining the grounds. All of the workers were friendly and greeted us with a smile and "hola". There are four separate pools that are all very different. We did not spend any time at the middle "main" pool, but this pools seemed to be perfect for families and children. There was still a very nice swim up bar for adults to enjoy. We spent our days at the ocean front pool. There are three separate pools here. The first pool you come to when you walk down to this area was the "party pool". We planned around Spring Break in America, but found out Canada was on Spring Break the week we were there. The spring breakers were at this pool where music was playing all the time. Next over is the middle pool with an incredible infinity edge with spectacular views. We did not spend much time here either as there was no swim up bar. The third pool you come to is where we spent our time. It was still a very fun pool with an awesome swim up bar and tables in the pool. We were lucky enough to be served by Fernando all week! He is the best!!! We tipped generously, and he took care of us better than any bartender EVER has on any vacation. I have a feeling he would have done that anyway without the tips, but I encourage you to tip him (and all of the staff for that matter).
FOOD: I am always nervous at all inclusive resorts and especially when they are priced as reasonably as the Santa Fe. We have had some bad food in our all inclusive stays throughout Mexico, but the food here was great! We ate two nights at the main buffet and the selection was great. We did make reservations and ate at the Steakhouse and were treated to a six course meal!! The breakfasts were awesome and there is always somewhere to eat. They even had fresh seafood one night, and tacos another night in the main courtyard. You will not be disappointed with the food.
ENTERTAINMENT: Admittedly we did not take advantage of the shows at night. We went downtown ($12 taxi) and spent our nights at Cabo Wabo and other spots at the Marina (the Marina is a MUST visit when you go to Cabo). We did spend one night at the resort and caught "comedy night" which we thouroughly enjoyed. In talking to other vacationers they said that all the shows were good.
ADVICE: Just a couple suggestions that will make your experience better: Take towels down to the pool early 6:30-7:30 to ensure yourself a good spot. You don't have to stay down there, but get your towels on the lawn chairs as early as possible as the "prime real estate" fills up fast. Also, if you want to make reservations at the specialty restaurants get down to the lobby at 7:00 am as reservations also go fast.
*I could not be happier with our experience at the Riu Santa Fe and this will be the only place I will ever stay when going to Cabo. STAY HERE!!! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request building 4 or 5 when you check in
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wow! Where to even begin... Cabo San Lucas is awesome and the RIU Santa Fe is as well. The service is really great. The staff and service exceeded our expectations. Our daughter and fiance chose this resort for their destination wedding. Given some of the reviews, we were a bit skeptical at first. We quickly realized that the resort and area were going to be amazing. We contemplated staying at the RIU Palace, which we were thankful we did not. The Santa Fe is much more exciting. If you are looking for more quiet....the Palace is the place to go. There is always something going on at the RIU Santa Fe...if you are looking for activity. The entertainment staff work VERY hard to make everything fun. If you are interested in going into Cabo San Lucas see the concierge in the lobby for a taxi. They will have one to you within minutes. Have them drop you off at the mall just as you reach town. This is a great central location with lots of bars, restaurants, and shopping within a short walking distance. Return to the mall for the taxi back to the resort. They are nearby at all times....or so it seemed. Every place we went was very accommodating. If you are looking for a very high-end and beautiful restaurant to dine at, I'd suggest the El Farallon in Pedregal. The setting is unprecedented. For more casual food, visit Las Quesidilla's, right in town. Alexander's at the marina is very good, as well. For some inexpensive drinks, visit Rips...just outside Cabo Wabo. Try the rainbow shots...they are pretty awesome in appearance and taste. :) As for the weather, we were there in April and found the evenings get very cool. Wearing pants and a light sweatshirt or sweater would be most comfortable. The resort restaurants are very difficult to get in to...and quite honestly, the food is very similar to what you would receive at any of the evening buffets. The biggest difference is that someone is serving it to you. Also, the resort is huge, so be prepared to walk. Personally, we welcomed this since we were eating our fair share of food each day. :) In short----it's a great place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our first vacation to Mexico - and we are so glad we chose to stay at the RIU Santa Fe. We almost reconsidered after reading some of the negative reviews, but we are so glad we stuck with this hotel! We stayed for 7 days/6 nights - and loved every minute.

The room was immaculate when we checked in and the grounds of the hotel are breathtaking! The service we experienced was better than we could have imagined. The employees are above and beyond helpful and courteous - and so engaging with us and our 7 year old son. We had never stayed at an All-Inclusive before, and we were blown away by the food - there was a HUGE variety and everything we tasted was yummy! We made a Reservation for the Torote Steakhouse one night - and it was great as well. We stayed in Building 3 - and it was great - right by the main pool. We walked down to the beach every day - and hung out at the pool in the late afternoons. The beach was nice and clean - and while the rip made it hard to swim at the beach in front of the hotel the first few days, we just walked about 150 yds to Medano Beach where it was much calmer. Even the other guests were fun - and we just had a great time!

We have already decided that we will be back again this summer and plan on visiting other RIU Resorts as well!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, I recommend any building around the main pool. The pool by the beach at building 7 did seem to be a younger, crazier crowd - and the main pool was quiet and less crowded - and full of families!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in building 3. Right in the middle of everything. The food was great. There was never a shortage of cold drinks and the ocean was less than 5 minutes away. We were able to swim in front of the hotel. There is a sanctioned swim area about 10 mins walk that is also nice. My seven year old loved the steak house which required a reservation called torote. You have to get up early at 7 am to have your choice of reservations other wise baja california is your destination for dinner. We loved Baja as well. Great staff great place. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews