We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceeds all expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Tucson
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeds all expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have read many reviews of this hotel and was more than a little jaded headed into this trip which was a large group of about 25 including 2 little ones under 1 and my grandmother over 75. I can easily speak for the entire group when I say THIS RESORT IS AMAZING!

-Every single inch of the resort is in imaculit condition, all staff members were pleasent and spoke English.
-Check in was flawless and included beers or margaritas.
-The main buffet area was excellent for both breakfast and dinner should you chose not to eat at one of the restaurants. The omelet bar and cappuccino machine were staples in our daily routine.
-The Itialian restaurant was great was worth going to.
-The steak house is amazing in both food and service not to mention its proximity to the ocean.
THIS IS A MUST DO!
-There are 2 main pool areas, the one(s) near the ocean, and another in the center of the resort. Both are excellent and have different things to offer. The pool(s) near the ocean have a lot more going on and a perfect if you'd like to be near the "action". The second pool is beautiful and perfect if you'd like a little more quite time.
-Our room in building 2 was clean and very spacious with a nice pool view balcony. In my opionion, the beds are a little hard, but not enough to complain about (as in other reviews). Our safe was big enough to hold our iPad and our other valuables & the mini fridge was always stocked full of water, soda & beer.
-The beach is beautiful and the views are amazing, by far the nicest beach I've stayed on in Cabo. The vendors are not overly pushy and Javier was great in getting us a good price on jet skis.
-The center "hub" of the resort has 2 bars that are always full of people looking for a good time as well as plenty of people watching the nightly shows put on by the entertainment staff. Great place to be.

DO NOT ALLOW THE OTHER BAD REVIEWS ON THIS RESORT SCARE YOU, THIS IS PARADISE!

Room Tip: Building 7 is better located to be near the ocean, but building 2 is near one of the buffets and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 3DinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,232
    2,741
    1,187
    527
    435
See reviews for
1,553
3,049
124
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a good hotel overall. The rooms were clean and maintained. The buildings looked really nice and maintained. The drinks were flowing and the staff were friendly and on the most part helpful.

The only downside i found was the quality of the food at the buffets and asian restaurant. We opted to go to town for some really good steak and seafood, which i would recommend if you don't mind spending a few extra $$.

The hotel was quite large to walk around, but what do you expect, it is a Riu after all! That being said, we stayed in building 7 and it was like a smaller private hotel within a larger resort which made it nice and convenient for the most part. The beach is right in front of this building, which was a nice surprise, and the ocean view rooms on the front side of this building have some amazing views. But that being said the currents are strong and you should be a strong swimmer if you want to play in this ocean.

Room Tip: Opt for the top floor if you want the best ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zee0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Easy and fun. Well run and good service. The evening shows did not wow me, but the hotel accommodations and food were decent. I would've preferred larger beds (queens instead of 2 doubles).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guerracool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

I love the Riu Santa Fe. This is my fourth time at this hotel. If your not into party crowds I wouldn't recomend!

Caution: If you plan on paying for your rooms at the hotel they don't take USD. Credit card and MX. $12.00 taxi ride to the bank one way.

Front desk can be un helpful at times

Rooms are clean but room service comes around 9:00am so put your do not desturb sign out the night before. They will come back later.

Food is good for a buffet with lots to choose from. Never made reservations for the restaurants.

The alcholo is sweet and watered down but caution it will sneek up on you!

Pools have amazing vews and they have the pool in the middle that's not as busy and less drunk kids.

I will continue to recomend this hotel but if you want a quiter hotel this is not for you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are well-seasoned travellers that have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts, and this resort is a 3.5 star at best. The positives were - the rooms were great (we paid for ocean view), the resort was exceptionally clean and the staff were wonderful. The down-sides were - the food was just ok (typical all-inclusive fare), the drinks were just ok (you had to be specific and ask for the "good" tequila, the "good" rum, etc. or they served no name swill), and it was party central for spring breakers from the mid-west. I'm no prude, but these college students were out of control and the staff just allowed them to be vulgar and disrespectful. I had read some of the reviews warning us of the Santa Fe being the party resort as opposed to the Palace next door (which we have stayed at and really liked), but we are pretty easy going and like to have fun too, so I didn't worry too much. Big mistake. They were drunk all day and came back into their rooms hooting and hollering at 4 a.m. Perhaps it would have been a different experience during other parts of the year....but steer clear of this place in March.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for ocean view rooms as the view is spectacular over to Lover's Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livetotravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Az
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I are retirees but very active. Know that this resort is excellent and fun for all ages. We stayed here for 7 nights and only 3 nights were quiet, There are many many younger people that party at the Disco Bar and after it closes at 2 am, they are really drunk and loud. In many cases, they come back to their rooms and continue to party. Even though the walls are concrete, the ventilators and doors carry the noise right into your room. I brought along an MP3 player with headphones and am I glad I did. It was the only way to block out the noise. The resort warns guests that it could be noisy. Take heed, it was!!!

Room Tip: Building 7 was closest to the ocean but it's a long walk to the lobby and some of the restaraunt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I read through as many reviews here as I possibly could, and felt like I had an accurate picture of what the resort would be about. Frankly, Riu Santa Fe exceeded my expectations. We traveled as a family in mid April, and stayed in Building 7. Some parts of this hotel, especially the infinity pool and bars near Building 7, have a very fun party vibe that's not entirely appropriate for children, but there's another pool that's a bit mellower. And we met travelers of every style -- honeymooners, retirees, big birthday celebrators, a bachelorette party, other families.

Some things I loved: the staff is friendly and helpful. Just ask the bartenders for labeled booze, and he'll make your drink with your brand. My favorite is their mojito. The kids' drinks were terrific, too, and the kids are welcome to swim up to the bars to order their own. Also, the landscaping -- some of the most beautiful and serene of anywhere I've ever stayed. They use lots of native desert plants, and though they water, it looks like it belongs there. We liked the food -- mostly the fresh stuff, fruits and veggies were fresh and plentiful. Some of the entrees at the sit-down restaurants were a little uninspired, but certainly, no one in my family left those tables hungry.

My quibbles: I think it's the nature of people to take a good thing to excess, and as a result we saw people stumbling back to the rooms when the pool bars closed, woozy and dehydrated from too much sun and booze. The coffee was, as I'd read here, pretty bad. Also, the beds were doubles, and a bit too small, but we liked our view, so dealt with it.

Overall, an excellent value for a hassle and worry-free vacation. When we booked this, we had a budget in mind and no time to do much research. Riu Santa Fe provided a great base for our first trip to Cabo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KRMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.6 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.0 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
2.8 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,020 reviews
25.8 km away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing