We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Relax and enjoy the amazing views! This hotel has it all. The staff has mastered customer service. The minute you arrive the staff is there to help, greet, and take care of every detail. The Concierge Staff is the best. They will assist you in everything from a night out, chartering boats, to arranging a romantic dinner. Truly the best around!
The one bedroom suite has everything, from the kitchen to the bedroom. The large balcony offers the breath taking views of the ocean, lovers beach, and the pier. We have stayed at this property twice, and will continue to stay here on our next visit!

Room Tip: The 5th floor offers Incredible views! Every room looks out to the amazing pool and ocean. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ticder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    402
    121
    55
    50
See reviews for
540
823
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Loved Casa Dorada! Service was excellent pool was good. View is spectacular. Location is perfect for being able to walk to everything in Cabo. I would recommend this hotel for couple/families/etc. It is a time share place, so they will try to corner you once to get you to buy in, but we skipped the free tour and breakfast, and weren't hounded much.
I've stayed at Esperanza in Cabo prior, and although it's a nicer resort, I would choose to stay at Casa Dorada for its location. Hotel price was a great deal here as well. Restaurants were good, the beach side restaurant was willing to make a custom blackened mahi mahi sandwich that was incredible!! The chef came out and spoke to us and said he was going to add it to his menu. Furniture in the rooms are starting to show their age and could use a good cleaning or replacement, same goes for the cushions on the pool side furniture. Great vacation would definitely recommend Casa Dorada.

Room Tip: I requested a upper level room that would have a better view, and only could get 3rd floor, ideal wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was our first visit to Casa Dorada and we couldn't be more pleased! This was a January vacation and with that said it seemed a bit slow in Cabo but made for a peaceful getaway. The beach bars which are located just in front of the property were not overly noisey in our opinion and we were braced for noise. The access to Medano beach is great and it put you right in the middle of the action if you want to be or a stroll east takes you to a more quiet experience. The room we had which was a 1 bedroom suite was perfect for us. It gave us enough room to move and was much larger than other 1 bedroom suites we have stayed at in Cabo. easy in and out with short walks to the room and back to the lobby and we were in the east building about midway. The pools were nice and not over crowded. The swim up bar was fun and the staff there was great to chat with. (Alejandro should be in upper management) we did not eat at the resort so I can not comment on the food quality but the staff at all the other areas was very helpful and friendly. The Casa Dorada is a short walk to town and an even shorter cab ride. We rent a car when in town because we do a lot of running from place to place but it is really not necessary because of the location. The propert was maticulously manicured and we found it to be one of the nicest properties we have stayed at so far in Cabo San Lucas.

Room Tip: If there would be a "spring break" crowd the beach bars may get a little noisey I would as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fish4brains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was our 6th visit to Casa Dorada. Being owners we used an extra week. We stayed in an executive suite, on the 5th floor, facing the arc. The executive is a pretty much a 1 bedroom w/out the extra bath. The rooms have always been clean and housekeeping great..we leave a small tip daily for her. They need to buy housekeeping vacuums for the rugs though..they use a broom. The staff is wonderful at Casa Dorada. always friendly and will go out of their way if you need anything. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows. Shower pressure is excellent. The bad= I love to sleep w/ the sliders open..the noise from the bars are annoying but we overlook it and realize that is out of casa doradas control. The music is usually done around midnite.

Pool area..They now have both pools about the same temperture, so people now use the"cold" pool, which normally people didnt use unless it was 100 degrees out. They are now enforcing the 1 hour towels on the lounge chairs, which I am glad. Very annoying looking down at 7 in the morning and peope are saving chairs until they get there at 11. The service by the pool is excellent! They will usually offer 2fers a couple of times during the day, so just ask. The food is good, it has improved since we started coming when they 1st opened. The prices seem to have went down a little too. Although they do offer a special of the day. (I believe they are making improvements on peoples suggestions) The music by the pool is good, we are in mexico so we like the local music.but they mix it up w/ other music too.
Beach...There is usually chairs roped in for members, but when the cruise ships come in,,they let them use too..Not sure I really like this especially when it is busy already, the chairs by the pool and beach are hard enough to get. Service down at the beach is very good also. They usually have 2fers all day down there..at least when we were there..dont order the frozen margaritas or on the rocks..not good at all.very blah..hello...we are in mexico. If you walk the beach, stay down by water and keep walking saying no gracias..

Restaurants..12 Tribes food has gotten better, but as people say, still just ok. The prices are still way high. the buffet is $29 pp.. It has been getting busier though, beautiful view and good service.
room service menu is not very good, need more variety. food by the beach was good..nachos and club sandwich..fish tacos. We eat at alot of restaurants in Cabo, and most are very expensive compared to the U.S. So go to walmart and keep some things in your room.

B Bar.. Not at all impressed with, its seems like a waste of space, nobody is ever in there unless a game of some kind is on, and the pool table, not a good idea..Seems there could be something they could do w/ that space.

Timeshare sales people..not much you can do but say no, most of the hotels have them. Casa Dorada isnt as bad as some of the others Ive heard about.

We come back to Casa Dorada because of the size of the hotel..not huge and you can get around easy. The grounds are beautiful..pools are nice,,but they do need some tile work in them. location, you can walk to downtown, run, very safe. and the staff...wonderful, and genuinly nice., they try and accomodate as much as they can. Its not perfect, but we dont look for that, only for them to try and and improve on things.

Room Tip: Good luck on this, whatever you get., dont let it ruin your trip. The rooms are all nice but of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvette1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

.A large group of us stayed at Casa Dorada for 5 days in the end of January and we were all very impressed with the hotel. I was a little apprehensive to stay here with the recent reviews that I read online about the pushy timeshare salespeople and dirty rooms, but my husband and I weren't bothered once and our room was very clean. When we initially checked into our room there was a pretty bad odor coming from the bathroom, the hotel immediately sent someone to our room to check things out and moved us to a different room. We were on the first floor so we didn't have the best view but we could walk right out to the pool which was convenient. The food at the property wasn't the best I’ve had, but there are plenty of places to eat right around the hotel (Bahia, The Office, Edith’s) if you are looking for something gourmet. The staff at Casa Dorada are all very pleasant and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again and would bring my little one next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room, they have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Recently spent a brief stay at the Casa Dorado. The hotel is beautiful and service is top-notch. We had a one bedroom suite which was huge and nicely appointed, and we found a heck of a deal for it online. Unfortunately, it was on the end of the hotel towards the marina, right above Mango Deck World, which is an obnoxious turista bar (OK, so are 90% of Cabo's bars) so you get late noise and then early clean-up. Request a room at the other end and you'll be fine. The restaurants are so-so. Much better places elsewhere in town. The hotel's stretch of beach is small but very nice. You can arrange any extra-curricular activities from your deck chair. And the pool is marvelous.

Room Tip: Away from Mango Deck World.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ewebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Any negative review about the timeshare experience here is true. They could care less about you from GBS, the company that manages the time share bookings at the hotel, to the hotel itself. GBS has got to hold the world record for the poorest customer service ever. Their favorite word is "NO", their favorite attitude is "I could care less", no matter how irrational what they are sahying is. You have a problem? TOO BAD! It won't get resolved. I have had this expereince time and time again. Over and over again. The only redeeming quality is the location. The hotel was build with such shoddy craftsmanship (if any at all) that it's falling apart. The fixtures are cheap, the pool was falling apart the last time I was there. And it was jut built in 2005! The food is awful at the pool - heavy, greasy. Fresh fruit is a small fortune. If nothing else, you'll enjoy the location, but they are SO NOT a 4 or 5 star hotel. Far from it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank traveleatshoprelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 km away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.0 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,314 reviews
16.3 km away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Res...
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Property: Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing