We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and secure place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great and secure place to stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Wife and I stayed in a timeshare unit for a week. 3rd floor overlooks the pool and has a great view of the ocean. Very peaceful sitting on the patio and listen to the waves hit the rocks. Rooms could be upgraded a little and the addition of outdoor BBQ would be nice. Daily maid service was absolutely fantastic along with nightly turndown service. Resort got a negative review in the past and we saw none of it. Security was present throughout the facilities. They did have a private event which closed down the pool area one day but we just shifted over to the hotel pool with no problems. The next nite there was a private dinner and we got a free concert. Hot tubs need to be hotter though.
We played golf 3 times during the week and the golf concierge had a great deal for us to play their courses.
The hotel restaurants were very good and we ae used to resort prices.
We would highly recommend dinning at Sunset Da Mona Lisa. Perfect setting for a romantic dinner and the wines were great.
We had a great time celebrating our anniversary and would definately go back again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sj9r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is a great place to stay for a relaxing vacation where you receive excellent service. It's a quick drive into San Jose del Cabo and has a great beach where you can swim or just admire the view. The pools are gorgeous and the clientele is nice. If you"re looking for a party hotel, this is not the place for you. You probably want to go closer to Cabo San Lucas. But great resort. A definite recommend and would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

...there a few things you should be aware of if you stay here, which may or may not be issues for you, but they were for us:

--When booking your airport transfer, make sure you specify that you are staying at the HILTON LOS CABOS (don't say Casa Dorada--there are a couple of other hotels in Cabo San Lucas called "Casa Dorada" and you might end up in the wrong place--as we did!) "Casa Dorada" is simply the name given to the time share section of the Hilton Los Cabos, but they are the same place.

--The Hilton Los Cabos/Casa Dorada Resort is about 10-12 miles outside of Cabo San Lucas and equidistant from San Jose Del Cabo. This is a plus in that you get a stunningly beautiful, walkable beach that is rarely crowded and a quiet, relaxing surrounding area. It's a problem if you like to party, eat out, and generally prefer a more exciting vacation, as you must either hire an expensive taxi to transport you to town or take the local bus -- which is economical at 17 pesos a ride, but does take longer because of stops, requires crossing a busy street from the hotel, and may not be convenient if you stay out late. Yes, you can rent a car which solves some of these issues, but rentals are expensive and parking in Cabo San Lucas can be difficult and very spendy as well, judging from what I heard from other hotel guests who had rentals.

--Food is an issue.Even with the 20% discount they give time-share guests, the food and drinks at the Hilton Los Cabos in all bars, restaurants, and the Deli are exhorbitantly priced ($14 for a quesadilla!). If like us you are staying in a unit with a partial kitchen (no oven, but there is a stove, microwave, and fridge), you can stock up on eats and alcohol at Wal-Mart, Costco, or Mega and feed yourself, then take a bus or taxi downtown when you prefer to eat out--which is a hassle when you're tired and hungry and just want to tuck into some local fish tacos.

Otherwise, this hotel/resort is absolutely beautiful, with lush, immaculate grounds, beautiful pools and jacuzzis (especially the infinity pool--a picture-perfect spot for vacation bliss) and exceptional service. Rooms are simply but elegantly decorated, beds are extremely comfortable, and maid service is exemplary--they'll drag and position your chairs on the beach, serve you poolside, and even promptly bring you an extra blanket late at night--anything you ask. The concierge is helpful, most of the staff speaks at least some English and were even kind enough to help me practice my very poor Spanish.This resort does seem to host quite a few private events and parties, but it in no way affected our stay save for an evening closure of the smaller pool area on the first day we were there.

While we did stay in the time-share section of this resort, our experience was virtually seamless with that of hotel guests I spoke with, as all amenities are available to all guests regardless of which "side" they're staying in. Again, I in no way want to diminish the quality of this resort, but be clear on the kind of vacation you want before you book here...almost all activities, shopping, and local restaurants are a 20-30 minute bus ride or expensive taxi away if you opt not to rent a car.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor or above for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank cshel718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the timeshare section of the Hilton (Club Casa Dorada) the week of January 28 to February 4.  Overall, we had an excellent time at the Hilton and would recommend the hotel.  The twice daily maid service was excellent, pool staff excellent, and in general all people we encountered working at the Hilton were friendly, professional, and made us feel very welcome.  Some negatives I feel I must point out:
1.  There was a large group (Siemens) there while we were there.  They blocked off part of the pool (actually a large portion of the main pool and one  of the hot tubs,  many palapas on the beach and many sections of the hotel specifically for this group.  Great if you are with this group, but NOT great if you were not. They even closed the smaller pool one day just for this group.  It was very annoying, and the service for the non-group guests was lacking a bit due to this group.  
2.  The timeshare unit, while ok, was not up to our standards for a 2 bedroom unit.  The bedrooms were fine, in fact the bathrooms were actually very nice.  However, the kitchen was very subpar (small refrigerator, very small freezer, no oven' only 2 burners and no dishwasher.  I will say that the maid would clean the dishes if you left them in the sink.  The living room was just terrible.  Small with a uncomfortable couch and a round dining table with 4 chairs.  The floor was so dirty that the bottoms of our feet were literally black  It was not conducive for 2 couples to enjoy time together in the living room area.  
3.  While timeshare units get a 20% discount at the restaurants at the hotel, when I did use the card, I felt the waiter was annoyed with it.  We also felt like the timeshare people were treated a bit differently.  We were not to receive the benefits of Hilton Platinum level, even though we are at that level.  Also, the timeshare unit had NO reading material in it at all.  We know the Hilton units did because we saw people reading a magazine about Cabo, and even got one from someone who left it  at the pool.  It just seemed like the Hilton really does not want the timeshare people there.  They "deal" with you, but you could just feel a difference.   My earlier comments on the service were based on Hilton staff would had no idea we were timeshare people, and the maids, who obviously did not care as they were exceptional!  

Overall, we determined that we would return as timeshare guests, but only if there were no other resorts in the area available when we wanted to go.  The convention mentality of the resort is really what killed it for us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maja651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We just got back from the Hilton on Saturday and we loved it! Awesome beach, beautiful hotel and fabulous, friendly staff! The staff at the kid center was the best!!! My boys loved to go in there and play and then head back out to the pool or beach. The food was really good and all of our waiters were so nice and attentive! We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I am an owner and have been staying at the Hilton/Casa Dorada Spa and Golf Resort for the last 6 years. The hotel portion did upgrade their rooms however the Casa Dora rooms have been the same since when built. I wondered when they were going to upgrade our timeshares and bring them up to date. If anyone knows please reply. Otherwise we love our timeshare and play unlimited golf with the special offered at 2 courses within a mile and a third in Porto los Cabos just outside of the town of San Jose.

Room Tip: All rooms face the private members pool overlooking the ocean. We like all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zooker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I go to cabo a great deal and usually stay in the Corridor at the Grand Regina.... so I am spoiled....I admit it.....This is a nice timeshare resort.... nothing bad to say....but it is not unusual or spectacular....good rooms, good services, but it is a large complex and not particuarly unique or special.....I would stay here if you could get a great deal, but there are better, more upscale resorts in Cabo....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
9.6 km away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
0.2 km away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
18.4 km away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is one of the many Casa Dorada in Los Cabos area. Please note we are "Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Resort" located between both towns (San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas) at the area known as the Tourist Corridor within the Cabo Real area at KM 19.5. The Home Resort will allow you the access to their common areas such as the beach, two pools, spa, restaurants and bars. This resort is an European Plan, meaning that there is no All-Inclusive or Mean Plan Package available and food & beverages will be subject to an extra charge. All rooms are considered as Ocean View and the assignment of the rooms will be based on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Casa Dorada Spa & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Club Casa Dorada Spa And Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing