We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spectacular sunset” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Da Mona Lisa

Sunset Da Mona Lisa
Reserve with OpenTable
Sunset Da Mona Lisa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 540 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Sunset Da Mona Lisa Sea Food & Italian Restaurant in Los Cabos! Our unique location at the tip of the bay of Cabo San Lucas offers breath taking views of the ocean and the arch. Our world famous venue is considered a must when visiting Los Cabos for its magic atmosphere.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
362 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Spectacular sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

It's a beautiful hilltop setting affording views of the harbor, the surrounding mountains and if timed right , the sun setting behind the mountains to the west. The service was excellent, good selection and the food was excellent prepared. Try the banana leaf wrapped poached fish. Bon appetite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your comments on the arrival and the rest of your experience. We are happy to lear good to know that you liked every detail, absolutely it would be a pleasure have you again with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,728
    324
    121
    66
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVE IT! breathtaking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

it was scary getting there since its slightly far and thr road is not paved properly, but once you get there OMG this place is breathtaking. the views are out of this world, the ambiance is so nice, romantic and elegant. the service is beyond excellent and the food was FANTASTIC!!! i would go there again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank manar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your comments on the arrival and the rest of your experience. We are happy to lear good to know that you liked every detail, absolutely it would be a pleasure have you again with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply the best & most beautiful restaurant in Cabo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Don't just save this restaurant for a special event, go whenever u r in Cabo San Lucas & San Jose del Cabo. The food has always been good but it is now even better. From beginning to end it was superb . Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments, it´s good to know that you enjoyed your dinner with us, it would be nice to have you again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This is a Do Not Miss restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I read about this place via Tripadvisor. It came with great recommendations, and I'm glad we trusted them! This turned out to be the best surprise of the trip! I made the reservation for right at sunset, which is when we got seated. Next time, and there will certainly be a next time, I'll make the reservation for at least 15-20 minutes before sunset, so we can be seated longer to better enjoy the fabulous view! We ate outside. The terraced dining seems like lily pads running down to the water. The setting is almost magical. Very romantic! The food was wonderful! I had a white fish baked in a hard shell, it was great. I'd order it again, but I want to see what else they offer! My wife loved her meal as well. My wife overheard someone comment on how good the hot chocolate tasted. I had that along with a dessert! Both were very good and the chocolate was unique, in a positive way! The view is wonderful, the service was attentive, but not too much so, and great food was actually a nice bonus! We will certainly return on our next trip to Cabo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDML, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your Sunset Da Mona Lisa experience, totally we are very lucky to have this amazing view and we try to better the view with our food and service. We will be glad to have you dinning with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not A Good Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Everyone that goes here knows of the outstanding views. We knew this would probably be our most expensive meal while in Cabo, which it was, ($210.) for 2 before gratuity, but we were looking forward to the views, the food and the service. We just returned from our special dinner tonight, and were quite disappointed. We were seated at a great table outside; we were given our menus and then we waited. And we waited. Finally a waiter came down and introduced himself and asked for our drink order. We thought we would start off with a glass of Chardonnay while we decided what to order so we could pair a bottle of wine to our meal. The waiter said their Chardonnay wasn't very good and that we should order a bottle of better stuff. We said OK, please bring us a Wine List. 3 different waiters came by our table and we asked each one of them for a Wine List. Next thing we know, we have 2 glasses of Chardonnay and still no Wine List. The glasses were OK, but I assume it was the brand the waiter didn't recommend. We noticed a table behind us who were seated after us already had bread and olive oil, so we had to ask for it. Finally got the Wine List and we waited another 15 minutes or so before our chosen bottle arrived with no ice bucket. The waiter said he would bring one. Had to keep asking for one, and when it came they put it and the wine on a wall across from our table. Since we had already experienced dis-jointed service, we asked if the wine could be placed on our table, knowing we would probably be serving ourselves. We finally placed our order and had to wait around 30 minutes between courses. The servings are quite small, so it didn't take too long to eat our appetizer and salad. We spent far too long waiting and waiting. It got cold and we had to ask for shawls. They had been offered to tables around us. When it got dark, we had to ask for some kind of lighting so we could see what we were eating. The food was average, nothing special, not worth the price. Our service was pitifully slow and we had 3 different waiters coming to our table. None of them seemed to be with it tonight. We were there for 2 hours and 15 minutes and most of that time was just waiting. Did't take long to eat what was offered us, did not leave full, won't be back or recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyMartiniHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Da Mona Lisa also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Sunset Da Mona Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing